We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Worn Doorstep
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Baddeck
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Dart Lodge(Baddeck)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MacNeil House(Baddeck)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aberdeen Motel(Whycocomagh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fair Isle Motel(Whycocomagh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Margaree Riverview Inn(Margaree Forks)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
70
9
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
9
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplace to staycabot traila small kitchen areawonderful hostsweek vacationgreat tipsfelt like homethe lower levelpleasant staynova scotiastayed longerbaddeck lobster suppersconvenient locationginaaccommodationunitroomy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 84 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful stay. My husband and I stayed in the street level unit, and we found it perfect for our 2 night stay. The location is an easy walk to the 'downtown", convenience store and the famous Baddeck lobster suppers. We had on our trip my brother, his wife ( who challenged us to WOW her) and my 15yr old nephew. They stayed below us in the 2 bed unit with pocket doors separating him from their snoring! Thoroughly enjoy the accommodations and the hosts. Found Willie to be a gracious and accommodating host , prices very reasonable for a family and location- well what can I say it's Cape Breton!!
Thank you
PS I think we WOW'ed Pam

Room Tip: Just tell Will what you need and he will steer you in the right direction.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank collinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed @ The Worn Doorstep in Aug 2012 and I cannot say enough good things about Willie & Gina and the accommodation. The hospitatility was the greatest that we experienced during our 2 week vacation. Willie & Gina made us feel like we were part of their family and right at home. We had the main level unit which was amazing and very spacious. In the evening we got to relax either on our own private deck or at the top level which gave you an amazing view of the Bras D'Or lakes. We would highly recommend this accommodation for your next visit to Baddeck.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katstab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was one of the nicest welcomes we ever received on all of our travels. Gina and Willie seemed genuinely pleased to see us. After a bit of a chat Willie showed us to our rooms and we were really impressed.
Our friend stayed in unit 1 on street level. This is a huge room which has been adapted to wheelchair needs. This earns the Worn Doorstep extra points!
Hubby and I stayed in unit 4 on the lower level. Again, this is a huge room with a king-size, extremely comfortable bed, lots of storage room, nice furniture, TV, a kitchenette with microwave, toaster, kettle, coffee machine (some coffee had been provided), cutlery, crockery, glasses etc. The bathroom has a whirlpool bath. Toiletries and hairdryer were available. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Outside there are a table and two chairs per unit. You can also sit up there on the large rooftop area with its beautiful views.
Willie was very helpful with tips about the Cabot Trail and his sheer good humour and wit made us feel so welcome. I am not surprised at the good reviews on Trip Advisor. Gina and Willie truly deserve them.
I can wholeheartedly recommend the Worn Doorstep!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clauds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We booked our stay here almost by accident and wish we weren't staying just for the night. Gina and Willie have created a truly comfortable and luxurious stay for all travelers. Multi-level deck overlooking the Bras D'Or Lake is breathtaking and you'll fall soundly asleep as soon as your head hits the pillow in the lovely suite. Thank you so much, guys!! Hope to be back again soon!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank greeneyedgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at The Worn Doorstep for 3 nights. Rooms are well-furnished, comfortable and airy, spacious and fully equipped for self-catering - nothing is missing. We had two rooms opening onto a verandah with tables and chairs and the sunset was thrown in for free.

Baddeck is small and you can walk everywhere from the Worn Doorstep. Willi and Gina are long-term residents and are expert on Cape Breton Island. They helped us considerably with our itineraries. Be prepared for lots of local anecdotes.

We note that the plumbing is audible from one room to another - but this is a triviality when everything else is so delightful. There may be better guest houses in Baddeck but the WD exceeds all requirements and is outstanding value.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank LilAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews