We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, Cute Place - Loved It!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Telegraph House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Sierra Vista, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Cute, Cute Place - Loved It!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We loved this place! We didn't have reservations but stopped in here hoping they'd have a room for the three of us...and not only did they have the room, they were so very nice and waived the extra person fee. We got a super deal and the room was large and comfortable and clean. The bathroom was sparkling. There is no a/c here, but the room had a ceiling fan and it seemed to do the trick because none of us were hot during the night. There's also a little bit of history here...Alexander Graham Bell actually slept in one of the bedrooms in the main house...although we didn't stay in that room they let us look at it - they are that nice! They have a restaurant on premises but we didn't eat there....the breakfast seemed a little heavier than we needed, so we simply walked across the street and had a scone and cup of coffee at the cafe there - both were delicious!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDiekema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    96
    63
    28
    10
See reviews for
56
157
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed for three nights in motel unit 25. Fine view of the parking lot. We had high expectations after reading other trip advisor comments, but they were not met. Noisy generator outside kept us awake. Room was comfortable, but low on amenities.. no shampoo or lotion in the bathroom. Restaurant was over priced and not that tasty. Breakfast was a disaster.. brought the wrong order and then we had to wait for the correct order. By the time it arrived, the first breakfast was quite cold. The hotel does have a very interesting history.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep South
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed in the motel part behind and up the hill from the Inn. No air conditioning. Temps were in the 80s. Ceiling fan and oscillating fan. No air conditioning. We had to sit outside until nearly 10 o'clock and it was still hot when we went to bed. No air conditioning. Finally cooled off around midnight. Double room was OK. Bed was decent and bath was doable. The owner and his staff were very friendly and helpful. No air conditioning. The restaurant was pretty good, but I certainly didn't find it worth gushing over. By the way, the motel part where we stayed had no air conditioning. Just saying ...

Room Tip: It appeared a couple of the rooms in another portion of the motel did have AC, so be sure and ask be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tupelodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This restaurant is truly a treasure, and one I can recommend to anyone with or without celiac disease! For anyone with allergies, you know how difficult and frustrating it can be to find a safe and delicious meal. Well, the gluten free dish I had at Telegraph House was absolutely amazing. There was harmony between all the flavors that was exceptional, and very unusual for a gluten free dish! The staff also deserves a special mention, as the service was excellent. The entire experience was above and beyond what I could have imagined. I have absolutely no hesitation is saying, I would recommend this restaurant to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buck lake,alberta, canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The history of the hotel is fascinating. Be sure to ask the owner as he is a direct descendant. He takes pride in the hotel and his family history as well as the history of the town. The rooms were clean and with comfortable sitting chairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with two queen beds as they seem to be the roomiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikerenkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NB, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed just one night in a guest cottage (but we stayed in the main house a few years ago). Our accommodation was clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated with pretty prints. The little porch on our cottage had a nice view of the lake (#41). We didn't eat here, but the menu looked very impressive. Unfortunately, breakfast service id not start until June 24--so we just missed it.

This is a family-owned business, and their care shows.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the guest cottage--more privacy than the main house.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dalry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corralitos, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have always loved the quaint Victorian Telegraph House -- the oldest, most historic lodging place in Baddeck, but I never thought the food was anything but reliably good --until last week, that is. Starting last Sunday the Telegraph House's kitchen is now being captained by George Smith -- an illustrious avant garde chef claiming 35 years of experience in Europe and Canada. The dinner menu was completely transformed to a level of culinary delight not normally seen outside of big cities in Canada. In fact, George's magic is drawing other chefs and gastronomes from miles around! And, best yet -- the prices are about the same as many other Baddeck dining rooms. Even if you don't plan to stay in one of the Telegraph House's comfortable rooms, don't miss the superb eating available every night right here in downtown Baddeck.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
0.5 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
608 reviews
44.7 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.3 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#8 of 17 in Baddeck
98 reviews
4.1 mi away
Trailsman Motel
Trailsman Motel
#6 of 7 in Baddeck
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telegraph House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telegraph House Hotel

Property: Telegraph House Hotel
Address: 479 Chebucto Street, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Telegraph House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Telegraph House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraph House Hotel Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing