We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oakwood Manor Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$122
$110
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel North(North Sydney)
$126
$118
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveler rating
46
24
3
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
24
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeat coveremote areacabot trailone nightnova scotiahomemade jamsgenerationspropertydingwall
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 76 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We really appreciated this isolated B&B in the nature. Absolutely quiet and well situated to go off wandering Cap Breton. The staff was very welcoming and the room and house very nice. If you are looking for a quiet place in the nature, this is the one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were looking forward to our trip around Cape Breton and after reading reviews on TA we were excited about this B&B. So we arrived on a day of torrential rain after driving from Baddeck, we were greeted warmly and shown to our room which was very nice. We then asked where would be the best place to get some dinner for the evening (it was 3pm at this time) as we knew it was shoulder season so less likely for things to be open late. The suggestion (albeit fine) was to nip to the take out down the road and grab something there as they closed at 5:30. Off we went; upon arrival we figured it was a grocery store as well and ideally wanted to eat something a little more nutritious. We phoned back to Oakwood and asked if may borrow the kitchen to cook some pasta "no" was the straight answer. So, we asked if we could use a microwave to heat some soup instead "no" again... To cut a long story short we ate at 4pm and not again till the following morning which was to a poor/average breakfast. There was no sympathy or lack of realisation to the situation we were in and not being able to accommodate a microwave for 5 minutes so we could eat some dinner was so poor on their behalf as hosts. Disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Siany19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Beautiful setting, love the home and surroundings, great comfortable big bed, went out of their way to accommodate us even though we had no reservation. We will certainly reccomend Oakwood to anyone who asks, thanks

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Vernon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have just gotten home from a mini vacation to Cape Breton. Although we don't live far away from this stunningly beautiful part of Nova Scotia, this is only our second visit there. On our first trip several years ago we took an escorted tour over the Cabot Trail and as we drove through the northern part my husband jokingly said "I want to build a cabin here some day!". Well, that will probably remain a pipe dream but we DID go back! We booked three nights at Oakwood Manor...and it wasn't enough! The place is absolutely beautiful! It is nestled in the mountains and far away from city life. Here you can truly relax...though we were far too busy driving and hiking to rest much! There is LOTS to do in this part of the Island. The McEvoys were wonderful hosts. We didn't find the, remote at all! Hans smiled often and joked with us at breakfast and was eager to provide info on the lovely family home or the area. But, he also knows how to not interfere with the guests. That is a fine line when you are a B and B host. They retired to their own quarters in the evening and didn't mix with the guests, and I kinda wish some nights they would have sat in the sitting room with us, but I can understand that they need their privacy and rest, too. Being hosts is like having company every night, all summer and fall long!
We found so much to do there! We aren't terribly active, but we did two hi,es. One was at White Point and it was just wonderful. We took so many pictures! The other was at meat cove. I think many folk miss this little hike. We stopped at the little cafe/information centre there and the gentleman told us about this little 15 minute hi,e through the woods beside a gurgling stream that leads to the beach. It is mostly boardwalk so most people can do it. It was so enjoyable. We also took in the Oshan Whale Watching cruise and it was the highlight of our trip.
Oakwood Manor is the perfect way to enjoy the REAL Cape Breton. The house is old but gorgeous, the grounds are like a park and the breakfast is common but substantial. GO FOR IT! We are glad we did!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the queen rooms and it suited us just perfectly. We loved being able to chat with the other guests in the sitting room while downloading the pictures of our travels of the day!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a great getaway from the stress of the city. It is very far into the cabbot trail and has a lot of grounds with its own walking trail within. The rooms are well furnished and the bed is very comfortable, the bathroom is very lovely, especially for a place so far removed geogrphically from town.

The internet services ate good, the tranquility is very inspiring, and thought provoking. It is run by a couple and breakfast is very rich and invigorating, but the usual chatting between B&B operators and their clients is quite significantly absent in this facility, you will have to make do with being completely on your own, unless your lucky to run into another occupant, or occassionaly, run into the wife, who is a little bit more chatty.

It is all in all, a good place to visit.

Mgbarasa.

Room Tip: It is a small B&B , with few rooms, all the rooms are nice.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgbarasa o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews