We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but not luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Telegraph House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Comfortable but not luxury”
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights in one of the cottages in back of the main house. Actually, it was a duplex with another room next door, and overlooking a gravel parking area. The room itself was clean and the bed was comfortable, but don't expect luxury. It provided all we needed. Our hair dryer did not work, so we switched it with the vacant room next door when it was being cleaned. There is a coffee maker, but we had some difficulty using it and no coffee was left for us the second night. The property is right in town and convenient. Breakfasts are not included, but there are choices very close by. They also have a pretty good restaurant We chose a coffee shop down the street. It is true there are no toiletries provided, glad we had our own. Of the places we could see, this was a good choice. There are some larger properties nearby for those who prefer that environment.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Miamispike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    93
    60
    27
    10
See reviews for
55
147
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Often I read comments of travellers on trip advisor and I think that some people just like to find things to complain about. In this case; however, I found many of the comments left were actually quite accurate and I wish I had paid more attention in advance.
First off I'd like to say that the staff at the Inn were very friendly and welcoming. They we available to accommodate any request and were helpful about the local area. They couldn't have been nicer.
We stayed in the main house, if I came back I would think about booking one of their motel rooms. Your stay at the Inn very much depends on what room you get placed in. Some of the rooms are VERY tiny (#5 & #7) they have small double beds squeezed up right next to the wall and very small bathrooms. One of the other rooms we stayed in #35 was bigger, but it only has 2 single beds and is actually located on the front veranda of the Inn, not in the Main House. There are tables for the dining guest literally right outside the room door and window. We had to keep the curtains closed the whole time. It was also very noisy as they started setting up for breakfast right outside the door at 7am. The rooms were clean, but quite run-down and in need of a face-lift!
We saw several other rooms while they were being cleaned and some of them looked large and comfortable. Definitely check what room you are being given in advance.
I had read the comments of several other travellers, so I knew in advance to bring shampoo and bodywash, none is provided.
The food served at the Inn in very good and we enjoyed eating on the deck overlooking the main street.
We were booked for 3 nights, but we did not end up staying the last night because the room was very small, extremely warm in the night and the double bed against the wall was really too tiny for two! I am sure that if we had had one of the larger rooms we would have stayed all 3 nights at the Inn.

Room Tip: Ask which room you are being placed in. Room # 5 & #7 are VERY tiny!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HalifaxALH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Park, NC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Disappointing stay because the en suite bath in Room #4 included a tub/shower, but the water temperatures fluctuated from scalding to freezing! No way to shower safely. The hot water pipes pumped rhythmically all night and would have been more disruptive to our sleep if we hadn't been running a fan on high to obscure the noise. We chose this place knowing it was an old establishment. But we also expected a functioning bath as advertised.

Room Tip: Don't book #4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Draftcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We spent 4 nights in this lovely inn. Our room was spotless, quaint and comfortable. We were on the top floor and found it much quieter than many modern hotels. The small cabins near the inn would be a great spot for families with children. Baddeck is a beautiful and central spot in Cape Breton and our stay in this historic building was one of the highlights. Be sure to try the lobster dinner-delicious and very reasonable.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LinZ635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My family and I were traveling in cape breton .We went to a town called Baddeck and there we found this motel .The TELEGRAPH HOUSE the rooms are tiny the one I stayed in was like an l shape no room for my luggage let on anything else. the furniture that was there was outdated. After 1 nite there the next 2 nights stayed outside of baddeck at another place that was way cheaper and the rooms were much larger.oh an by the way the place was much cleaner ...

Room Tip: do not stay at telegraph house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbram117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

On vacation from England in June 2012 , we stopped here for two nights and the place was simply great. Clean rooms, victorian style and the beds were the most comfortable of our entire two week trip. The restaurant serves excellent dinners in the evening and breakfasts and the prices are very reasonable. The owner Shaun is very welcoming and the staff are good. recommend you get the Alexander Bell room if available.

Room Tip: The alexander bell room is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrymechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were here for 2 nights just before the restaurant opened for the season so breakfast was basic. The rooms were simply and comfortably furnished, sparkling clean and the owner delightful. The rates were reasonable and the location totally central in sweet Baddeck. What more do you need???

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank velvethaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
0.5 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
612 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auld Farm Inn B & B
Auld Farm Inn B & B
#2 of 17 in Baddeck
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#8 of 17 in Baddeck
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telegraph House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telegraph House Hotel

Property: Telegraph House Hotel
Address: 479 Chebucto Street, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Telegraph House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Telegraph House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraph House Hotel Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing