We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable Inn in Canadian Village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Ohio
Level Contributor
412 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable Inn in Canadian Village”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

An independent family-operated inn in a small, historic bay-side community; an exceptionally tidy,comfortable inn operated as a large motel. Rooms were comfortable and pleasant with usual amenities. Located in a small village that has a wonderful and well-managed museum. A variety of pleasant and affordable restaurants are in the small downtown. The restaurant at the Inn was adequate and not very expensive. Its best feature was the breakfast that included pancakes with a local fruit syrup.

Room Tip: Try to get a unit that looks out on te frontlawn or the inlet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    57
    29
    9
    3
See reviews for
30
87
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Two days with Caravan Tours. A lovely place in a charming village. The restaurant is surperb. The only downside...no wi-fi in room 212. They said they were "awaiting parts", not a good sign. It does work in the lobby.

Room Tip: Insist on working wi-fi and test it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intlpvti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giseles_Inn, Manager at Auberge Gisele's Country Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. We are all so glad to hear that you enjoyed our property, and our dining room. The village of Baddeck is a wonderful place to visit and explore during a CApe Breton adventure.
We would like to apologize for the wi-fi issues we have had. The technicians have been in and worked on our system, and signal strength has been improved just in the past few days. The hardware we have ordered should be here this week and the technicians will be back to install it. Our Guest Computer has been a valuable asset for us while we work with our supplier to iron out the wireless signal issues.
We hope to see you again sometime, and are so happy you had an enjoyable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed two nights here in early June as we explored Cape Breton. The room we had was a deluxe room and it was very nice and obviously recently redone. We had both dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and found the service and the food to be great and the staff are very pleasant. If you go to Baddeck be sure to check out the Alexander Graham Bell museum!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Treylya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giseles_Inn, Manager at Auberge Gisele's Country Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Thanks so much for your kind words. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here in Baddeck. Alexander Graham Bell was indeed a fascinating man, and we are so proud that he was a member of this community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed here with a tour group, Grand Circle Travel, so can't talk about cost as it was part of the tour... but this has got to be one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in and I've stayed in many dozens over the years. When we arrived, some employees were handwashing the siding on one of the buildings! The rooms were darling and quiet. The breakfast at the little restaurant on-site was very good and the staff very efficient. The grounds are lovely and it is a short stroll into the town.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Califaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giseles_Inn, Manager at Auberge Gisele's Country Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We have passed your kind words on to the fabulous housekeeping staff, and you have made their day. The staff loves what they do, and it does show in the care that take in their job.
Thank you for the lovely pictures you have posted, and thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again sometime here in Baddeck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
124 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

While traveling with a group, we spent 2 nights at Gisele's. While some may consider it outdated, we found it charming. The rooms were clean, large with coffee/tea service and the hotel offers laundry facilities. The property is beautiful and it is an easy walk to the main street in Baddeck. There is a computer for guest usage. We were amazed at the organization of the dining staff in presenting our breakfast quite quickly even though each was made to order from a short menu - no buffet. Our dinner was also delicious. We fell in love with Baddeck, and should we return, we will try and stay at Auberge Gisele's Inn. The hostess/owner was also very kind and gracious.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyplayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar, B.C.,
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2009

The location is central in Baddeck. The parking was great. The service was ok. It was great that laundry was available at the hotel. We enjoyed our stay but would most likely look a bit harder for something next time. We had hoped for a quaint charming place but found out it was more of a hotel/motel instead. The hot tub was not working either. Oh well!! We made the best of it anyways.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpopoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2009

The people are kind and the check in is friendly, efficient and professional with a down home comfort...all good. The rooms are as described which is, for all intents and purposes, pretty dated, though clean and amble, comfortable.

For us, where everything fell apart was the restaurant. Oh my...where to begin.
Clearly our waitress was the least experienced. The restaurant was not busy at the time of our dining, but they were expecting a large group or two later. So, perhaps they were distracted.

There will be a few things I note which I would comfortably overlook if the 'big ticket' issues did not exist. But compounded, should be mentioned.

Our waitress approached not noting, what we heard from other waitresses, were the specials. We regretted that as they sounded quite nice. We asked about some of the main course menu items and she was clearly winging many replies, which we let slide accept at the time of ordering, when we emphasized our questions and order expectations.

Hyperbole seems to rule their menu. The risotto based dish was served without risotto and replaced with noodles. Our waitress was unable to explain which is a little off, but worse, was unable to make the decision to return it to the kitchen or at least inquire as to the reason. We nudged her in the right direction and she came back quite late offering to replace it.

As they should. My wife decided to finish it off since she had made some in-grounds and the taste was quite decent.

Their menu notes that the salmon is a " generous center cut ". . My son and I both ordered it. My son's serving was demolished while eating at only a moderate pace, within 2 minutes. Mine was equally puny, and was , oddly unlike my son's, terribly undercooked.

I love salmon and wanted to savour it, so asked that they handle it. Because this restaurant emphasizes their " European trained : head chef, one might expect a little more than a micro waved heated returned portion. Completely dried, intensely hot ( heat was not my issue ) and the sauce curdled !

They did not remove the sauce and apply some fresh sauce after the unfortunate micro waving. Really weak.

A few other issues entertained us...sort of, until desert time. My son anted vanilla ice cream. Turned out to be a complicated request for our original server. A second and then a third server came over to explain that they had no chocolate sauce for the ice cream even though that was never a request.

Somehow, someway, the single scoop bowl of ice cream became an issue of conversation and debate, not in the kitchen, but next to the bar area. They did manage to figure it out and eventually brought that to my son.

My desert was nice. As described.

So, part of the problem was in training. But a much larger part of the problem was in food preparation and quality.

Likable people, but we won't return to the restaurant at least. The other aspects of the Inn were adequate. I'd be more complimentary but for...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wave99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
0.3 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#8 of 17 in Baddeck
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
612 reviews
1.8 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auld Farm Inn B & B
Auld Farm Inn B & B
#2 of 17 in Baddeck
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Gisele's Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Gisele's Country Inn

Property: Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
Address: 387 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Gisele's Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 4* accommodation in Baddeck overlooking the Bras d’Or Lakes and walking distance to most attractions. Offering the perfect blend of "home away from home" with comfort and convenience, personalized service over 30 years. 78 deluxe air-conditioned rooms, coffee machines, laundromat on property, elevator, complimentary parking, wireless, complimentary guest computer and morning newspapers. Award winning licensed dining room with friendly table service. Open mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Gisele's Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Gisele`s Country Hotel Baddeck
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing