We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best hotel on the cabot trail” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Dart Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Silver Dart Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best hotel on the cabot trail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2007

of our seven night stay in Nova Scotia, the Silver Dart was the best of 5 hotels we used. Efficient and knowledgeable check-in people. Chalet was roomy, had a great view and well worth the higher cost. Close to town. From advice from the front desk, ate our best meal of the trip at the Lobster House -- no ambience, just top notch seafood.

  • Liked — the settting and view
  • Disliked — softness of bed
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edhotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    256
    85
    26
    6
See reviews for
143
320
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2007

Having driven from Cavendish PEI over the ferry to Nova Scotia,up the western side(clockwise)of the Cabot trail to Pleasant Bay for some BEAUTIFUL views and a late afternoon pilot whalewatch tour we continued on through sunset toward Ingonish(the southeastern entrance to the Provincial park)We had thourougjhly enjoyed the beauty of the Park,whales,a bull moose,and bald eagles and my wife wanted to cover a little more ground to get back to the states the next day.
Having remembered the Silver Dart for some odd reason,we called and no problem getting us a Sunday night room.Exceptionally friendly gal evn gave us a 10% discount w/o AAA for a $100 room.Although nothing to write home about(teal colored theme,outdated IMHO)was clean,comfortable and the 2 double beds were very comfy at this 9:30 pm checkin with no reservation.Set on a hill over looking the beautiful lake was a nice welcome sight come daylight.We had just missed dinner hour but the check in clerk(once again my wife said she was extremely friendlY)guided us to Toms pizza which was great in the town of Baddeck where Alexander Graham Bell stayed.
Without any kind of breakfast offered it was to us just a place to hang our hat for the night.One word of advice,do not drive on the Cabot trail after dark,not only are you missing some stupendous views of the ocean,the windy roads will demand your utmost attention.Wished we had stayed in Pleasant Bay but the next day was also a long drive.
If I were in Baddeck again,I would not overule staying here,it was fine,pricy,but a good place for a weary traveler.

  • Liked — comfy bed,extremely nice clerk night shift attendant
  • Disliked — nothing that bad,no breakfast,outdated somewhat IMHO
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank seescokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2007

We turned up without a booking but were able to get family room for two adults and three kids for a very reasonable price. The room was clean and well maintained. We saw several cabins on the site and I think you can book these.

The facilities for kids were good. There is a playground, outdoor pool and a horshoe game as well as large open spaces of grass for them to play on.

Throughout the stay the staff could not have been more helpful. Several times they went out of their way to show us things or walk us to what we were looking for.

The view from this hotel is spectacular - right across the bay. The best place to see it is in the dining room which has panoramic windows overlooking the bay. We went into town to eat and then came back to listen to the live local music in there but having seen the room we should have dined there.

We only stayed for a couple of nights but I find it difficult to find fault with this place. We had problems connecting to their WiFi network but this was resolved by connecting to there kitchen WiFi system ( don't think we were meant to do this but it worked).

  • Liked — The view and the attitude of the staff
  • Disliked — problems connecting to the net but they do have an open terminal in the lounge
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderLustEuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2007

My wife and I spent three nights at the Silver Dart during our tour of Nova Scotia and enjoyed our stay immensely. To get the most space and privacy, we opted for one of the chalets. Wise choice! It was plenty roomy, clean, quiet and comfortable. Yes, some of the furnishings could use a little updating and I would have liked a little more light in the bathroom, but I slept soundly every night, and at least the water pressure and temperature never fluctuated. The hotel staff was just as friendly and helpful as could be -- as they were everywhere we traveled in the Maritimes, I might add.

Before we'd even left Nova Scotia, my wife and I were planning a return visit. You can bet we'll come back to the Silver Dart Lodge.

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful staff; great location, convenient to Baddeck and Cabot Trail
  • Disliked — Nothing, really
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Delmarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2007

A quick blast of all the recent reviews give a pretty accurate picture of Silver Dart. We stayed in a couple of the cabins towards the top of the hill and whilst they were perfectely adequate a bit of updating would not go amiss, particualrly on the a/c front which was not very effective - fortunately when we were there it was not too hot.
One word of caution it is the furthest hotel from Baddeck Centre but it is on a busy road so walking to town is a not terribly pleasent 10 minutes.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank CHAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2007

We stayed here on recommendations from previous Trip-advisor guests and we were not disappointed fantastic people & location. Ate every night in the delightful restaurant overlooking the lake, the evening buffet was particularly good value. Our lodge was spacious clean and again had fantastic veiws. The weather was even warm enough to spend time at the relaxing outdoor pool. We cannot recommend this place highly enough!!!!

  • Liked — location and friendly staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2007

We had a wonderful stay at the Silver Dart. It may not be the most up-to-date property in the world, but it was clean and comfortable, with excellent facilities. The dining room had the best view in town -- and superior food for a hotel dining room. The staff was helpful, especially on check-in, when they provided excellent information about the area. The pool is first-rate. The just-out-of-town location kept things quiet so guests could enjoy a good night's sleep -- but was by no means inconvenient. We'd return in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — Helpful Staff
  • Disliked — Lightly Older -- Needs a Facelift
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chip_Milford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
45.2 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
39.5 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
0.6 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.1 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 18 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Dart Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Dart Lodge

Property: Silver Dart Lodge
Address: 257 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Dart Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacNeil House is located in beautiful Baddeck on Cape Breton Island, sharing a 90-acre property with the Silver Dart Lodge. Whether you want to sit and relax on our observation deck while taking in the beautiful scenery and gorgeous view of the Bras d'Or Lakes or get active and take a hike on the walking trails, kayak on the lakes, or take part in our Cabot Trail Treasure Hunt, our goal is to help you build a better Cape Breton vacation. Relax, unwind and let our knowledgeable staff guide your Cape Breton adventure, the perfect starting point for your Cabot Trail experience. Our Taste of Nova Scotia approved restaurant, McCurdy's Dining Room includes a lounge area and patio. Enjoy your afternoons and evenings with our heated swimming pool, private waterfront, and forested nature trails. Variety of hotel rooms and chalets, open mid-May to mid-October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Silver Dart Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Dart Hotel Baddeck
Silver Dart Baddeck
Silver Dart Lodge Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing