We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright, clean and comfortable”
Review of The Worn Doorstep

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baddeck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Worn Doorstep
Ranked #7 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Danbury, CT
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Bright, clean and comfortable”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a pleasant surprise to spend a few nights at the Worn Doorstep. The light housekeeping unit was spacious, beautifully decorated, with a new bath and huge walk-in shower. The bed and pillows were perfect and so comfortable which is most unusual in a rental unit. Of all the places we've stayed at in Baddeck over many years, this one was the best! Gina and Willie are such gracious hosts and go out of their way to make one's stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
45
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bronxville, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Worn Doorstep offered quiet, immaculately clean, spacious and comfortable accommodation during our short stay in Baddeck earlier this month. The owners, Willie and Gina, are lovely people and were also very helpful in offering tips for things to see and places to eat locally in Baddeck and also along the Cabot Trail.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Susan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our stay could not have been better. The accommodations are roomy, clean, comfortable and within walking distance of everything in Baddeck. Willie and Gina are the best! They are extremely warm and friendly hosts, with great tips for traveling the Cabot Trail and the town of Baddeck. Our room was spotless included a sitting area, sink, refrigerator, comfortable bed and easy access. We would definitely stay again if in Baddeck area.. Great Ceilidhs each night in town just down the road in July and August.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDL15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Willie and Gina are just the warmest and best hosts. They go the extra mile in helping with any extras (offering us secure parking when we were away cycling the Cabot Trail). They offer not-a-speck-of-dust anywhere accommodation which is roomy, self contained for ease of coming and going, the comfiest beds, lovely bed linens too. There is also a roof top area with garden furniture which we enjoyed for drinks on the lovely summer evenings. Perfect to be able to walk into town ( 5 minutes) or through their garden to Gisele's for dinner.We stayed twice with them on our trip, in different accommodation units and have nothing except the highest praise. Truly impossible to beat on all fronts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrekkingWhiteTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Despite having no reservation (our mistake) Willie and Gina welcomed us. We discovered the next day we had booked a different B&B but written The Worn Doorstep in our itinerary. The location was perfect - an easy walk to downtown. The suite was modern and very clean and we looked forward to preparing our own simple breakfasts and lunches after being on the road for some time. Our only regret is we were only able to spend one night there instead of three!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We wanted: 1. Great location, preferably with a view 2. Privacy and independence 3. A well equipped space with new, sparkling-clean facilities.

We did not want: 1. A big breakfast. 2. Enforced conviviality with strangers 3. A fussy decor.

Worn Doorstep was perfect for us:

We had a huge space on the ground floor, with separate sitting area, private outdoor deck and access to a roof deck. It was immaculate, esp. the large bathroom. There were other guests but we never saw them. We had an efficient kitchenette area, well equipped: we used it only to store milk for breakfast and wine for evenings.

Negatives? Tiny quibbles only:
One morning I heard car traffic nearby, around 6:30 AM.
The 3 skylights in the sitting area do let in a lot of morning light.

The hosts are the soul of kindness and warmth. Compared to the rather high prices charged elsewhere in Baddeck at inns that often get rather mixed reviews, we felt there really is no contest: This is clearly the best value for money in Baddeck.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeitherStr8NorNarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Willie and Gina are your hosts and extremely friendly, welcoming and knowledgable about the area. The accommodations are all you need. They have wonderful decks to sit out on and enjoy the view of Bras D'or Lake. Baddeck is just steps aways. Just park your car and walk to town.

If you can, be sure to catch a Ceilidh hosted by Nancy at a local hall. Get there around 6pm to book your seats!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
0.4 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
632 reviews
0.2 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#8 of 17 in Baddeck
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dunlop Inn
The Dunlop Inn
#4 of 17 in Baddeck
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynwood Inn
Lynwood Inn
#9 of 17 in Baddeck
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Worn Doorstep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worn Doorstep

Property: The Worn Doorstep
Address: 43 Old Margaree Rd, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Worn Doorstep Hotel Baddeck
The Worn Doorstep Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing