We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try another Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Telegraph House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Pictou, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Try another Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I had driven through Baddeck many times and thought that the Telegraph House looked like a nice place to stay. It still "looks" good, but I will never stay at this property again.
As in other reviews, there is no A/C, only a ceiling fan. The temperature was 34C during our stay! Our room was on the 2nd floor, which seemed to be okay. However,it was so small that the double bed was right up against the wall...with no option but to climb out over the end of the bed. It took over 5 minutes for my husband to try to regulate the shower, and then it went from scalding hot to ice cold within seconds. I chose NOT to have a shower due to this situation. After a fretful night of a too hot, too small bed, too hot room, this was most unpleasant.
We did not eat at the Hotel, feeling that it was too pricey. When we parked in the parking lot, we had to walk through the diners on the outside patio to get to the hotel office. Our rumbling, rolling suitcases were rather noisy for the diners.
When I complained about the lack of A/C and the unbearable heat in the room, the Front Desk staff did offer us a motel unit at the same rate of the small room. We went to look at it, thinking that a larger space & a small front deck would be cooler, but it was even hotter.
There are so many hotels, inns, motels & b&bs in Baddeck, that you could not go wrong by choosing any one of them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heath1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    91
    58
    26
    10
See reviews for
52
143
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmot, Nova Scotia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

It's located right in town so you can walk to several restaurants and the boardwalk by the marina. The hotel restaurant food was excellent (I had supper only), but some dishes looked a bit pricey for me. The room was very clean. There was no air conditioning in my room, which they neglected to mention when I booked the room (I never thought to ask, figuring all such places have A/C these days). The shower valve that directs water from the bath faucet to the shower head didn't work properly - very low water pressure and hard to regulate the temperature (swings from uncomfortably cold to uncomfortably hot). I ended up sleeping in my birthday suit on top of the covers, and didn't sleep very well. Room had a TV, hair dryer, clock radio, ceiling fan, oscillating fan, and hand soap in the bathroom. The staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are not very sound-proof, and when you need to leave the window open all nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, AZ
Level Contributor
229 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We loved this place! We didn't have reservations but stopped in here hoping they'd have a room for the three of us...and not only did they have the room, they were so very nice and waived the extra person fee. We got a super deal and the room was large and comfortable and clean. The bathroom was sparkling. There is no a/c here, but the room had a ceiling fan and it seemed to do the trick because none of us were hot during the night. There's also a little bit of history here...Alexander Graham Bell actually slept in one of the bedrooms in the main house...although we didn't stay in that room they let us look at it - they are that nice! They have a restaurant on premises but we didn't eat there....the breakfast seemed a little heavier than we needed, so we simply walked across the street and had a scone and cup of coffee at the cafe there - both were delicious!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDiekema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed for three nights in motel unit 25. Fine view of the parking lot. We had high expectations after reading other trip advisor comments, but they were not met. Noisy generator outside kept us awake. Room was comfortable, but low on amenities.. no shampoo or lotion in the bathroom. Restaurant was over priced and not that tasty. Breakfast was a disaster.. brought the wrong order and then we had to wait for the correct order. By the time it arrived, the first breakfast was quite cold. The hotel does have a very interesting history.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep South
Level Contributor
154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed in the motel part behind and up the hill from the Inn. No air conditioning. Temps were in the 80s. Ceiling fan and oscillating fan. No air conditioning. We had to sit outside until nearly 10 o'clock and it was still hot when we went to bed. No air conditioning. Finally cooled off around midnight. Double room was OK. Bed was decent and bath was doable. The owner and his staff were very friendly and helpful. No air conditioning. The restaurant was pretty good, but I certainly didn't find it worth gushing over. By the way, the motel part where we stayed had no air conditioning. Just saying ...

Room Tip: It appeared a couple of the rooms in another portion of the motel did have AC, so be sure and ask be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tupelodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This restaurant is truly a treasure, and one I can recommend to anyone with or without celiac disease! For anyone with allergies, you know how difficult and frustrating it can be to find a safe and delicious meal. Well, the gluten free dish I had at Telegraph House was absolutely amazing. There was harmony between all the flavors that was exceptional, and very unusual for a gluten free dish! The staff also deserves a special mention, as the service was excellent. The entire experience was above and beyond what I could have imagined. I have absolutely no hesitation is saying, I would recommend this restaurant to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buck lake,alberta, canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The history of the hotel is fascinating. Be sure to ask the owner as he is a direct descendant. He takes pride in the hotel and his family history as well as the history of the town. The rooms were clean and with comfortable sitting chairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with two queen beds as they seem to be the roomiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikerenkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
0.5 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
44.7 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.3 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.6 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#8 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telegraph House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telegraph House Hotel

Property: Telegraph House Hotel
Address: 479 Chebucto Street, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Telegraph House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Telegraph House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraph House Hotel Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing