We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”
Review of Silver Dart Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Dart Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2009

After travelling the Cabot Trail all day, I was pleasantly surprised to arrive at the Silver Dart Lodge. The staff were great, and our room overlooked the water. The room was an excellent size, comfortable beds and very clean. We even had a door to the outside, where we could sit outside the room overlooking the water. There is an outdoor pool, a walking trail along the water, and there is even the free usage of bicycles if you would like to ride into the main strip which is very close. There was two free computers to use in the main lodge area, which was great because our computer was broken! Other hotels/motels along the Cabot Trail were very 'no-frills' basic places, however the Silver Dart Lodge was a great accomodation for its price.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sjmg2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
There are newer reviews for Silver Dart Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 655 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2009

We stayed in this hotel during our July 2009 trip to Cape Breton. I thought it was overpriced for what we got. This hotel is in need of a spruce up. The beds were comfortable and the room suited our needs but it just seemed a little tired and there was a funny smell in the hallways. I was disappointed with the temperature of the pool -way to cold. The restaurant staff needs a shake-up. One night we ordered dinner and waited about 40 minutes for our meal. Our waitress only said something to us when we asked. The same thing happened at breakfast the next day - how long can it take to make eggs. If you are there when a tourist bus comes in you can take advantage of the buffet breakfast which they only make when a bus comes in. Otherwise the view is very nice and the check-in staff are friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doodle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

The Silver Dart Motel was very relaxing and inviting. We had a nice stay and then ate breakfast in the dining room in the morning. The staff was kind and made you feel welcome. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skylar140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2008

I would have a problem with how old and beat up this hotel, if it weren't so cheap and the service wasn't so great. The views are great and the restaurant is pretty classy, but the room is quite underwhelming. As soon as we opened the door, we were hit with a musty old newspaper smell among the dated furniture, worn carpet and less than stellar housekeeping. But you get a free shirt and hat at the end, so it's not all bad.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oilersesksfalcons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Adequate room, adequate breakfast, decent service from a helpful front desk. The lake views are over-emphasised in their website/brochure, but its easy enough to drive 5 minutes to Baddeck's "centre" for totally uninterrupted viewpoints. Overall a somwhat unmemorable stay, and the place is at atmosphere- free zone. But nothing bad here, and fine for a night which is what most people will want in Baddeck.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2008

Great place a good 20 min walk into town that is fairly provincial with no major shops. There are plenty of places to eat and the pizza shop is VERY GOOD.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jimbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

The hotel is located on a gentle hill overlooking the water. The view is wonderful. It is only a short drive into the town of Baddeck where there are several shops and restaurants. The harbour is a nice place to take a stroll. Baddecks's claim to fame is the famed flight of the Silver Dart and the resting site of Alexander Graham Bell. Parks Canada has an interesting site on him to visit.
Our room was a good size. The furnishings are getting worn. The bed was very comfortable.The rooms have a balcony or deck upon which you can sit and enjoy the views. The walls are very thin. We could hear the conversations of the people next door to us and that made us uncomfortable and led us to speak very quietly ourselves.
The hotel offers laundry facilities and an outdoor pool.
We booked a package and received 2 breakfast vouchers as well as a T-shirt and baseball cap. We ate our breakfasts at the restaurant and one dinner there. The food was just OK. We also dined in town and had what we thought was tastier food there.
The entertainment which we had looked forward to was a fellow with a guitar singing and playing a few tunes. Once again, he was just OK. He was supposed to begin at 6 pm but did not start until 6:30. The one set we heard was of a short duration.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manitobans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
27.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
45.2 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.3 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
5.7 mi away
Trailsman Motel
Trailsman Motel
#6 of 7 in Baddeck
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Dart Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Dart Lodge

Address: 257 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range: $142 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Dart Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacNeil House is located in beautiful Baddeck on Cape Breton Island, sharing a 90-acre property with the Silver Dart Lodge. Whether you want to sit and relax on our observation deck while taking in the beautiful scenery and gorgeous view of the Bras d'Or Lakes or get active and take a hike on the walking trails, kayak on the lakes, or take part in our Cabot Trail Treasure Hunt, our goal is to help you build a better Cape Breton vacation. Relax, unwind and let our knowledgeable staff guide your Cape Breton adventure, the perfect starting point for your Cabot Trail experience. Our Taste of Nova Scotia approved restaurant, McCurdy's Dining Room includes a lounge area and patio. Enjoy your afternoons and evenings with our heated swimming pool, private waterfront, and forested nature trails. Variety of hotel rooms and chalets, open mid-May to mid-October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Dart Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Dart Hotel Baddeck
Silver Dart Baddeck
Silver Dart Lodge Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing