We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Auld Farm Inn B & B
Nearby Hotels
Cabot Trail Motel(Baddeck)(Great Value!)
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Telegraph House Hotel(Baddeck)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$103
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bell View Luxury Suites(Baddeck)(Great Value!)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveler rating
191
47
10
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
47
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnova scotiagolden doodlecape bretongreen housecabot trailwonderful hostsother guestsyogurtlovely dogbaddeck areabreakfast was buffet styleblueberry pancakesperfect place to stayhighlight of our tripeach morningcomfortable roomthe main house
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 250 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Auld Farm B&B a few weeks ago as we were cycling around the Cabot Trail in Nova Scotia. We arrived in Baddeck after a long day of cycling and we were happy to find a comfortable and clean B&B where we could relax and get cleaned up. As we were cycling and didn't have access to a car we needed transportation to the centre of Baddeck where we were planning to have dinner. The owners kindly offered to drive us to our destination as it was pouring rain outside. We were extremely grateful for this kind gesture!

I would definitely recommend this very comfortable and welcoming B&B in Baddeck!
Thank you again to Jan and Glen for your hospitality!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanVickers, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

A comfy bed is always very welcome after a long day of cycling and we're pleased that we could offer that to you. We firmly believe that hospitality shouldn't necessarily stop at a comfy bed and a hearty breakfast, therefore to let folks cycle into town on a very wet night just to get a meal would not have been a very hospitable thing to do !! We look forward to your return to Baddeck someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

After reading all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor, I was extremely disappointed with Auld Farm Inn B&B. This B&B is some distance outside of Baddeck and the grounds and buildings are well maintained. The rooms are spacious enough and clean, but very plain. The bedding consists of a sheet and a cheap blanket. The towels are very thin and rough.

The common areas (dining area, living room) are a good size and guests can use these areas to watch TV, read, or play games. Tea and instant coffee are always available.

Breakfast was the worst. It is served buffet style which is fine, but the selection is limited to carbohydrates and dairy. No cream is available for coffee. The buffet has cold cereal, toast, stale-looking muffins/cinnamon rolls, and pancakes. A fruit salad of mostly apple and canned fruit as well as small yoghurt containers are the only appetizing items on this B&B.

Given the price, I wish we had stayed in the town of Baddeck rather than out in the country.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EXPL53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanVickers, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for your review, we are obviously saddened that you were not totally satisfied with your stay at Auld Farm. We would like to respond to some of the points that you raised in your review. Firstly, our location is clearly indicated on our website and all of our promotional material states that we are an old farm situated 4 miles from the town of Baddeck.
With regard to the bedding, all of our blankets are sourced from a hospitality supplier, they are hypo-allergenic blankets, to cater for people that may suffer from allergies and they are definitely not cheap. Extra blankets are always available should these blankets not provide adequate warmth. Whenever possible we try to air-dry the towels, this allows us to be as 'eco' aware as possible, however, on occasions Mother Nature blesses us with more sun than wind, which can result in the towels being less soft than if they had been machine dried. We used to use fabric softener; however we ceased that practice due to a good number of guests with sensitivity to it.
With regard to breakfast, every guest is asked if they have any specific dietary needs, both within the confirmation email and upon arrival, at which point we will endeavour to adapt the menu accordingly. If we had been aware that you specifically required protein in the morning, we would have gladly changed the hot dish to accommodate that for you, as we had done on previous occasions for other guests. To vary the menu we alternate daily between a savory and sweet hot dish to accompany the buffet breakfast. On the one day you stayed with us, we had chosen to put blueberry pancakes on the menu. These were freshly made that morning and most certainly wouldn't have been stale. The fruit salad is made daily from eight different fruits, only three of which are tinned. The yoghurts are regular sized containers available from any high street grocery store, we do not limit the number of yoghurts a guest may choose to have. With regard to coffee cream, having wasted upwards of three pints in the preceding weeks due to lack of demand by our guests, it was removed from the buffet. All of the muffins, cinnamon rolls and tea biscuits are home made on a weekly basis and are rotated every two days. The excess baking is frozen on the day it is made and is defrosted overnight in the fridge the night before it is required. We will be revisiting our food rotation policy to ensure that no ‘stale-looking’ food ever makes it to the buffet.
We welcome reviews that highlight potential shortcomings, as this enables us to continue to improve and help maintain the high standard that we strive to achieve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Inn was very clean,Inn Keepers very friendly and helpful. The room was quiet and comfortable....I found the breakfast to be a bit packaged. I will say that this was my first stop at a B&B in Cape Bretton,( on a bike trip) and after going to 4 others it definitely had the best breakfast! Different country, different eating styles!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alynn5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanVickers, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

We're so pleased that we were able to meet your needs with regard to the room and the quietness of the Inn. We had a number of 'first-timers' staying with us this year and we are delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast as much as you did. We are having fun searching for new recipes and ideas for next year's breakfast menu, although Glen says that the best part so far has been the taste testing bit !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I can't say enough good things about our hosts Jan and Glen. My huband and I and a friend stayed at this B&B for 3 nights. I have to say that our hosts went out of their way to see that we had a good time and their advice and reccomendations were spot on. The breakfasts were delicious and I liked the fact that there was tea and coffee available at all times. All of the positive reviews of the rooms and cleanliness are all true. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irene102655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanVickers, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments. We enjoy searching for new places and information to pass on to our guests and indeed learning from our guests, so when people tell us all about their experiences we feel that we have done our job properly. Having been to hotels and B&B's ourselves, we know that having tea and coffee available is important for many people. We are glad that you enjoyed that facility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

As others have noted, our time at Auld Farm Inn couldn't have been more perfect. The spotless, comfortable room, the bountiful breakfast buffet with homemade breads and a hot dish, the quiet of being out-of-town, the birds (and squirrels!) at the feeders, and all else would have made this a wonderful place to stay. But Jan and Glen, the B&B hosts, made it a perfect place to stay. They are knowledgeable, interesting, and genuinely wonderful people whom you wished lived next door to you. They made our four days on Cape Breton a most happy and memorable time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanVickers, Owner at Auld Farm Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

You are very gracious and we are delighted that you were able to come and share our beautiful 'little piece of heaven' this summer. The wildlife around the property certainly offer a lot of entertainment with their antics. The birds have been plentiful this year and the squirrels, chipmunks and other wee beasts have kept us on our toes trying to keep them out of the bird feeders and away from the garden produce !! We will let you know when the house next door comes up for sale ... but then you wouldn't be coming to stay with us for your vacations !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews