We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalets in out of town location - not walkable”
Review of Broadwater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Broadwater Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Duplex style chalets with fridge/microwave and stove top facilities in a good lake view location sitiuated close to the Alexander Graham Bell museum (a must see); balcony with a BBQ too. Quite large units which were quite well appointed; comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VANDICARLTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Broadwater Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 303 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2011

Arrived in Baddeck, very excited for our family trip to begin.
John the Inn keeper was a bit rude and not very professional.
Clean rooms but we didn't feel welcomed and since it was such a small Inn - we booked purposely to feel a good local connection.
None was made. Big disappointment for our family.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthernStar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We can not say enough positive for our first time experiencing B&B's. The breakfast, fresh and hot, the rooms clean and calming and the Inn Keeper, John, well he shared alot of history of Baddeck and of course about the Inn. To pictures, books and stories, we sat and listened the first morning for almost an 1hour. John didn't rush us and was patient with all our questions.

Recommend this place, 100% YES!

Thanks again John we miss the place already.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DandBKur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

This is an OLD home. If you stay here, you need to be OK with old home features--original plank flooring that is a bit uneven, small steep stairs. These things are charming and authentic....this is not a Holiday Inn.

But most folks who choose the bed and breakfast experience are actively seeking authenticity and adventure. We do, and after giggling about the stairs and the floor, we looked out at one of the best views on the island of the Bras d'Or lake. We have several incredible photographs of foggy mornings on the lake from Inn views that are works of art.

During Celtic Colours, traditional Cape Breton music can be heard all over the island. Here at the Broadwater, we were settling down for the evening, and a REAL celtic jam session started up in the living room below our room. Two fiddles, two keyboards, an accordion...some spoons for good measure; the whole house was alive with the music!!
I sat on the top of those "steep stairs" in awe of this incredible experience...and was invited right into the middle of it. This was the best part of our vacation and is simply unforgettable. This kind of experience simply doesn't happen at your cookie-cutter Holiday Inns...!

I would absolutely stay here again. I loved John the Innkeeper. He is an authentic Cape Breton experience as well. He has strong opinions about his beloved island and does not hesitate to share them--and that was fine with me too. He made us feel at home each morning but gave us our privacy as well.

I also have to give kudos to the town of Baddeck for providing free bus transportation to the Festival Club at the Gaelic College during the Celtic Colours festival. That bus stops right and the end of the driveway--you don't have to worry about driving safety if you wan't to have a couple beers at each night's festivities. What a wonderful, thoughful thing to do!

I think it boils down to thinking through what you want. Don't stay here if you want it to feel like every other Holiday Inn you've ever been in. The Broadwater is authentic Cape Breton and is unique and charming in every respect.. Have an adventure! Carpe Diem!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SuzanneZaNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

From the friendly hospitality of owner/innkeeper John Pino and his staff to the comfortable and clean accommodations, the Broadwater is truly a great place to stay. John combines a tasty, social breakfast with engaging humor and excellent advice regarding area attractions. The view of the water is terrific. We stayed for several nights, in the inn for part of our visit and in a cottage after that, and both were very clean and comfortable. We plan to book very early for next year. Our stay at the Broadwater was a very enjoyable part of our Cape Breton vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank celticcoloursfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed with another couple - friends we were travelling with- in the Verandah Suite. The unit is self contained but because we arrived so late we were invited to join the rest of the guests for breakfast next morning. Breakfast was very good, hot and cold selections with buffet serving so that we could exercise portion control.
The Verandah suite is very functionally equipped as a stand alone unit. the bedrooms are more than adequate, the bathroom is shared and the living area seats 4 comfortably. The only negative would be the cooking facilities - very basic. A microwave, a toaster and a hot plate. On the upside, the large screen TV with satellite was a wonderful piece of furniture to a starving sports fan on a long holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AJWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The Broadwater Inn overlooks the Bras D'Or lakes and set in nice gardens. Room we had was superb and the house has some great little quirky features. Near to the Alexander Graham Bell museum which is well worth a look round.
Only slight difference from the website details is that it is 2.4 kilometres from the edge of Baddeck, but quite easily walkable at night if you fancy a glass of wine with your meal.

Bell Buoy restaurant is nearest and we had some great fish dishes.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snorkeller54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
2.1 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
655 reviews
1.9 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
669 reviews
1.8 mi away
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Auld Farm Inn B & B
Auld Farm Inn B & B
#2 of 17 in Baddeck
245 reviews
1.6 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
334 reviews
1.4 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#8 of 17 in Baddeck
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadwater Inn

Address: 975 Bay Rd., Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range: $139 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadwater Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Cape Breton Homestead in quiet setting along Baddeck Bay one and half mile east of village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Broadwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadwater Hotel Baddeck
Broadwater Inn Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing