We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B on the Cabot Trail”
Review of Maison Fiset House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cheticamp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison Fiset House
Ranked #1 of 8 Cheticamp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B on the Cabot Trail”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed 2 nights while in Cheticamp before heading over the Cabot Trail on our way to Ingonish. This was a great place, right on the water - we had a nice little balcony off our room that we could have coffee in the morning and snacks and drinks in the evening. The room and bath were so comfortable - great breakfast each morning, but one of the outstanding features about this B&B was Lyne and her staff. They couldn't be more helpful and friendly, gave us tips for dinners and hiking. I would highly recommend the Maison Fiset House for your stay in Cheticamp!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    43
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
175
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We rented out the entire Inn for our wedding Labour Day weekend. Our guests came from all over including England and British Columbia. Upon arriving they finally discovered why Maison Fiset House - it was perfect in every way. The Inn is stunning and mornings on the deck with coffee and bailys overlooking the water to evenings on our own private deck enjoying a scotch with family and friends helped start and end many memorable days. Harvey and Lynne seal the deal with their hospitality. We will be back to celebrate anniversaries as often as possible. Thank you for making us and our guests feel so welcome. We truly had the time of our lives and it was due to the people at the inn, the great setting and beautiful property. Mr. and Mrs. Weaden.

Room Tip: every room is fabulous in its own way but honeymooners you have to take the room overlooking the wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mecoconutgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Tremblant, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I were cycling around Cape Breton this past week and we stayed 2 nights at Maison Fiset before we started our bike adventure. Upon our return to Cheticamp after 3 days of cycling we returned for another night. I have to say that this was an excellent Inn and we loved every minute of our 3 night stay. The Inn is newly restored and tastefully decorated and well appointed. We loved our room and it was impeccably clean, up-to-date and so very comfortable. The beds are great and the linens are the best we have had in any B&B or hotel. Lynne and Lisette are wonderful...gracious, hospitable and dedicated to making their guests feel welcome and comfortable. We truly felt that we had experienced true Cape Breton warmth and hospitality. They are a great team! The breakfasts were delicious and kept us fueled well into the afternoon. We highly recommend this Inn for anyone planning on a trip to Cape Breton! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Warm welcome, clean and comfortable room with excellent Wifi and close to downtown and restaurants. Our only complaint was bed linens were old and "pilled." We would stay here again. While here, we ate dinner at Le Gabriele. We had a decent dinner but the real fun was a local group providing music with lots of people of dancing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPL61113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonfisethouse, Manager at Maison Fiset House, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us! We are having a GREAT summer and we continue to enjoy and thrive on meeting and getting to know our guests. I would especially like to thank you for bringing to my attention the 'pile' linen... the girls and I have gone through our sheet sets and have removed the ones that were like that, should we have known that the evening you were here we would of gladly changed them for you. Once again, thank you and I appologies for having this be an oversight on my part. We hope you had a great vacation and that someday we can once again welcome you here at La Maison Fiset!

Sincerely,

Lyne Larade
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Our stay was very pleasant, the room was comfortable with a good bed and a nice, modern bathroom. The service was good, everyone was very nice and helpful. I struggled with where to stay during our visit to Cape Breton Highlands and finally settled on either Cheticamp or Ingonish since the options in between seemed to be in VERY small communities and I was concerned about where to eat; we didn't want to cook for ourselves. Turns out the hiking is also concentrated near the two ends. Cheticamp is quite small and the dining options are pretty limited. We also stayed in Ingonish the next nifty and found that area to have more dining options. The Maison Fiset is walking distance from town and looks at the water over the highway. Breakfast is adequate. The window in our bathroom didn't open but most of the other rooms looked to have windows that open. A good option if you choose Cheticamp.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWtravelerChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this property recently on our vacation to Nova Scotia. This is a larger facility than your typical owner managed B&B.
The staff was friendly and helpful(particularly Lyne) with many suggestions on what to see and do.
The restaurant across the way specializing in Acadian food was very good as well.
The breakfast was very good and cooked to order.
The room was clean and comfortable.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowtrooperone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed 4 nights here and enjoyed every minute . The staff were very helpful, the breakfast was good, the room was spotlessly clean and well equiped. We cannot fault this B&B. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby and a wonderful bakery up the road-Aucoin's. It is a good base for exploring the trails on the west coast, such as Salmon Pools and Skyline. We saw Bald Eagles just down the road on the edge of the lagoons near the bridge.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate-book it, you will enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheticamp
31.1 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
38.4 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
608 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Auberge Doucet Inn
Auberge Doucet Inn
#3 of 8 in Cheticamp
136 reviews
1.2 mi away
Laurie's Motor Inn
Laurie's Motor Inn
#6 of 7 in Cheticamp
197 reviews
30.6 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Fiset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Fiset House

Property: Maison Fiset House
Address: 15050 Cabot Trail | Nova Scotia, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cheticamp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the french village of Cheticamp, lies the fully restored Fiset Family Home. Built in 1895 by the town's first Preist, Father Fiset. He had it built for the village's first doctor, his brother, Dr. Fiset. It now contains 8 guest rooms, each with full en-suite bath and private balcony. Every room enjoys views of the historic church, mountains, sunsets or harbour. The caring & knowledgeable staff are sure to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maison Fiset House Cheticamp, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing