We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIG sandwiches!”

Herring Choker Deli
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Baddeck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: The Herring Choker Deli is a bakery/cafe/deli located just outside of Baddeck and minutes away from the start of the world famous Cabot Trail. We serve fresh homemade breads, sweets, soups, salads, sandwiches and wraps!!!
Sydney, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BIG sandwiches!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I passed by this place for years because I always thought 'Herring = seafood" and i'm not a fan of seafood, but they make AMAZING deli sandwiches here! Get the Corned beef! You won't regret it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieandBlaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    50
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a great place to stop”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stopped here many time and never been disappointed. the menu has enough choice for everyone.the location is great and view is spectacular

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good Place for Lunch”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have lunch here whenever we are in the Baddeck area. It's all good!
Home made soups, home made breads, yummy sandwiches, and friendly service along with a great view of the Bras d'Or lake across the road.
Top it off with some of their fabulous cookies or cinnamon buns for dessert and you are good to go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, USA
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches and Oatcakes”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stopped here twice and loved our meal both times. We had the Herring Choker Club sandwich and it was excellent. We got a side with it and that was good too. They have freshly baked bread--we bought a loaf to go with dinner and it was also great. The oatcakes were the best that we found in the area--and we became quite expert at knowing the oatcakes that we liked. We will be back! This is a sandwich shop type place and is first rate at what it does.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great sandwiches”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We called in at the Herring Choker Deli to get some sandwiches for lunch. The service was really friendly and it looked a really nice place to while away a bit of time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lennyross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herring Choker Deli also viewed

Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Herring Choker Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing