We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding little museum”

North Highlands Community Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our Museum can be found in Northern Cape Breton along the Cabot Trail Nova Scotia in the "Top of the Island" Region. We have a beautiful exhibit hall that includes local artifacts along with professional displays that take you back in time while getting a taste of our local heritage. We also have a blacksmith forge, settlers' garden, and a historic Church building that has become our Culture Centre where we feature talented musicians and other events each week. Our Museum also serves as the Information Centre for the the area, so there are many great reasons to stop in and visit us!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Toronto
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Outstanding little museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I've been to a lot of museums. This one was excellent: amazing, quality displays with short and useful information, combined with photos of the people who settled along the coast and their stories. It is perfectly displayed, perfectly lit, perfectly labelled and the people running were very friendly. It's always nice to find a little museum like this that people take pride in and where you can learn a lot about a place in a short period of time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiddlee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    12
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming, informative and fun museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We go every year and find something new and exciting each time. This is an absolutely wonderful museum for children AND adults. It is small, quaint and educational. A must see!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank seetheworldMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Life was harder.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Interesting exhibits showing how difficult life was in 19th century Cape Breton & how the resourceful inhabitants made tools & clothing. Also early school books. Well laid out museum & reasonable $5 family or $2 individual admission. Recommended activity on a rainy day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank vin0tint0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An unexpected "gem" on our trip along the Cabot Trail.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We thought we'd stop in for a minute...just to see what we could find out about the area. Kendall, the attendant of the day, was very pleasant...along with a couple of locals who talked with us for quite a while. The Museum is very interesting, very well displayed (good lighting). The building is quite new & everything is very clean.
We even got to meet the local artist who had a showing in the Museum at the time. (Kevin Sudeith who does Petroglyphs). We found everyone there so pleasant that we stopped a 2nd time to tell them how much we appreciated their advice about going to Meat Cave (which was not originally in our plans). The Museum building is also the local information center & there is also a very nice gift shop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you love seeing historic artifacts, you will love this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

For a mere $2.00 you will see artifacts from times gone by, as well as learn about the history of the people of Cape Breton. Although everything is in one small room, it is divided into sections such as fishing, home life, school, farming, the wars and such. There is even a blacksmith and I now have a handmade nail as a memento. We were so glad we stopped!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissAnnElk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Highlands Community Museum also viewed

Cape North, Cape Breton Island
 
Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to North Highlands Community Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing