We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh well....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Halifax, NS
1 review
“Oh well....”
Reviewed October 10, 2009

The people are kind and the check in is friendly, efficient and professional with a down home comfort...all good. The rooms are as described which is, for all intents and purposes, pretty dated, though clean and amble, comfortable.

For us, where everything fell apart was the restaurant. Oh my...where to begin.
Clearly our waitress was the least experienced. The restaurant was not busy at the time of our dining, but they were expecting a large group or two later. So, perhaps they were distracted.

There will be a few things I note which I would comfortably overlook if the 'big ticket' issues did not exist. But compounded, should be mentioned.

Our waitress approached not noting, what we heard from other waitresses, were the specials. We regretted that as they sounded quite nice. We asked about some of the main course menu items and she was clearly winging many replies, which we let slide accept at the time of ordering, when we emphasized our questions and order expectations.

Hyperbole seems to rule their menu. The risotto based dish was served without risotto and replaced with noodles. Our waitress was unable to explain which is a little off, but worse, was unable to make the decision to return it to the kitchen or at least inquire as to the reason. We nudged her in the right direction and she came back quite late offering to replace it.

As they should. My wife decided to finish it off since she had made some in-grounds and the taste was quite decent.

Their menu notes that the salmon is a " generous center cut ". . My son and I both ordered it. My son's serving was demolished while eating at only a moderate pace, within 2 minutes. Mine was equally puny, and was , oddly unlike my son's, terribly undercooked.

I love salmon and wanted to savour it, so asked that they handle it. Because this restaurant emphasizes their " European trained : head chef, one might expect a little more than a micro waved heated returned portion. Completely dried, intensely hot ( heat was not my issue ) and the sauce curdled !

They did not remove the sauce and apply some fresh sauce after the unfortunate micro waving. Really weak.

A few other issues entertained us...sort of, until desert time. My son anted vanilla ice cream. Turned out to be a complicated request for our original server. A second and then a third server came over to explain that they had no chocolate sauce for the ice cream even though that was never a request.

Somehow, someway, the single scoop bowl of ice cream became an issue of conversation and debate, not in the kitchen, but next to the bar area. They did manage to figure it out and eventually brought that to my son.

My desert was nice. As described.

So, part of the problem was in training. But a much larger part of the problem was in food preparation and quality.

Likable people, but we won't return to the restaurant at least. The other aspects of the Inn were adequate. I'd be more complimentary but for...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wave99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    64
    33
    10
    3
See reviews for
32
94
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

We were staying elsewhere in Baddeck and we had two dinners in this restaurant ,so if you want something much better than 'tourist' food in pleasant surroundings with attentive service then I can thoroughly recommend the Auberge Gisele's restaurant.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dp91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Yes, I'm a senior but this place kept reminding me over and over. The decor is just too old -- over due for a fresh new look. Even we old-timers would like to see something fresher.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ontario60schick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Gisele’sAuberge Inn is a large property just down the road from the center of Baddek with a restaurant and several 2 story wings of motel rooms, off the road with pretty gardens. Although clean, comfortable, and bright, the décor is extremely old fashioned. The staff was pleasant. We didn't eat here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynedd, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

We wound up here quite by accident-- we'd booked a room at Lynwood Inn and they didn't have the reservation when we arrived. They were extremely regretful, phoned all over, and found us a room at Gisele's, which was basically around the corner. We couldn't have been happier-- after seeing Lynwood, which overlooked the parking lot and the main road, we were delighted with Gisele's. Our room was large, quite attractively decorated and had all the amenities. There's a very nice terrace with a pleasant view in front of the main section, with tables and chairs, and a restaurant that served better-than-usual-in-Baddeck food. The staff here were all very pleasant, and the location quite central. And the price was excellent!

  • Liked — I liked it all
  • Disliked — No complaints at all
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaygee38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2008

I have read the reviews and they are outdated.

I stayed there a couple of months ago and they must of changed the staff. The front desk was not chatty, but helpful when asked a question.

The rooms are wonderful and the food was excellent. We had two seperate meals with our family and ordered many things off the menu. Everything we had was wonderful. Lobster, salmon, Cape Breton lamb is a must try. Oysters and their soups are excelent (wild mushroom, lobster bisque).

Large portions, one night the four of us tried and shared a dessert.

Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Rooms and food
  • Disliked — front desk people more warming.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank enforcer6717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

We were a group of 6 adults and had been traveling around Nova Scotia. We were tried and had walked in the rain to get to this restaurant. But all that was quickly forgotten. We all ordered different things but all raved that it was some of the best food we had found on the whole trip even tho we found several other good restaurants. My husband particularly loves Bouillebase and said that this was the best he ever had! The atomsphere was better than expected and the service very good.

Helpful?
Thank merh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
0.3 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
652 reviews
0.4 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#7 of 17 in Baddeck
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynwood Inn
Lynwood Inn
#9 of 17 in Baddeck
189 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Gisele's Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Gisele's Country Inn

Property: Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
Address: 387 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Gisele's Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 4* accommodation in Baddeck overlooking the Bras d’Or Lakes and walking distance to most attractions. Offering the perfect blend of "home away from home" with comfort and convenience, personalized service over 30 years. 78 deluxe air-conditioned rooms, coffee machines, laundromat on property, elevator, complimentary parking, wireless, complimentary guest computer and morning newspapers. Award winning licensed dining room with friendly table service. Open mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Gisele's Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Gisele`s Country Hotel Baddeck
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing