We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fog and Frustration” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lobster Galley

Lobster Galley
Ranked #12 of 30 Restaurants in Baddeck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, Soups, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fog and Frustration”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Told to stop here for the amazing view. We arrived and were disappointed that the fog didn't permit any views; things went downhill from there. I ordered lobster. It came to the table with the claws and half the tail burnt black (try adding some water to the lobster pot), absolutely no presentation- the lobster with some melted margarine and four small dry potato wedges. My wife ordered pan fried haddock which arrived with the same dry potato wedges and a very small piece of dry, tasteless haddock.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank montrealmarcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    47
    18
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ellwood City, Pennsylvania
1 review
“the BEST lobster ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I make the drive from PA to NL every summer. One of my favorite stops along the way is the Lobster Galley in Baddeck, NS. If you like quality lobster and friendly service then I would definitely recommend this stop regardless as to what mealtime it happens to be. This is a must stop. If you don't....your an idiot!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moonchild1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Mines, Canada
2 reviews
“awesome experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

my second trip to this gem was as pleasing as the first I had the fresh catch which was a blackened salmon with wild rice and veggies it was cooked to perfection. my wife has the seafood chowder( was not like cream of celery soup as another reader commented) she enjoyed the chunks of sea food and potatoes. another guest had the lobster special with mussels the shells on the claws were a little black but the lobster was great( upon researching this it was due to the age of the shell of the lobster chemical changes in the lobster that gives it its red pigment lower before it out grows its shell)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ed r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Lunch wasn't bad, lobster on a bun with coleslaw and fries. I have had better, however I have also had worse. Restaurant appears "tired".

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank otis1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
217 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice view over the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on natal day. Restaurant only had about four other guests. Was a very quiet time. I ordered lobster mac and cheese, which I really enjoyed. Partner had haddock. Mac and cheese was a good portion size, haddock was less so. Deserts was fantastic we tried both the Ameretto Cheesecake and the gingerbread. Both were very worthwhile.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tandemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Galley also viewed

Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Lobster Galley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing