We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of McCurdy's Dining Room

McCurdy's Dining Room
Ranked #9 of 30 Restaurants in Baddeck
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: McCurdy's Dining room is open from Mid May to Mid October for breakfast and dinner. Our a-la-carte menu is always available, and our popular breakfast buffet is featured most mornings from mid July through September. It features a wide selection of delicious breakfast items including eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, French toast, fresh fruit, yogurts, and much more! Join us for dinner in McCurdy's Dining Room while enjoying one of the best views in Cape Breton. McCurdy's evening menu features fresh and local ingredients from the land and the sea. Whether you're getting on the road early and need a breakfast-on-the-run or you'll be exploring our beautiful Island, picnic meals are available with advance notice. Please inquire at the front desk, and we'll be happy to pack a picnic for you.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious food!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The buffet is fabulous!!! The staff is incredible!!! Thanks everyone for going above and beyond!!!Try the French toast!!! It is delicious!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NewBrunswickKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    62
    37
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“dine with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

fine food, large spacious area
friendly waitress, got our dinner quickly cause we had a bost tour to go on.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank billybitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing view, mediocre food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Silver Dart Lodge for three nights and hit the restaurant on our last night, which was a Monday. Dining room was only a third full at 7:00pm so had the good fortune to be seated on the window overlooking the gorgeous shoreline in Baddeck. Service was OK but the real downside was the sub-par food. I had the seafood pasta primavera, my wife the baked lobster ravioli, and the kids both stuck to mac & cheese. Food was hot but lacked flavour and for the price was a let-down.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mattcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My pork medallions with blueberry chutney were virtually tasteless. My meal the second night's meal was better

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thewendymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, General Manager at McCurdy's Dining Room, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We had just launched our new menu a few weeks ago and are working hard to make sure every dish is cooked to perfection! I do apologize that you did not enjoy your meal your first night and am pleased the second night was more to your liking. Again, thank you for taking the time to write about our property and we will do our best to have every meal perfect each time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food, good service, great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We ate here a few times while staying at the attached Silver Dart Lodge. The food is quite good, as is the service. But the view is exceptional!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaveLufkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCurdy's Dining Room also viewed

Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to McCurdy's Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing