We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and friendly”
Review of Albert's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cheticamp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albert's Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cheticamp
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“clean and friendly”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had a good experience here - the rooms are small for a family of four, but very clean and otherwise comfortable. Just a warning - there is a fridge and microwave, but no dishes or utensils, so you need to bring your own.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank novascotiagirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    61
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
98
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Park, NC
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We chose Albert's based upon positive reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not misled. Albert's is a straightforward small motel with clean, comfortable rooms. Cross-ventilation if you don't want to run the A/C. Huge flat-screen TV, microwave, small fridge. The owners worked very hard to make our stay pleasant. Gave us lots of touring advice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Draftcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Albert's motel in Cheticamp. Owners Tom and Donna were very friendly and welcoming. Rooms were very clean and the rates were very good. They booked our whale watching excursion for us and it was excellent. So for a place to stay on the Cabot Trail, look no further. This is the perfect spot.

Kevin, Peg, Matthew and Heather
Woodstock, Ontario

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Albert's Motel owners Tommy and Donna Dilosa provide warm Cape Breton hospitality. We stayed for three nights and used Albert's as our base camp for whale watching in Pleasant Bay and hiking. The motel is immaculately clean and well-maintained. Our room was small, but offered plenty of amenities including fridge, microwave, dining area, fireplace, large screen TV, and free Wi-Fi. Excellent amenities for a four-unit motel! Across the street, we enjoyed scrumptious breakfasts at the local restaurant and shopped for supplies/groceries at the coop. The Dilosas provide tourist advice and grand Maritime hospitality. Albert's Motel offers great value in a central location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingSloans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We always try and stay at Alberts Motel when staying in Cheticamp. Its modern, clean and the compfy bed is perfect after a long day on the trail. The family who owns this motel is welcoming and helpful and always kind. Perfect cape breton charm.

Room Tip: Book early this place is always the first booked up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy-Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Albert's has only four units, but is wonderfully clean and comfortable. The owners Donna and Tom are very friendly and helpful. They work hard to make sure their guests are comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wobblymassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I was thinking that I should keep Albert's Motel as my "secret', but that would be unfair to the most gracious hosts - Donna and Tommy Dilosa. Last year, we stayed there for 17 consecutive days, and the previous years about 12 days.

This is the best place in Nova Scotia to stay! The location is superb - overlooking the water across (while sipping your coffee in the morning, or having a glass of wine in the evening). The deck chairs are so comfy and trendy.

The room itself is immaculately clean - bathroom, beddings, windows, etc. The bed is so comfortable, a great way to relax after a day of hiking or fishing. There is a fireplace for cooler nights, and AC for warmer days. The TV is big and has many channels to choose from. There is a microwave oven, a kettle for boiling water and a small fridge to store your drinks or leftover food. The coop (supermarket) is just across the street. There is a restaurant across that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. There are various eating places around and magnificent sceneries just a few miles away from the motel.

Tommy and Donna are the epitome of what great motel/hotel owners should be. They are very caring people, they "showered" me with lobster sandwiches during our stay (bulging with lobster meat). The best part of our stay was when I got sick, and Donna helped me made an appointment with the doctor, and drove me to the health center herself. Talk about great service!!!
They also invited us to several bonfire evenings at the beach, and introduced us to their friends.

Sadly, this year, we won't make it to Cheticamp, but next year is another story... Thanks Dilosa Family!

Adele and Ed Merrill - New Jersey

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Addie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheticamp
31.1 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
3.4 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
181 reviews
1.1 mi away
Laurie's Motor Inn
Laurie's Motor Inn
#6 of 7 in Cheticamp
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Auberge Doucet Inn
Auberge Doucet Inn
#3 of 8 in Cheticamp
136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bay Wind Suites
Bay Wind Suites
#4 of 8 in Cheticamp
72 reviews
31.0 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert's Motel

Property: Albert's Motel
Address: 15086 Cabot Trail | Cheticamp, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cheticamp
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Albert`s Hotel Cheticamp
Albert's Motel Cheticamp, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing