We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience if this is your sort of thing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Telegraph House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Reviewed July 16, 2014

It was clean for sure, but thats as good as it got. The main house of the property just felt too mcuh like a home. The "hotel rooms" felt like a room in one's private home. There werent any additional locks on the thin wood doors, and the small guest rooms were just spacious enough to fit 2 oddly placed beds. The decor was plain creepy. This is what I mean by good experience only if its your thing. If sleeping surrounded in history in the 200 year old home of Alexander Graham Bell is your cup of tea, this is your choice in lodging. The furnishings and paintings on the walls seem right out of Bell's time. Creaking hardwood up the narrow halls, and frail wooden rockinh chairs included. It wasnt air conditioned either, when we were there in 2013. So in conclusion, staying here is eerie for those who dont enjoy the history steeped experience. I must add however, the breakfast was really nice, thumbs up there! Location was really good as well, heart of Baddeck and near the start of the CabotTrail

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank R_26C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 341 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were booked into Telegraph House for two nights as part of a tour of Nova Scotia. When Hurricane Arthur derailed part of our trip plans, the manager kindly booked us for two additional nights, moved our luggage to our new room, even found us a refrigerator and coffee maker in the new space. They were friendly and accommodating for our every need. Our first room was in the motel section, a large room whose only drawback was spotty wifi. The hotel also has no air conditioning, which isn't usually a problem, I understand, but it was quite warm during our visit. But ceiling fans and table fans kept the temperature reasonable. The room came with refrigerator and coffee maker.

Our second room was in the Inn, a smaller, more old-fashioned but very charming room, perfect for spending an afternoon tucked inside while Arthur's winds swirled outside. The room didn't come with refrigerator or coffee maker, but the manager went out of his way to find some for us.

Baddeck is a lovely small town with all the amenities we needed (restaurants, grocery, laundromat, etc.), as well as their wonderful "Baddeck Gathering" Ceilidh, less than a block from the hotel. We never did avail ourselves of the hotel restaurant, as most evenings we got back after it had stopped serving.

Room Tip: The hotel has no elevator and the stairs in the Inn section are steep. Rooms in the Inn are smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennetj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

It was nice to stay at the Telegraph. It is in a great location for those who want to explore Cape Breton. Although Baddeck is a small town, there are many places visit and many things to do if your willing to drive a bit. The accommodations were comfortable and clean but could be updated a bit. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthew_amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed in one of the motel rooms, which are clean and perfectly acceptable. We chose not to dine in the hotel as that looked expensive but went out each evening. A quiet location and centrally placed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is the second year in a row we have visited Baddeck in Cape Breton and both times we have stayed at the Telegraph house. We are very pleased with the accommodations... Comfortable beds, clean sheets, hot showers and great staff and customer service. We stayed in the rooms behind the main house since they accommodated our two dogs and the rooms were excellent. Definitely will be back summer 2015.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had an excellent stay at the telegraph house. Our family of 3 was there for one night during our week long road trip to Nova Scotia. Shawn, the caretaker, was very nice to us and provided us an excellent service. Since it was just before the peak summer season, most of the rooms were empty and he allowed us to choose any room even though we had booked only a room with a double bed which was cheaper. It was very nice of him to let us use the kitchen to warm up food/milk for our 2 year old. The telegraph inn is perfectly located in the center of the town with walkable access to all amenities the town could offer. We would highly recommend the Telegraph house to anyone who wants to visit Baddeck.

The Murthi's

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank v m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

John at the front desk was friendly and hospitable. We drove up from Hailfax and felt bad about showing up later in the day but he was so welcoming, spoke with us for a while, and we did not feel rushed. He gave us lots of great info about the area, hiking trails, and maps. He even called a puffin boat tour for us so we could make a reservation (we are from the US and it would have been a long distance charge for us to use our cell phones). Highly recommend the rooms with the balcony, they have a great view of the lighthouse. It is cozy, charming, and historic. Great location, walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: balcony has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrienne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
0.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
675 reviews
6.2 mi away
Trailsman Motel
Trailsman Motel
#6 of 7 in Baddeck
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
2.1 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#8 of 17 in Baddeck
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telegraph House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telegraph House Hotel

Address: 479 Chebucto Street, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range: $91 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Telegraph House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Telegraph House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraph House Hotel Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing