We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodating Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auld Farm Inn B & B
Ranked #2 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Accommodating Hosts”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed two nights here as a starting/ending point for a ride around the Cabot Trail on our motorcycle. The house was very nice and everything was spotless. We stayed in Room #1 which was tiny, but we knew that from the photo on their webpage. The size of the room was reflected in the price - cheapest room in the house. Although the room was small, the ensuite was large and comfortable, and the room had a nice view of the field behind the house.

The house has a large veranda in front and a deck in the back with nice places to sit. There are many birds visiting the feeders out back and they have a few chickens that wander out too, which is nice for city folk like us! Very quite and relaxing.

Breakfast was very good. I have celiac disease and there was another guest staying there at the same time who was gluten intolerant. The hosts offered us gluten-free baked goods, and on the second morning had gone into town and bought several very nice items from a local bakery that does some GF baking for our breakfast.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the hosts were very helpful with good advice on things to see and routes to take.

Room Tip: Room #1 is the least expensive but it is very small only has a double bed - which was quite soft. L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VStar2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGVbadcbns, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We’re so pleased that we helped to make your visit to Cape Breton a memorable one. We have a number of visitors on motorcycles, who enjoy riding around the area, particularly the Cabot Trail. You are quite correct, room one is a very small room, something that we advise our guests about when they make the booking. Many people find that it fulfills their needs though, as there is always the veranda, the lounge or dining room to use during the evenings if more space is needed. The wild birds and the chickens provide lots of entertainment and photo opportunities for our guests. We are happy to cater for alternative diets as best we can and even when we have no notice, we can usually rustle up something for our guests. Local bakeries now do a great selection of gluten-free goods when I don’t have home-made baking available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    38
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
133
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent choice in the Baddeck area. Our room (#8) was comfortable and cheerful. Didn't use the AC but host indicated it might be noisy. Excellent breakfast with one hot choice each day to supplement the continental breakfast options. If eggs are on the menu, they came from the inn's own chickens. Hosts Jan and Glen go out of their way to make their guests comfortable. Jan is also active in the Cape Breton music community. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolbreezeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGVbadcbns, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Room eight is a popular choice for many guests, so we’re pleased that you enjoyed your stay there. We are looking into the possibility of replacing the air-conditioning units over the next few years with more efficient and quieter air-source heat pumps which will provide air-conditioning and heating. Thank you for your kind comments, we hope you will visit us again someday, perhaps to experience some music in our barn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This place is exceptional. The location is beautiful, a little out of town. The hosts are wonderful - truly care about making your stay a meaningful experience. I would recommend this place to anyone in the area and wish I had more time to spend at this wonderful place. The hosts make this place a 5 star. If you are there make sure to book this one!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGVbadcbns, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, we enjoyed your company and appreciate you promotion of Auld Farm Inn as a suitable accommodation to people visiting the area. Many people like the rural location that we have, it offers a chance to photograph wildlife and birds and the drive into town is along the stunning Bras d'Or Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We only stayed 1 night since it was the end of our 10 days in Nova Scotia. We wish we could stay longer!!!! Jan and Glen were excellent host and even during the short time we spent talking to them we left as if we were old friends! The farmhouse was charming with its renovated barn and the surroundings was so peaceful and relaxing.Both were knowledge about the area.Even though they were expecting a large group the following day for a BBQ we did not felt rushed to leave. Being with Jan and Glen felt as if we were home away from home. We could stay forever!!! We will definitely stay again and will highly recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yingingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGVbadcbns, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
It would be lovely to see you again and I’m sure we could find a few places for you to visit that you missed on your last trip. We’re so glad that we were able to make you feel at home when you were with us. The group that visited us the next day numbered 150 fiddlers and friends, so the barn was jumping with music and dance. The BBQ went very well and there is talk of it being an annual event. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2-night stay here. The hosts are so helpful and welcoming - they even let us hang our wet kayaking clothes on their clothesline! Jan also gave us wonderful and accurate information the morning we left on what to do farther up the Cabot Trail. We hope to return to Nova Scotia and will stay here again when we visit Baddeck.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGVbadcbns, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
It’s always nice to see other types of laundry hanging on our washing line … kayaking clothes show us that our guests are really experiencing the local area and have had the opportunity to spot some of the wildlife that we have around our coast and in our rivers. We look forward to seeing you if you make a return trip to Cape Breton and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I spent one lovely night at the Auld Farm Inn. The converted farmhouse is updated, and careful attention is given to guests' comfort. Jan and Glen, as mentioned in other reviews, are excellent hosts who genuinely seem to love serving their guests and making sure they have a wonderful experience in Cape Breton. When we asked about the local Baddeck Celidh, Jan recommended that we go right away and buy our tickets (in fact, she offered to call and reserve them for us) before dinner so we didn't miss out. We were so glad we did because we got some of the last tickets available. She also suggested some nice hikes in the national park. Breakfast was tasty: sausage and eggs plus homebaked goods, cereal, yogurt, fruit, etc.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front room (room 3) which has its own private--but not ensuite--bathroom, and it ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGVbadcbns, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments; it’s always good to hear that our guests have enjoyed the breakfasts that we offer We are currently trying out new recipes for next season, to offer new dishes and baked goods. We’re always happy and very keen to help visitors get the most out of their visit to Cape Breton, especially on the cultural side. Having been involved in fiddle groups for the last sixteen years, we have a particular passion for the music and dance and very much want to share it with folks. The hikes around the island are wonderful usually resulting in spectacular views, so we’re happy to recommend then to our guests. We hope that you will return for a visit at some point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

First off, this B&B is an excellent value. The price point simply reflects that the size of the rooms and room amenities are not quite up to some other B&B's we enjoyed on this trip to Maine, Nova Scotia and Quebec City. The parlor (living room) area of the inn is quite comfortable and spacious...very conducive to easy conversation. The innkeepers seem genuinely interested in their guests and are always available with helpful information or just a pleasant chat. Breakfast was good, but not outstanding. Once again, very much in line with the price point.

We enjoyed our visit here and are simply being honest about the drawbacks.

Room Tip: There is one upstairs room with the bathroom across the hall (only your room has the key). If you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magicbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGVbadcbns, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and we would be delighted to receive an email from you with more information on where we fell short on our breakfast offerings and on our room amenities. It is always a delight for us to hear the chatter going on between guests in our lounge, a place where many friendships have started over the years between travelers. Due to the age and layout of the main farmhouse, it is unlikely that we will be able to change the situation with the bathroom for room three. We have found over our time there that many people are happy to book that room, as the price reflects the fact that the bathroom is private and not en-suite. We look forward to receiving your email with suggestions for development and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
0.9 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
587 reviews
1.3 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#8 of 17 in Baddeck
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auld Farm Inn B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Farm Inn B & B

Property: Auld Farm Inn B & B
Address: 1817 Bay Rd, Hwy 205 | Baddeck Bay, Box 498, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auld Farm Inn B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 No-smoking rooms (D,Q & T; 4 A/C with private entrance), 1 private & 7 ensuite 4-pc baths. Full or light hot buffet breakfast. Renovated farmhouse in quiet country setting; SaTV in living room; wraparound veranda. Close to local amenities, central for day trips. For your information, please note this property now has a resident pet. She is a low to non-shedding 'Golden-Doodle' and her name is KC. Check out her blog on our home page. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Auld Farm Inn B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auld Farm Inn B & B Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing