We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pastries!!”

Herring Choker Deli
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Baddeck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: The Herring Choker Deli is a bakery/cafe/deli located just outside of Baddeck and minutes away from the start of the world famous Cabot Trail. We serve fresh homemade breads, sweets, soups, salads, sandwiches and wraps!!!
Mentone, AL
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great pastries!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stopped for a cup of coffee and saw delicious looking sweets, so we eat had something. It was counter service and I had some kind of chocolate thing and it was dellcious! They had a chalkboard full of wonderful looking sandwiches, etc. I think it would be a great place to eat lunch.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank carollyn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    50
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Antigonish, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Herring Choker special sandwich is a must!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Herring Choker special sandwich is a must but unless you are very hungry it will be sufficient for 2 people.
Soup;sandwiches and salads are standard fare. They also sell freashly baked bread and sweets.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BettyandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great little place to stop in at”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Don't drive past by mistake!!! We stopped here purposely on our way to PEI after leaving Baddeck/Cape Breton, and grabbed some delicious sandwiches and baked treats for our lunch on the road. My kids, notoriously picky eaters, inhaled the food, especially the fresh baked scones and brownies... Even the bread was thick-cut and freshly baked that day!
Only wish their baked goods weren't so sinfully good, but hey, if you're on vacation, go for it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank BubbaBri888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best oatcakes in NS”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

One of ny favorite places in CB, very friendly service, excllent lobster sandwich on wonderful homemade bread. Good coffee and espresso drinks and the best oatcakes in NS! They are thin and cripy and have a lovely toasted oat taste that goes so well with a good coffee or tea. I always pick up several packages. Nice deck overlooking Bras D'Or Lake to eat on in good weather. Don't miss this lovely unpretentious little place. Excellent bread and sweet treats also plus a good deli. Clean washroom.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank flygurrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good stop for lunch!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Good selection of sandwiches and bakery products. The back room has spices and teas available to purchase by weight, along with other interesting knick-knacks. Plenty of seating in a spacious, quirky setting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PricklyThistle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herring Choker Deli also viewed

Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Herring Choker Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing