We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OVER PRICED AND OUTDATED! NOT A RESORT...”

Cheticamp Island Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cheticamp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cheticamp Island Resort
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“OVER PRICED AND OUTDATED! NOT A RESORT...”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

You are driving all day thinking you are going to a resort - what you end up with is an outdated hunting cabin from 1941 that charges the same nightly price as what an upscale hotel in a large urban area would charge. Cheticamp is an odd place for a first time visit - they have the ocean, and neat harbour but nowhere to rent kayaks. They have mountains all over the place, but no ski hills. They have trails but you can't ride mountain bikes on them. Also, there seems to be lot of boarded up buildings in Cheticamp and empty spaces where buildings existed at one time. They claim they want tourists but restaurants close early and operate with funny hours. Go to Cape North instead where you can rent kayaks or Ingonish where you can ski or ride mountain bikes. And $180 for bug infested hunting cabin is pathetic! The one good thing is that there is a beach a few feet away, but no one in the town cleans it so it's covered in seaweed.

Room Tip: Avoid this place and keep your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    4
    5
    9
See reviews for
11
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Two of us drove from Ontario to the Cabot Trail (a dream of mine since my first visit as a 6 year old). We stayed at Cheticamp Island Resort for 4 nights in cottage #1. The cottage was spotless and beds were very comfortable. Geralda (lead person on site) was most accommodating and made our stay that much more enjoyable. Sitting on the beach (mid-June) was very pleasant even if we had to have a towel over our legs as it was still cool. We loved watching the fishing boats early morning across the road. And what a lovely town. You must meet Lola at Jean's Craft Store and eat al All Aboard on Friday and Saturday to listen to a local fiddler. And if you are lucky enough to hear Lola sing in a band at the Doryman - awesome group!

Room Tip: We viewed a couple of cottages and they were all very clean and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLou1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights with a friend for some R&R and whale watching. Calling the place a "resort" is a pretty big stretch of the imagination.
First, check in was smooth. Germaine was very nice and very kind. Def overwhelmed, I'd guess, since she told us another person had quit, leaving her on her own.
The cabin itself was a very basic 2 bedroom style and came complete with kitchen. It was very outdated, but moderately clean, passable with caution. The towels smelled like they had been left a little damp when folded up. The beds/bedding was ok.
The term "resort" brings to mind a place that has everything one could need. Stores, restaurants, spa....none of these things were here. The office did have a selection of books and movies. Grab a couple, because the cable is atrocious. There is a cable box you use to change channels for God's sake. I didn't even know how to use it:) We were also told the WiFi was not working. There are the cabins on the premises, and nothing else. We paid what I think was a very high price. $180.00 per night, total...insane for this type of property. The water was undrinkable...it might have been nice to have known this when we booked, which was just a couple of days before we went. There was bottled water available, but come on...There were zero amenities included...no coffee, no shampoo/conditioner, no paper towel...I mean really? Owners, you really need to take a look at this, because THAT is rediculous. We drove around and looked at some of the other properties and, while I don't think $180.00 per night is a bad price, I do want the property to reflect it. That being said, the beach was a short walk across the road and if you are able, you can stumble up and over the rock barrier to see it. It's mostly rocky, but there are sandy patches further down. It was a beach...not a great one, but a beach none the less. We certainly enjoyed our day upon it.
So all in all, the place was adequate. It is NOT a resort. It is a basic little outdated cabin that is moderately clean and offers a place to sleep, but at a price that is much higher than it should be. I would not stay here again, simply because I feel like I was price gouged for what I got.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCIR, Manager at Cheticamp Island Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
As Management of this property, we would like to respond to the 4 entries posted in August/September, 2011. We were very disappointed by various comments made, and in some instances, the misleading information provided.
Our Property/Cottages:
Our cottages are located on a 9 acre parcel of land, facing the Atlantic ocean, with a 100 yard/metre walk to the beach in front of the property. Our lawns are regularly maintained so that our clients can enjoy the green open space around the cottages. We also have a fire pit on site for evening campfire enjoyment.
The beach which our cottages face, is 1.5 mile in length, with both rocky and sandy areas. The municipality has constructed a breakwater to protect the roadway and properties along the beach front. This is not a barrier to prevent access or usage of the beach and pathways are available along the breakwater.
Our website, www.cheticampislandresort.com, contains photos and descriptions of both the interior & exterior of our cottages and all available amenities, so there should be no surprises when booking/arriving at our property.
In 2011, as in previous years, our cottages were inspected and unconditionally approved by Nova Scotia Tourism.
Our Staff:
In 2011, due to the retirement of our staff of 18 years, we did have new staff take over the daily management and cleaning of our cottages. Our new staff, as with our former staff, pride themselves in providing friendly, courteous, accommodating service to our clients and ensuring clean, properly functioning, well-maintained cottages and amenities.
Our check-in time is 3pm to 6pm. Should a late check-in be required, accommodation is made with our clients accordingly.
Rural Location & External Service Providers:
We are located in the County of Inverness, about 2 minutes off the Cabot Trail and about a 7-minute drive from the village of Cheticamp. This area is rural Cape Breton Island. As such, you do not find the same services as you would in an urban city centre. There is only one cable TV provider available, which we use at the cottages. Similarly, there is only one telephone provider which we use at the cottages and through whom we obtain internet access.
In the Cheticamp area, cable TV, internet and satellite TV can all be affected from time to time due to the winds/weather systems which are known to pass through the Cape Breton Highlands area. If/when a problem occurs with these services, it is dealt with as quickly as possible by our service providers.
Flat-screen TVs and DVD players are provided in each cottage. Instructions for use of the cable TV box are also provided in each cottage as is the code for the access to WiFi.
DVDs and paperback novels are available for use free of charge through the office.
Water System:
In 2011, we upgraded our water treatment system, and in so doing, were required by the provincial Ministry to post a 2-minute boil water order for a specific period of time until the required tests on the new system had been completed. During this time period, bottled water was provided to all clients on an unlimited basis, available through our office free of charge.
We are not short of water – only once in 23 years, a couple of years ago, did we have a loss of water during a 2-hour period due to an electrical storm which affected our pumping system.
Rates/Pricing:
Our Rates are competitive with all other fully-equipped, 2-bedroom, housekeeping cottages in Cheticamp. Our clients need only bring clothes, food & toiletries.
Our pricing is based on the number of occupants, as it is for other properties.
We ensure on check-in, that the number of occupants matches that stated on booking – should there be more or less occupants than that previously stated, the rate is adjusted up/down accordingly. Only on one occasion in 2011 did we have a client who had more occupants than were originally noted and they were charged accordingly (in August).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cheticamp hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We were forced to stay here due to last minute change in plans and we have been regretting it ever since.

My wife phoned and received a quoted (exorbitant) price and we grudingly agreed to it. When we arrived, we were somewhat appalled by the conditions. In no way was this a "resort".

We only received aproximately 5 of the 20 or so channels they advertised. We were not able to get any internet connection whatsoever (I spoke to our neighbours who had the same problem - they were told to try sitting in another chair!).

The water was not drinkable so they left us 2 small bottles of water (which we had to use to brush our teeth).

When we finally got the kids asleep in the uncomfortable beds, we sat on the couch to relax. That was when we noticed the bugs climbing up the walls and all over the furniture.

It only got worse when we decided to go to bed. There was hair and what appeared to be blood stains in one of the beds.

In the morning we encountered more bugs in tthe shower.

Unfortunately, the "best" part of this nightmare was yet to come. When we went to leave, the onsite cleaning lady got very rude with us and demanded that we pay more money! Over and above what we had agreed to. When I refused to pay the higher price, they then fraudulently added it onto my credit card and refused to give me a copy of the receipt.

When I phoned to discuss this with the manager, she was very rude. Not only would she not appologize for the awful condtions of the room, she said I should discuss it with the manager. She then hung up on me when I asked for the manager's contact info. When I called back, she refused to answer the phone.

I finally had to phone back the next day to finally get the contact info.

Now I have to deal with the Mastercard fraud division. The next call is to the Nova Scotia Better Business Bureau.

I would not recommend this "resort" to my worst enenmy , let anlone a friend.

STAY AWAY FROM THE PLACE UNLESS YOU ENJOY SPENDING HOURS ON HOLD ON THE PHONE!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Repeat booking, this year 3 nights accommodation. Lots of fresh towels daily, Away from main traffic flow and noise. Wi-Fi wouldn't work even though reported to office during the narrow time frame when anyone was there. Office staff said Internet working there but WI-Fi linkup located in one of the rented cabins and family not there to ask and staff didn't seem equipped to deal with it other than by turning the main power panel off and on. Duh! TV worked through cable box not remote and only cartoons and a French channel working when I arrived. No satellite. Boil order on the tap water so purchased drinking water offsite. Cabins ran low on water previous summer and we gave some of our bottled water to a couple next door with a baby so they could make formula until they went into the village for more. No sign of the Adirondack chairs mentioned in a review from July although two solid plastic chairs available. Beds firm, linens clean. Evidence of interior deferred maintenance by dirt in the caulking on tub surround and window interiors, as well as clear tape on a tear in the door screen. Hornet inside the kitchen and others between exterior shingles so have EPI pen nearby. Boulder breakwater blocks immediate view of the beach from the cabin/deck. Staff change from past years, but this far into the season kinks should have been worked out. The $20.00 increase in the per night rate is not reflective of any upgrade in services or amenities from my previous stays there. Definitely not above average.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sslandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Third yr staying here while visiting Cheticamp and surrounding area. Quiet spot off the heavy traffic area through the village. View of the ocean, beach, potential whale sightings from the cabin is over a high boulder breakwater necessary to prevent storm erosion but on clear days it is nonetheless calming. After several years there has been a change in service staff. Previously, someone was on site by 8 am until supper hour or later to handle late checkins and any issues for existing guests. This year staff were not present until after 11 am and gone by 3:15 even though some situations unresolved. Phone calls are then routed offsite. Advertised Wi-Fi could not be accessed any of the 4 days we were there, The hookup was inside one of the cabins rather than office, and by the 3rd day of our calling about no Internet service on laptop or IPhone the staffer suggested we try sitting in a different chair or use the office phone before she left. Past few years domestic water has been an ongoing issue, limited in supply, well went dry, this year there was a boil advisory because of issues with their treatment system for the cabins. Mould on interior window sill was disconcerting. Given their high season is May to October, I would have anticipated major issues could have been addressed long before now. Cheticamp village offers a cheerful, tidy spot to visit full of charm and many views for the traveller. The stores we regularly frequent have friendly, accommodating staff and many had become annual stops. My travelling companions have several more years prior usage of these cabins and we have come to the collective decision none of us will be booking here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KayL053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights with my wife and 14-month daughter. We were warmly welcomed (in both French and English). The cottage had everything we needed for a long term stay: kitchen, 2-bedrooms, living room, etc. It's on the outskirts of cheticamp which is a plus if you're looking for privacy, bbq, access to a beach (short 2 minute walk), and big open skies, sunsets and views of the highlands. The adirondack chairs are a blessing after a long day on the trails! There was a lot of space for my daughter to explore and my wife and I to enjoy the view. The beach is rocky at first but turns into a sandy beach (although it was a bit too cold to swim in July). Super clean.

Small negatives: not all the channels on the cable TV worked.

Caveat: don't expect a 5-star hotel when you're in cheticamp. Enjoy the area for what it is and set your expectations accordingly.!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simjenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheticamp
4.8 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
181 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ocean View Motel & Chalets
1.1 mi away
Auberge Doucet Inn
Auberge Doucet Inn
#3 of 8 in Cheticamp
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Laurie's Motor Inn
Laurie's Motor Inn
#6 of 7 in Cheticamp
197 reviews
31.9 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
3.6 mi away
Soleil Chalets
Soleil Chalets
#2 of 9 in Cheticamp
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheticamp Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheticamp Island Resort

Property: Cheticamp Island Resort
Address: 8 Marguerite Gallant, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Cheticamp
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Cheticamp Island Resort Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing