We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre food; pleasant setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lynwood Inn

Lynwood Inn
Ranked #16 of 30 Restaurants in Baddeck
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Mediocre food; pleasant setting”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Right in the middle of Baddeck, it was pleasant to sit outside and our server was friendly and nice. But food really not good at all: haddock tasteless except for sodden breadcrumbs, floury chowder, etc. Lots of better food choices in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TobyNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    53
    42
    24
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead
Level Contributor
322 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast with bizarre decor”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We came for breakfast on our way to the Alexander Graham Bell Museum. The food was lovely and served in good time.the tea was just right and the service was fun ranging from one very chatty friendly waitress to one who told us she was working 14 hour days to the lady on the till who seemed completely disinterested in us and her job.however the chatty lady made up for all this. For those who know it was verging on the Fawlty Towers but great anyway!! The decor was Scottish Victorian and the loos in particular are worth a visit. First time I have been somewhere with a Bible in the Ladies!!

Helpful?
Thank djne11026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Out Dated Decor & Menu”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

After a full day of touring around the island we did not pick a winning location for dinner. Our dinner was uninspiring and lacked sophistication. The whole place was kind of like eating at your great grandmothers house; you know the cook is trying but is a bit out of date with everything.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelCouple998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst dining experience in Nova Scotia.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We ordered what was supposed to be fresh haddock with chips and fresh vegetables. What came were thin, triangular shaped, flat breaded things, runny with oil or grease, don't know which. I think they were probably frozen fillets. They were inedible. The veg was tasteless, but I forced them down because I was hungry. Tried to eat the chips but they were overcooked. Complained to the waitress, she said they had tried to do something about the food but to no avail. She wished someone would tell the owner. No one offered us discount or any recompense. I paid the horrendous bill and told the cashier about our experience and she just said she was sorry, as she took my money. Eat at your own risk.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner here one night of a week long stay in Baddeck. The food was terrible, the presentation was terrible and the service was just possible. The interior atmosphere is over done and garish. The deck is ok if you like sitting on the edge of a parking lot and street corner. Lots of much better choices.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ycnan3335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lynwood Inn also viewed

Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Lynwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing