We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay but the competition is limited!”
Review of Silver Dart Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Dart Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
402 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Okay but the competition is limited!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Convenient location. Nice views from the rooms. Rooms are dated and in need of major renovation. Bed was comfortable. Food was overpriced as is the motel. In major cities this place would be at best average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    256
    85
    26
    6
See reviews for
143
320
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middleton NS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We booked, along with another couple,a couple of months in advance to have adjoining rooms. This was confirmed twice bt the hotel. When we arrived we were told we couldn't have that. The room beside ours was empty until the bus tour arrived some time later and then was filled. Dinner reservations became a problem as the bus tour had the best part of the restaraunt booked as a block. we ended up with a table that had no outside view.
It seems that a bus tour has priority over regular paying customers.
When we entered the room it was like a furnace. the thermostat was set for 25 degrees C.
We tried to cool the room off with the airconditioner but it didn't work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddletonNSPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugus, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

During our 14 day Canadian Maritime road trip we stayed at the Silver Dart on two separate nights. On the first night on the way to Newfoundland we enjoyed relaxing on our balcony with a beautiful view. We looked forward to our stay on our return from Newfoundland the following week, however Mother Nature played a roll in delaying our ferry and allowed us to experience the awesome hospitality and concern of the staff at Silver Dart. We were supposed to check in on 9/6, but weather delayed our departure from Newfoundland until early morning on 9/7. I called the lodge twice on the evening of 9/6 to let them know about our delay. We had no idea when the ferry would sail but Amanda assured me that we could check in anytime during the night or early morning and that if we never made it, there would be no cancellation fee. We finally arrived in Nova Scotia at 9:00 AM on 9/7 after spending 2 nights and 36 hours on the ferry. I called the lodge and Hilda told us to come right along and our room was waiting. We arrived 5 minutes before the restaurant stopped serving breakfast and the restaurant staff was more than happy to prepare a delicious breakfast for us. We checked in just to freshen up and Hilda told us to take as long as we needed in the room and not worry about checkout time. Amanda, Hilda, Debbie, Winona and everyone else we encountered during both stays could not have been more welcoming, accommodating and sympathetic to our situation.

I would have highly recommended the Silver Dart based on our first night's stay, but after our second experience, without a doubt, it is a great place to stay. One little suggestion would be to provide a small table on the balcony between the chairs. There is a walking path on the lake and the lodge is very close to town. We did not happen to have dinner in the restaurant, but did enjoy great breakfasts.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor in the Main Lodge have a balcony and the best view of the grounds and lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaystateTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
331 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I chose the Silver Dart because of its ratings on TripAdvisor and the poor ratings of the other three properties I considered in Baddeck. My expectations were a bit higher than the experience. Located a walkable distance to downtown, with a very nice looking exterior, pleasant desk clerk and outstanding view of the channel. My wife and I were in the main lodge (room 7) and "greeted" by a slight musty smell so we had to turn on the A/C to clean up the stale air. The bathroom was clean and appreared to have been recently remodeled. The rest of the room was also very clean, appeared to have been recently painted, the bed was very comfortable, and other furniture in good condition. The desk chair was strangely a simple brown folding chair. The walls were a bit "thin" and we could easily hear TV sets from the rooms on both sides of us. The in-room refrigerator was a nice touch and coffee maker was a plus. We didn't use the pool or fitness center. The price was a decent value but I would probably try different lodging my next visit just to have something to compare to.

Room Tip: The main lodge rooms are larger than the west and east lodges and have the best view. But it is also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mywinetutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

If I were to return to Nova Scotia, I would definitely stay here again. Unfortunately, we didn't really get to enjoy this place as much as we liked since we were ther only one night.
The only negative was they probably should replace the chairs on the little porch.
The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious and the view in both the restaurant and the room were beautiful.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We chose to stay at the Silver Dart for several nights in August during our recent trip to Cape Breton because of all the good reviews here on TripAdvisor and because the hotel website was quite professional, and promised a number of conveniences such as "newly renovated" rooms, a restaurant, and a number of onsite amenities. However, I have to say that the Silver Dart didn't exactly live up to what was promised, especially by their website marketing. Our room in the Main Lodge did have an excellent view (one of the features of this property), but our use of the sitting porch could have been made more comfortable with cleaner, better chairs than the plastic yard chairs they had. Our room appeared to be only partially renovated, so while we enjoyed the comfy bed, new TV, and small fridge, as some others have noted, the AC needs updating, as well as the washroom. In our washroom, we wanted to get some air circulation and opened the window, but then the latch fell off. Also, the washroom mirror is small and inconveniently placed - about 3 inches from the top of the sink.

Hotel front desk staff are enormously friendly, and have a great deal of material at hand to help with one's drive around the Cabot Trail. The Silver Dart also has some nice walking trails and an outdoor field for the kids to run around in - but access to the hotel the beach area requires crossing the busy highway at the foot of the property. I liked the idea of having bicycles for guests to use, but alas, the helmets are stored outside on a pole next to the bikes, and each one I investigated had broken straps/latches and were sufficiently weather-damaged to make me question their effectiveness. I'll write a separate review of McCurdy's Restaurant, but for now, I'll say that while it, too, had a great view, the level of service was enormously lacking - plus, the charge for the breakfast buffet was, in my opinion, outrageous - I don't understand why the hotel can't include the breakfast with the room.

In all, I think this is a property that has a great deal of potential, but didn't live up to that potential for us.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Inge1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
214 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The rooms at the Main Lodge were quiet, clean and cosy. The bed was very comfortable and the space was more than appropriate for two of us. It was nice to have a common deck area outside a veranda door with stunning views of the Bras d'Or lakes. An excellent place to start your driving tour of the Cabot Trail. The property amenities are varied and extensive. If you want 5 Star service and handling there are better places to stay, but if you want a good standard 4 star Family oriented Lodge then the Silver Dart will be a cost effective choice. I have reviewed Mc'Curdy's restaurant separately.

Room Tip: Main lodge 2nd floor would be the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARK SAMUEL N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
45.2 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
39.6 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
0.5 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.1 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Dart Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Dart Lodge

Property: Silver Dart Lodge
Address: 257 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Dart Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacNeil House is located in beautiful Baddeck on Cape Breton Island, sharing a 90-acre property with the Silver Dart Lodge. Whether you want to sit and relax on our observation deck while taking in the beautiful scenery and gorgeous view of the Bras d'Or Lakes or get active and take a hike on the walking trails, kayak on the lakes, or take part in our Cabot Trail Treasure Hunt, our goal is to help you build a better Cape Breton vacation. Relax, unwind and let our knowledgeable staff guide your Cape Breton adventure, the perfect starting point for your Cabot Trail experience. Our Taste of Nova Scotia approved restaurant, McCurdy's Dining Room includes a lounge area and patio. Enjoy your afternoons and evenings with our heated swimming pool, private waterfront, and forested nature trails. Variety of hotel rooms and chalets, open mid-May to mid-October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Dart Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Dart Hotel Baddeck
Silver Dart Baddeck
Silver Dart Lodge Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing