We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky with deck for lakefront view”

Green Highlander Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green Highlander Lodge
Ranked #10 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Baddeck
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Tho' comfortable enough and quite spacious, the value in staying here is having a large private deck that allowed us to keep the door open for good natural A/C, have great views of the lake and wharf for ogling the gorgeous yachts that come and go, and have somewhere to dry out our bathing suits and towels. Pam, who attended our room, was helpful and eager to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We thought the breakfast that was provided at the Yellow Cello down below was very good as it was possible, if you asked, to make substitutions, get orange juice and cappuccinos. We agree with the previous reviewer that we were never sure who the owners were or who was looking after the place. But otherwise, we had a very comfortable stay in hot, humid weather right in the middle of Baddeck.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a side deck--the Rose Dawn has one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 154943Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 29 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2012

This is a good choice for Baddeck. We had the queen and the twin room (blue charm room) on the main floor. The private deck with the door off of the queen was very nice. The deck is a great place to sit and look at the lake (though a bit of a peek a boo view) and watch life on the main street. The beds were comfortable and the decor was rustic and pretty. There is a very inviting lounge area also on the main floor with games, books etc. Our only complaint is that the plumbing and the bathroom was a bit iffy. The toilet didn't flush very well and I had to use the plunger a couple of times. The shower stall is small and if someone else in the building is taking a shower, the water temperature is affected. Also, the bathroom fan was so loud that I showered in the dark rather than have to listen to it. The included breakfast at the Yellow Cello was good though it doesn't open until 8. There is a good coffee place just down the road that opens at 6:30 for early risers. We liked it here and would go back

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salmonpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed for one night with family of four. Short walk to the ferry took us to Kidstone beach for an afternoon swim. Warm day meant for a warm sleep since there was no A/C. Thankfully, it cooled off later.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funseeker1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

This place could be so much better if the people who run the place were a little bit friendly,we have no idea if we met the owners or not ,no one took the time to bother to introduce themselves, we were there for 5 days!! The location is great with the view of the harbour, just not the Cape Bretton hospitality , also the food was just not very good, breakfast came with the room, only limited choices, went elsewhere , next time I will find a new place to stay in Baddeck.The last morning we were there to check out ,someone that was working in the kitchen followed us out the door and went in the back door , it was as if he was running to check the room to see if we did something ?? stole something??Don't know ?? just seemed weird, like he was angry ?? There was something weird about the staff , made me uncomfortable, to bad ,great view ,all in all not a good place to stay find some other place to stay.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank labdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Great location -close to everything. Stayed in Rosy Dawn room- large and airy - with own deck looking over harbour. Very clean, large shared area downstairs. Laundry facilities. Breakfast in Yellow Cello cafe under B&B - various mights they have musicians in and you can listen to them play. Pick up key from Cafe , staff very freindly and owner was great - she made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed at Green Highlander - Rosy Dawn room - on August 4 2009, our second night on Cape Breton Island.
The room is standard but not spectacular. However, the balcony overlooking the street and harbour is very nice.
The night we stayed they were having fireworks and they were great. The balcony was the perfect place to view them in comfort.
Breakfast the next morning at Yellow Cello was your standard restaurant breakfast fare. This Lodge is not the typical B&B experience but was certainly ok.
We had supper at the Baddeck Lobster Supper and the food was really good. The wait to get in was a bit long and hot. We thought they might have a take a number, we'll call you system which could work better so that a person could wait outside instead of a narrow hallway that services both the in and out traffic!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gimmeabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

I booked this place and he raised the rates during the process - even though he had no real reason. We thought the photos and his description of the Boathouse looked great so we booked it anyways. What ever you do stay clear of the "Boathouse"!!!! We arrived and checked this place out - we walked away immediately. The owner was ignorant about it. Maybe he should have 'disclosed" a bit more about the property before we booked it! The "Boathouse" is essentially a garage that is situated in his back yard. He fails to tell you that it is on his postage size back yard about 20 feet from his own house. Even worse the "Boathouse" (and his own house) is positioned on a sliver of land that is wedged between the water and a secondary highway. Your pillows are literally less than 10' feet from the road. Traffic noise is one thing - but how about a vehicle plowing right into your room if it goes off the road! I suggest that you stay clear of this place. We ended up staying at the Telegraph Motel - staff were great - and we got 2 rooms for less that the price of the "Boathouse". Needless to say - with the owner being such a jerk - we did not eat at the Yellow Cello. It looked tacky anyways. Happy travelling.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank longbomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
0.8 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#8 of 17 in Baddeck
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
0.5 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auld Farm Inn B & B
Auld Farm Inn B & B
#2 of 17 in Baddeck
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Highlander Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Highlander Lodge

Address: 525 Chebucto St., Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Baddeck
Price Range: $113 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Highlander Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Green Highlander Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Highlander Lodge Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing