We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oakwood Manor is MARVELOUS!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape North
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oakwood Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Cape North B&B and Inns
Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oakwood Manor is MARVELOUS!”
Reviewed September 10, 2008

If you want a special experience in a special place way at the tippy top of Cape Breton Island, this is the B&B for you. After visiting Meat Cove and the other tiny villages and bays at the end of Cape Breton, Oakwood is down a 1 anc 1/2 mile long, pretty farm road which opens to a beautiful property of lawns, trees and gardens, with the miraculously restored farmhouse in the middle of it all. The house's interior is made entirely of beautifully-varnished wood - walls, trim, doors, floors. They all gleam! Our lovely room was furnished with period antiques, but had a brand-new modern bathroom. No detail was overlooked by Hansel and Sharon McEvoy, who keep this place in perfect condition and are very interesting people. They provided a marvelous breakfast too. Don't miss this wonderful B&B!

  • Liked — The perfect and beautiful condition of the inn.
  • Disliked — There are very few good restaurants nearby and we chose one with poor service.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarylandNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    24
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
53
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2008

There isn't much in Cape North as far as accomodations so I wasn't sure what to expect when I booked this B&B. I was very pleased to find a very inviting farm home with lovely oak wood and a friendly and helpful host.

Our room was a bit small but the bathroom was very large with a jacuzzi tub and window overlooking the lovely lawns. There is a sitting room on the main floor with a TV and a computer. The computer although nice to have is VERY slow and outdated. My suggestion to the host is to update to a new one with an up to date operating system and high speed internet.

Breakfast was simple but tasty. The table is a nice long wooden one guests can sit around at and chat. The modern touches along with the older items such a wood stove on display was a delight to see and reminise about.

I would highly recommend this B&B for comfort, cleanliness and interest.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Alberta52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

If you are looking for a nice, quiet, secluded place to stay - the oakwood manor is a great choice. nice, clean, spacious rooms, large bathrooms with jaccuzi and very friendly and helpful staff. would definetely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travel00911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2007

We stayed at the Oakwood Manor for one night in late October 2007. We were upgraded to the private suite due to a mixup in the reservations and were very pleased with the room. The gas fireplace, private satellite television and view from the room was a bonus. Unfortunately, it was raining during our stay, otherwise we could have easily spent a couple of hours walking around the grounds as they are well maintained.

The cleanliness was above standard, however there were a few places overlooked - i.e. hair on the bathmat and crumbs on the sofa. Breakfast was ordinary - scrambled eggs (that appeared to be microwaved) with bacon and toast. The homemade jam was very delicious.

Overall, this makes for an excellent place to stop on a 2 day tour of the Cabot Trail...especially with good weather! A great value for the price.

Helpful?
2 Thank patelj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

We stayed for one night in September. The bed and breakfast is clean, safe, and quiet. Plus, the rates are reasonable. It served as a perfect halfway point for a quick two day trip to Cape Breton Highlands National Park. If we had more time we would have stayed an additional night.

We arrived after the sunset, thus, it was a little bit difficult to find the place at night. However, the GPS coordinates for the Oakwood Manor is approximately:

N46 53.094 W60 32.159

Please program this in if you are going to stay here. Makes it a little easier to find the Oakwood Manor.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Hard to find the place on a map
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Liquidity_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2007

My wife and I toured Cape Breton Island in May and drove the Cabot Trail. We chose Oakwood Manor to stay in and were very pleased with our choice. Cape North is approximately at the half-way point of the Cabot Trail (we started from Sydney airport), so a good place to stop after an afternoon of driving. The property is located on 200 acres of land and has a very nice view of an orchard and tall hills in the back of the house. We stayed in the suite which was very spacious and private and the price was quite affordable for the accomodation. The hilite of our stay though was having the opportunity to speak with one of the hosts, Hansel McEvoy who was born and raised in Cape North. We thoroughly enjoyed his stories of growing up in the B&B and of the history of the town. Do make a point to ask Hansel about his history in Cape North. We will definitely find another time to visit the trail as it is one of the most beautiful natural areas in Canada. Of note was on the second day of touring the Cabot Trail, we stopped at the Doreyman Pub in Cheticamp for lunch. It was mother's day and Ashley MacIsaac happened to be playing there that afternoon, so we saw him play for the locals.

  • Liked — Owner/host, peaceful/quiet location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria_Wanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville, nc
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2006

This is a quiet B&B off the beaten track. It is reasonably priced. We stayed in the new suite and thought it a terrific well furnished room . Owners are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ordinary but plentiful and wel prepared.

Helpful?
3 Thank windjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape North
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
632 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Manor Bed and Breakfast

Property: Oakwood Manor Bed and Breakfast
Address: Cape North, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cape North
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cape North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Oakwood Manor Bed And Breakfast Cape North, Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing