We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Silver Dart Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Dart Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Certificate of Excellence
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We wanted to tour the Cabot Trail in the northern part of Cape Breton, Nova Scotia and selected this hotel due to the location which is close to the start and finish of the Cabot Trail. The hotel is situated on a large well-maintained property overlooking the water. We had a half-chalet accomodation that was very nice, clean, and had 2 comfortable beds. A hot/cold buffet breakfast was included and was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 492JohnM492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Silver Dart Lodge. I was pleased you enjoyed the property and felt comfortable during your stay. Our property is certainly well located for touring the Cabot Trail and I hope you will visit with us on your next visit to Baddeck and Cabot Trail Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    256
    85
    26
    6
See reviews for
143
320
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our two night stay at the Silver Dart. We were very tired after a long trip and felt very welcomed and cared for. We stayed in the East Lodge. The views of the lake are wonderful. Had a nice balcony that we could sit on. The room is a bit dated but includes everything you could possibly need and the wifi is outstanding which was important to me They included breakfast for us as a special they had that day. It was very tasty and made our morning convenient. Had dinner there one evening which was also very good. Excellent service. Just a very comfortable experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bevmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay at our property. I was so pleased to hear how well taken care of you felt during your visit. The view of the Lake is fantastic and worth coming back for... Hope to see you next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at the Silver Dart. It was good value for money, and the deck had a great view. No wine glasses in the room! What is it with Canadian hotels? Lovely furniture and bathroom though. The restaurant had excellent food and breakfast and views as well. Good place to stay.

Room Tip: An upstairs unit might be nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andamos_bien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and writing about your experience at our property. I was pleased to see you felt you received good value for your stay. We do not have wine glasses in our rooms, however, we try to accommodate every request if available - all you have to do is ask! I do hope this did not cause you too much of an inconvenience. Please visit with us again on your next visit to Cape Breton Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barboursville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Our tour group stayed here for 2 nights. It was very clean. The bathrooms actually look like they were recently remodeled. We had two dinners there and two breakfasts. We were not disappointed. The food was awesome. The hotel is set back from the road and was very quiet. The staff was so accommodating and friendly. The hotel is located on the Cabot Trail and close to the Alexander Bell Museum.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CALewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed the accommodations and the staff. It was nice that you even mentioned the washrooms - they were just renovated this spring! Please contact us if you are ever back to Baddeck - It is a great location for visiting the Cabot Trail and to explore all the wonders of Alexander Graham Bell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We selected this hotel after reading the comments on Trip Advisor. We requested a room in the Main Lodge, top floor(quieter - no noise from people walking above) and our room had a great view of the water. The room was large, clean and had a fridge and the all important Wi-Fi worked well. We asked for the Touring Package which included 2 dinners and 2 breakfasts at McCurdy's restaurant which is attached to the Main Lodge. For dinner, it was order anything off the menu and we chose the buffet for breakfast.

Room Tip: Always request the top floor at the end of the hallway. These rooms tend to be quieter - no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travellers336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello and thank you for writing on Tripadvisor about your stay with us. It was nice to see how much you enjoyed our property and McCurdy's Dining Room. Please contact us if you will ever be in the Baddeck area in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Although the outside of the Main Lodge is a bit dated, our room was very comfortable. We had one dinner at McCurdy's and two breakfasts - good food and good service. The Lodge is well located, easy to find, and staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: We had a room in the Main Lodge with a view of Bras d'Or Lake. The room was spacious with funct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noname39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for writing about your visit with us. I was pleased you enjoyed your room and I appreciated your comments about our property. Enjoy your winter and we hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Traveling over the Labour Day weekend without reservations, arrived early evening at the Silver Dart. We have stayed here a few times before and have not been disappointed. The rooms are a bit dated, but clean and comfortable. The weather was awful so we decided to not venture very far and have dinner in McCurdy's which was very good. We know what to expect at the Silver Dart, the staff is very good, very friendly and helpful. We will stay again and again when in Baddeck.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Well it was so nice to read that you are a returning visitor! I appreciate all your comments and we are always looking for ways to improve our property for any future visitors. Please stop in to say hi on your next visit to our property. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
45.2 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
39.6 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
0.5 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.1 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Dart Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Dart Lodge

Property: Silver Dart Lodge
Address: 257 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Dart Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacNeil House is located in beautiful Baddeck on Cape Breton Island, sharing a 90-acre property with the Silver Dart Lodge. Whether you want to sit and relax on our observation deck while taking in the beautiful scenery and gorgeous view of the Bras d'Or Lakes or get active and take a hike on the walking trails, kayak on the lakes, or take part in our Cabot Trail Treasure Hunt, our goal is to help you build a better Cape Breton vacation. Relax, unwind and let our knowledgeable staff guide your Cape Breton adventure, the perfect starting point for your Cabot Trail experience. Our Taste of Nova Scotia approved restaurant, McCurdy's Dining Room includes a lounge area and patio. Enjoy your afternoons and evenings with our heated swimming pool, private waterfront, and forested nature trails. Variety of hotel rooms and chalets, open mid-May to mid-October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Dart Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Dart Hotel Baddeck
Silver Dart Baddeck
Silver Dart Lodge Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing