We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lobster sandwich”

Bell-Buoy Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 31 Restaurants in Baddeck
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great lobster sandwich”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Ten years ago I ate here and remembering the lobster sandwich from back then I decided to stop there again. The lobster sandwich was just as good as I remembered it. One of the best in the province. My wife had a club sandwich made with freshly roasted chicken. It was so filling that she asked to take half with us. I ate it later and it was a great sandwich. The service was good and the restaurant is large but very clean and wll appointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buchanskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    213
    143
    63
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Good enough”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

No great ambience and the air conditioning is a bit overboard but the food isn't bad. Pasta was a bit too creamy heavy

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good choice for our first night in Baddeck”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

This restaurant is in a convenient location on the main street in Baddeck. It offers a wonderful selection of seafood. My husband and I both had the lobster sandwich that comes with a side of seafood chowder. My daughter had calamari with a Thai dipping sauce and my 7 year old son ordered the escargot. We all enjoyed our choices. My eyes wandered to other tables and I was very tempted to order dessert, but resisted. Service was a little slow, but in fairness, the restaurant was very busy that particular evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhiaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shediac, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food but expensive”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The service was not great as our waiter talked badly about the other servers. The food was good but overpriced ( not really anything below $15) The deck is nice but it's on the main street so it is loud as there is a lot of traffic in summer. Overall, not bad but nothing spectacular.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewTraveller03-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The place to eat.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

On the main street in town, inside with view of the harbor, small siting patio out front to dine, roomy inside. Best part was the food. We ate lunch and dinner there and loved it. My wife had halibut and I had salmon. Both meals were exquisite, cooked to perfection and bursting with flavor. Service was equally outstanding.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bell-Buoy Restaurant also viewed

Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Bell-Buoy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing