We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain and clean with spectacular views”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Baddeck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Ann's Motel & Cottage
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2011

It looks like nothing on the outside, but when you walk into one of the cottages, wow -- the view of Bras D'or Lake from the picture window is amazing! There's even a bald eagle that likes to come by. Right next door is the Lobster Galley restaurant, which has the best steamed lobster I've ever had. St. Ann's is plain and clean and unpretentious -- and a real gem.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Cathrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for St Ann's Motel & Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 125 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed there in May. It is a great spot when you are doing the Cabot Trail. The room was excellent, great view. Unfortunately, the restaurant next door was not open as yet, had to drive about 20 km for dinner. Satellite TV.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Toni_Bill_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

A very nice older motel with a beautiful view of St. Ann's Bay from our room. Motel is located at the hwy junction to the Cabot Trail. Nice restaurant next door. We had a problem connecting to their wireless internet and they worked very hard at getting the problem resolved. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 53chevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We were a group of 3 cyclists and 1 car driver - getting ready to do The Cabot Trail. We chose St. Ann's as our starting point to shorten the last day of cycling (which includes a serious headwind). We couldn't have asked for a better place - we rented the Housekeeping Cottage and one motel room - at the beginning and again at the end of our trip.

The place is immaculately clean, located in a breathtaking location, and Doug was kind enough to accommodate us for a late arrival at the beginning and an early arrival at the end. The Cottage has a deck with table, chairs, and BBQ - the weather was beautiful (and windy) - and we saw a bald eagle flying right in front of our deck!

I would highly recommend St. Ann's Motel to anyone and everyone - Doug was the best and his motel is a great, great bargain - providing everything we needed for a very reasonable price.

If we ever have the opportunity to come back - we'll be staying here for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatieScarlettO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

What a view. Our room and all rooms looked over St annes bay and the mountains. The room is spotless and bright, very well decorated. The grounds are emaculate. New windows, new tile in the bathroom, new carpet, fridge, fan, wireless internet, comfortable bed. Very quiet and relaxing. 10 minutes to Baddeck and 40 minutes to Sydney. You are on the doorstep to the Cabot trail, what a great way to start and end your trip around the trail.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seanmacd99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We arrived here on the northern outskirts of Baddeck late on the 18th of June after a rough start on our honeymoon. Our outbound flight was canceled, forcing three legs and arriving 3 hours late. My luggage did not follow me (though thankfully my wife's did). Then we rolled up the drive of where we had booked -- the Heritage House of the Celtic Retreat and Brigadoon Cottages. Disaster! The place was nasty and riddled with rodent feces. Eating surfaces, chairs, floors, tables, counters -- mouse poop. The place was otherwise just unclean and terribly furnished. There was no view (contrary to expectations) and the road noise was unbearable. The owners of this place are actually American, so we can't fault the wonderful Bretons. My wife was crestfallen, wondering where we'd stay for the next 7 nights.

At the bottom of the hill, at the literal intersection of the cross Canada highway and the start of the Cabot Trail sat a little motel on the southern shore of a beautiful inlet with a 50 mile view across the water out to Cape Smokey. It looked humble, but neat (which pretty much describes all buildings on the Cape).

I went inside and met the owner Doug, and later his fine wife Christine. They patiently and sincerely heard our story and lent me a key to examine one of the their rooms. As Christine would say, it was "clean as a new pin." We booked it immediately for a very far rate. Upon returning with my wife Mary and our things (less my bag!) Doug and Christine surprised us by putting us up in their one bedroom apartment suite, at the same rate! I accepted only after telling him I'd pay a higher rate for the much larger place.

Our suite was a fully apartment stocked with every kitchen item you could imagine, even a crock pot. It had a huge deck and big gas grill. large bedroom and large bathroom. The towels were thicker than what we have at home. The view is unbelieveable (their motto is "A view with a room"). The whole place was immaculate and in the end it still cost less than the horror house we had booked. Like all good things in the modest way of Cape Breton, the appointments and furnishing are simple, but cozy and clean. The location was perfect for us, as we spent time exploring the Cabot Trail, Baddeck and other areas it proved a central location.

Mary and I give St. Ann's Motel & Cottages our highest possible recommendation. Doug and Christine exceeded even my high expectations for Cape Breto hospitality with their kindness, warmth and generosity. I only wish I could claim them as an uncle and aunt. If you are headed up there, call them at 902.295.2876 first. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

The best thing about the St. Ann's is the breathtaking view from each room (each room faces out on St. Ann's Inlet, and is steps away from the water). We stayed one night. The room was immaculate, but simple. No A/C, no in-room phone, no mini-fridge, no breakfast buffet. Nighttime was quiet and peaceful. We slept with the windows open, and didn't hear a thing. If you want peacefulness, nature, and the beauty of the Cabot Trail right outside your window, this is the place. We didn't see the bald eagles when we were there, but saw their photos.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Floydian101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
11.2 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
655 reviews
35.0 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
11.0 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Trailsman Motel
Trailsman Motel
#6 of 7 in Baddeck
200 reviews
12.8 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
126 reviews
10.7 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Ann's Motel & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Ann's Motel & Cottage

Address: 51947 Cabot Trail | RR4, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
St Ann`s Motel & Cottage Hotel Baddeck
St Ann`s Motel And Cottage
St Ann's Motel & Cottage Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing