We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely perfect”
Review of Broadwater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Broadwater Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“absolutely perfect”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

had a lovely romantic stay in the garden shed! sounds a bit silly but it couldn't have been better. the place is a true getaway with not only a hot tub on your front step but the bras d'or lakes too! it's not too from from downtown beautiful baddeck and right next door to bell bay golf. thanks for making the reservation happen, john, it was greatly appreciated!

Room Tip: bring groceries/bbq food and make the most of your time at this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carmenvandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    64
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
45
202
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were made to feel very welcome on arrival, even though we hadn't booked. John the innkeeper invited us to look at the cottages we asked about. We only needed 1 bedroom, but we're offered a 2 bedroom cottage for the same price. It was very nice and met all our needs. We also looked at a room named 'bay' in the house, which was stunning with stunning views and great history. We took the room, which also had its own private bathroom. Within the house was a comfy lounge area to use as well. We only stayed 1 night, but for a treat or if you are staying a little longer the room opposite the bay which I think is called the library is exquisite!

Breakfast was great, and it was good to talk to the other guests and swop stories. Coffee very good and frequently kept topped up. Fresh fruit was the best I have had, with lovely yoghurt and granola. Cereal was available, toast was very yummy, and so was the preserve! The homemade breakfast cake was good too, so was the ham and eggs! Couldn't fault breakfast, very good.

Fantastic stay one of the best within our 3 week trip and we have stayed in a lot of places, somewhere every night. Would love to return one day! Johns a great host and great to talk too.

You must go and stay! And the Alexander graham bell museum is worth a visit ( I don't normally do museums)
Ps John - we found marks wear house and got the dungarees . Thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: Discuss your need with innkeeper he's very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank divingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We loved the cabin we stayed in for a couple nights. Everything we needed was on hand, and the staff went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable. When the inn realized we were traveling with our dog, they were more than accommodating. We had ample space to walk him. The cottage had a beautiful deck with a great view of the water. We would definitely stay there again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Krista C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

very pretty setting along the shore of Bras d'Or lake about 1 mile out of Baddeck. The cabin was really a big hotel room with a kitchen, bath and small deck with Adirondack chairs & BBQ. Very modern and well appointed. Comfortable bed. Satellite reception was intermittent on the TV as was the internet. Welcome was somewhat casual but a pleasant enough place to stay.

Room Tip: the cabin was nestled at the back of the property so very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MajaMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellville, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The location and home was very nice. We stayed in the library upstairs and it was very nice. Where I have taken points off is in the hospitality and food. There was no hospitality to comment on and there was not enough food to call it breakfast. When I asked the owner for a cup of coffee ,he said it would take 10 minutes to make and only if someone else would have a cup with me. I also had to ask for a piece of toast as there was none offered to me. He was very busy at impressing all of us with conversation instead of feeding us. I thought that is why they call it a bed and breakfast. It appeared to me that the owner ,John was tired with the whole bed and breakfast thing and has given up on the hospitality business.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeBretonMusic, Owner at Broadwater Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
The reviewer got 24 hr drive through and B&B mixed up. We serve B&B Breakfast one sitting at 8:00 to facilitate the five couples and have a fun ,social and nourishing breakfast. Upon completion by the participants ( some folks sleep in , they have the choice) I gather up and clear the breakfast area.If you drift in an hour late you could be alone in a stripped dining room. In this instance I was directing my happy B&B Breakfast guests out the door. The reviewer clanged the coffee cup (which I actually filled upon her sitting) I told her no problem for coffee but my commercial machine would take 10 minutes and makes a half gallon.She didn`t seem interested in the breakfast to begin with , more in a brunch, which I don`t serve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

As other reviewers noted, the highlight of this B&B is John, the innkeeper. He has incredible knowledge of Nova Scotia's history and won't steer you wrong when it comes to activity recommendations. The Inn is well-kept and thoughtfully decorated, with a story behind every book and painting. Our room didn't have AC but was well ventilated when all the windows were open. The Wi-Fi signal appeared to be much stronger in the main common areas than in the individual guest rooms.
While the Inn is just about a mile from the middle of Baddeck, unfortunately it's not easily walkable. We expected to walk to/from Baddeck but there are no sidewalks or street lights, and the road has a very slim shoulder once you leave the city. Not a deal breaker, but just worth noting for anyone inclined to walk instead of drive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjel317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights recently - rented the "Gardener's Shed" because we wanted to be able to spread out a little and have some privacy and make our own breakfast. We got much more than we hoped for. The "Shed" is actually a small house -- bedroom, huge bathroom and a great room with living, dining area and perfectly adequate kitchen. So quiet and comfortable, and after a week in cramped B&B quarters at other places, it was just wonderful to have this luxury of space. Didn't use the hot tub (private) but it was immaculate. Really good, clean, easy to use grill. There's something about the bed and bedroom -- we both slept straight through the night every night with nothing but pleasant dreams.
What really made made the experience most memorable was the owner and staff. Dorothy and the other cleaning staff were genuinely concerned that we had everything we wanted, and John -- well I could go on and on -- but let's just say that when I asked for local JP's address because we had an appointment with him (we were getting married!) he immediately offered use of the inn's grounds so we wouldn't have to get married in the JP's basement! John gave the lawns an extra mowing, suggested a great spot for us to use for the ceremony, and in the end he acted as one of our witnesses and he and one of the staff took excellent pictures using John's and our cameras -- all for no extra charge. We are a gay couple, and I assume the people running this place are straight -- but they could not have made us feel more welcome or comfortable. This place sums up the best of Nova Scotia. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stay in the main inn if you want breakfast, get a cottage if you want extra privacy and make your ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tucsontravelertom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
2.1 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
632 reviews
1.9 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
652 reviews
1.6 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#7 of 17 in Baddeck
103 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
117 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Dunlop Inn
The Dunlop Inn
#4 of 17 in Baddeck
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadwater Inn

Property: Broadwater Inn
Address: 975 Bay Rd., Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadwater Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Cape Breton Homestead in quiet setting along Baddeck Bay one and half mile east of village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Broadwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadwater Hotel Baddeck
Broadwater Inn Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing