We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hunter's Mountain Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful four night stay in one of the Hunter's Mountain one bedroom apartments. We arrived much later than expected following a long drive and Roland, one of the owners, was still very welcoming and helpful despite the late hour. He even showed us to our accommodation personally and explained the amenities.

The apartment was clean, well-equipped, and very comfortable. For people with dogs this is an ideal place, as there are lovely trails that got high ratings from our lab mix. Each apartment also has a private, and gated, deck, which is perfect for families with pets.

Other highlights included the beautiful view of meadow and conifers out of the large picture window, well appointed kitchen, and a comfortable bed after a day of exploring the park. There's even an electric fireplace that is pretty lifelike and adds to the cozy atmosphere!

We will certainly be returning and will recommend Hunter's Mountain Chalets.

Room Tip: We stayed in an end apartment which was ideal in terms of privacy. However, all apartments and chale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaisyMaeVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 104 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent three nights at Hunters Chalets. Clean, comfortable and quiet. Attended the local ceilidh that was just wonderful. We were told by the folks operating the Lobster Suppers that there was no lobster to buy. WRONG! We bought four nice sized for $30. Enjoyed every bite. Would surely stay here again

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was a reasonable place for our family to stay while in the Cape Breton area. The 2 bedroom suite we had was very spacious. The bbq worked well. There is no oven, though, so if you plan your menus be aware of that. The beds were comfortable. They were European Kings, which means they are two single mattress/boxspring combinations butted up flush against each other. That worked well for our kids who can't share well. The furniture, as mentioned earlier by someone else, was extremely inexpensively made but we weren't interested in using it anyway. The dining table was large and sturdy and good for games and laptops. The nature trails were nice, both through a meadow and a wooded area: bunchberry; blue bead lilies in seed; etc. It's a fairly long drove to Glace Bay and Louisbourg from here but we went to both on one day. Obviously it's close to the Bell Museum in Baddeck, where we saw an impromptu concert by 30 musicians from the Gaelic college nearby.
The best feature of this location is the price for the large suite with a kitchen, small deck, bbq and two bedrooms.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank BetCrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This place has such a great amount of space around it - beautiful! We went on the Segways and it was so much fun and well guided. It is convenient for the Baddeck area. Bring some supplies like coffee and you'll be set, although it isn't far into Baddeck for a supermarket.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank misha184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is in a secluded location with beautiful big grassland view. The cottages are big and clean with basic necessity. We had a good one night stay here while we are on the way to Cape Brenton. Would have given it five stars if the hotel manager has not mentioned that he preferred us to clean the dishes... Isn't that supposed to be covered by the fee?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spicykit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Hunter's Mountain Chalets, it was Very pleasant, the room was very clean,the beds were comfy the room was fully equipped.
Overall I give the place 5 Stars ★★★★★
It was excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank giliat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent two nights at Hunter's Mountain Chalets while driving the Cabot Trail. The location is right at the base of the trail so the location is very convenient. Here's the thing: the place is clean, the people were lovely, and you get an entire apartment instead of a room for the night. I think travelers are hesitant to criticize well-run family places and so am I. However, for the sake of having all the information I will say that if you are used to the amenities of a hotel you may want to stay at one in the town of Baddeck. The decor here is "grandma's house" as are the bed linens. There are very few TV stations and reception for both TV and WiFi is spotty. There is no air conditioning. Whether or not Hunter's Mountain is for you completely depends on your personal preferences but you should make an informed choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bubbletone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
5.2 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
675 reviews
5.6 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
348 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Adventures East Cottages
Adventures East Cottages
#5 of 11 in Baddeck
26 reviews
5.9 mi away
Auld Farm Inn B & B
Auld Farm Inn B & B
#2 of 17 in Baddeck
250 reviews
5.8 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#7 of 17 in Baddeck
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter's Mountain Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter's Mountain Chalets

Address: 562 Cabot Trail | R.r. #3, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Baddeck
Price Range: $100 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunter's Mountain Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hunter's Mountain Chalets offers 12 1- and 2-Bdrm. housekeeping cottages and apartments; all with king bed, 4-pc. bathroom, spacious living and dining room and kitchen. Centrally located on Cape Breton Island, your ideal headquarters for your daily trips around Cape Breton Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hunter's Mountain Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter's Mountain Chalets Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing