We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not sleep...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auld Farm Inn B & B
Ranked #2 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Could not sleep...”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I must say that this B&B is a lovely place to stay. I loved the atmosphere created by the owners which was sweet. Breakfast was simple but my wife and I were satisfied. But... I did not have a good sleep at all. We retrieved to our room around 8pm and noticed so much creaking noise on the floor. Well, I thought "This is an old farm house, never mind." More guests arrived. I could hear people were talking and laughing downstairs, which was really nice. We were on internet until 10ish, then my problem started. We got into bed, switched off the light, rested my head into the pillow, closed my eye and had a deep breath.....then I heard thundering snoring from the next room. It was not just "Zzzzzz...Zzzzz" but his tongue must have occluded his airway and was making louder gasping snoring over and over. Then my wife got up for the toilet and added squeaking noise to it. I was tired when I woke up in the morning. As I said in the beginning this B&B is lovely but my advice is to bring ear plugs and ask your wife or husband to crawl to the washroom if s/he cannot hold it until in the morning.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shogyomujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGVbadcbns, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We work hard to create a friendly and comfortable atmosphere at the Inn, so we’re pleased that this came across when you stayed with us. We’ve had a number of people recently refer to our breakfast as ‘simple’ and would appreciate a little more information on what that means, as we feel that we offer a very wide selection and variety of foods. We would be obliged if you could email us directly or post again on tripadvisor with some suggestions on how we can improve it. Two of the rooms in the main farmhouse have floorboards that date back to the 1950’s, which is what gives it a very authentic feel and appeals to many visitors. We’re very sorry that you were disturbed by another guest’s sleeping habits, something that is unfortunately beyond our control. We are however disappointed that you didn’t mention this when we enquired about your stay at check-out the following morning, as it would have given us the opportunity to apologise in person. We have considered the possibility of putting ‘guzunder’s’ in the two rooms with creaking floorboards, but due to health and safety regulations, we are not able to do so !! We do now have a supply of earplugs though for guests. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    42
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
51
146
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Arrived there after driving the Cabot Trail and were greeted by both Jan and Glen. A beautiful home, cookies waiting and a welcoming room. Breakfast was good too. Our hosts were accommodating and knowledgeable of the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolSO8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGVbadcbns, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
After a long drive it’s always nice to come ‘home’ to tea and cookies and we’re delighted we could make that happen for you. We’re delighted that you liked your room and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falling Waters
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Wife & I just spent an enjoyable 5 nights at the Auld Farm Inn B&B just outside Baddeck, Nova Scotia in early September.. We selected this lodging after reading other reviews on TripAdvisor and were not disappointed. If anything, it exceeded our expectations. Jan & Glen were excellent hosts. Available to assist when needed but gave us plenty of space to relax and enjoy the Inn.

We stayed in room 4 and if you can get it we recommend it highly. It is a large room with 2 double/twin beds, lots of floor space, and beautiful hard wood floor and walls. The room had one thing that we had never seen in the "en-suite" bath. It is a circular glass shower enclosure that had a pocket/sliding door. Very inventive use of space.

The property was well located a couple of miles out of town. It was well landscaped with several mini-gardens for flowers and veggies. There was ample parking and the included breakfast was good. It was buffet style but there were plenty of choice including several hot dishes each morning. Jan & Glen have a number of receipts on their website and we plan on trying a few at home.

The town of Baddick offers enough to make several visits worthwhile. A number of interesting shops and restaurants. We especially enjoyed Belle Buoy restaurant. We tried the lobster dinner but would skip it next time. One of the best things we discovered in Baddick were the nightly Celtic Music concerts called Ceilidhs. They start each night at 7:30 and often sell out so plan in advance. Jan & Glen can make reservations for you. It was the best $10/person we spent on our entire trip.

Thanks Jan & Glen

Room Tip: Room 4 has a great view and lots of open space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGVbadcbns, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We are so glad that we exceeded your expectations; this is something that every operator hopes to do for their guests. Room four is one of our most popular rooms, especially since putting in the en-suite shower room. Our breakfast recipe’s are proving very popular, hence the link to them on our website. How many have you tried so far ? The ceilidh’s in town are wonderful, a great snap-shop of the music, the tradition and the history of the area and like you said, great value (I will pass your comment onto Nancy).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a great location to begin your trip around the Cabot Trail. Glen and particularly Jan were super hosts and if you want to find out the many highlights of your trail drive, Jan is a whiz!
Unfortunately our rooms' floors creaked as did the bed so this made for a less than restful sleep.
It is a great location and the Bell Buoy restaurant in Baddeck that Glen recommended is excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid room # 1 if you want a good night's sleep and take your own shampoo and conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGVbadcbns, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Baddeck is the start and end of the Cabot Trail, so it’s a great place to base yourself for your trip. We enjoy driving the trail in the Spring, which allows us the opportunity to find places to stop along the 185 mile journey. The floor boards in a couple of the rooms in the main farmhouse date back to the 1950’s, so unfortunately there is not a lot we can do about the creaks, although any suggestions are welcome. Since your stay, we discovered that the box-frame for the bed was broken, something we hadn’t expected as it is only a couple of years old, we have now replaced it. We are currently looking at a way of supplying shampoo and conditioner without creating more plastic waste with small disposable bottles; one way may be to put pump bottles in every bathroom. We would like to thank you for your review as it has brought the problem with the bed to our attention. We would have liked to have apologised for that inconvenience personally to you at the time of your check-out though. We hope to see you back with us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

After spending a night near the airport Baddeck was our first real Nova Scotia experience and everything about Auld Farm Inn made for a great beginning. Unfortunately it rained all day getting to Baddeck but we ended a sumptuous dinner with a breathtaking rainbow off a lake and lighthouse that obviously meant we were in for a great time. I wanted Lobster for our first meal and Jan sent us to the Bell Buoy Restaurant about 5 miles down the road and it was exactly what I wanted. We stayed in one of the Garden rooms (#5) with a separate entrance and every one of the 8 units had their designated parking spot close by. Unfortunately because of the rain we didn't get to see much of the garden. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable. I think our room backed up to the living area as in the evening we did hear some conversation going on but obviously it didn't bother us because we had a wonderful sleep and were late for breakfast. Sat with two couples from Nova Scotia and received tons of ideas about what to see and do over the next 7 days. Could not have been more enjoyable. Breakfast was good but need to say that the breakfasts we had as the trip went on simply got better and better. Short trip to the Cabot Trail going counter clockwise and fortunately the road to Cheticamp was not nearly as horrendous as we were led to believe. Thank goodness!

Room Tip: Look at the room map and see if one does not back up to the living area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEH352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGVbadcbns, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
If you are a seafood lover, this area is chock-a-block with great restaurants to try out. The Bras d’Or Lake is a fantastic backdrop to dining and has obviously left you with a great memory by throwing in a rainbow for good measure. Unfortunately the weather is something that we cannot control, but it didn’t seem to spoil your trip. We try to ensure that guests who are using the dining room during the evening do not make too much noise or go on past 10pm, but we will also look into a way of further soundproofing the wall between the dining room and room 5. We appreciate your feedback and we’re glad that it didn’t spoil your stay. We would also appreciate your feedback on how we could improve our breakfast menu or presentation. In the last year or so, the ‘roads’ department has been working on upgrading the roads around the island, so we’re pleased to hear that your journey around the Cabot Trail to Cheticamp was more pleasant that you expected it to be. We are investigating a solution into increasing the sound-proofing between room five and the dining room, then to scheduling it into our winter maintenance programme. Thank you for leaving your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Jan and Glen run a busy B and B in an ideal spot for driving the Cabot Trail. They could not be more welcoming and helpful, the accommodations are everything they should be and breakfast meets every possible dietary need. If you need a B and B in this area, look no further - you can book Auld Farm with total confidence.

Room Tip: All the rooms that we saw were similar and problem free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 112MandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGVbadcbns, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments and for helping to promote Auld Farm Inn. We’re pleased that your needs were met when you came to stay with us. We do our best to accommodate guests that have alternative dietary needs to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This renovated farmhouse is neat, clean & tidy with a comfortable living room to relax in. The breakfasts are hearty. But the best feature is the service that Jan, the co-owner, offers. She knows a great deal about Cape Breton and Celtic music and takes the time to inform travelers of places to stay, where to eat, places to see and music venues not to be missed. This is what hospitality is all about.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGVbadcbns, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for your gracious comments. We appreciate people taking the time to leave reviews and comments for other travelers. Our housekeepers work hard to maintain a high standard within the rooms and common rooms of the property. We are delighted to be able to help our guests to enjoy their visit to our island. The previous owner gave us a great start with information about the local area, to which we have added by exploring whenever possible. The music is a passion of ours and any opportunity to promote it is grabbed with both hands. We look forward to welcoming you back to Auld Farm in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
0.9 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#7 of 17 in Baddeck
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
651 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dunlop Inn
The Dunlop Inn
#4 of 17 in Baddeck
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auld Farm Inn B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Farm Inn B & B

Property: Auld Farm Inn B & B
Address: 1817 Bay Rd, Hwy 205 | Baddeck Bay, Box 498, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auld Farm Inn B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 No-smoking rooms (D,Q & T; 4 A/C with private entrance), 1 private & 7 ensuite 4-pc baths. Full or light hot buffet breakfast. Renovated farmhouse in quiet country setting; SaTV in living room; wraparound veranda. Close to local amenities, central for day trips. For your information, please note this property now has a resident pet. She is a low to non-shedding 'Golden-Doodle' and her name is KC. Check out her blog on our home page. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Auld Farm Inn B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auld Farm Inn B & B Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing