We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the owners just don't care”
Review of Lynwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lynwood Inn
Ranked #9 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
usa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“the owners just don't care”
Reviewed December 21, 2006

The rooms are clean, new, and comfortable. The restaurant is closed in the off-season. The place is owned by the same family that runs Telegraph House just across the street. Several reviews have been written about the "just don't care" attitude of the staff there and it seems to carry across into the Lynnwood. The basic attitude seems to be that they could care less whether or not you stayed there and at times you are a burden from keeping them from their other pursuits. This attitude is rare in the normally gracious people from Cape Breton. Maybe the owners have been in the business too long.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of services
  • Tips/Secrets — shop around first
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank haworthhoarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    79
    35
    21
    10
See reviews for
37
96
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2006

We stayed here during our family trip to Nova Scotia for 2 nights. The place is beautiful, clean and friendly - just like those other reviews state. No need to duplicate entries- highly recommended!

We ate at the restaurant - lobster special for $19.95. Very good. I would also recommed the Baddeck Lobster supper right down the street- great food in a different atmoshere.

  • Liked — comfortable beds
  • Disliked — a bit too much Victorian stuff -
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Winterhude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 13, 2006

This lovely Inn is located in the center of Baddeck which is a great location for visiting many of the Cape Breton sights.
We stayed in the newer motel-like annex. The room was decorated beautifuly in Victorian style, and we had a lovely view of the lake from the balcony. We were there for 3 nights and had absolutely NO problems with service, staff, or our accomodations. We were able to walk to restaurants, shopping, and the Alexander Bell museum.
If you're looking for a resort with golfing and a water park, this is not the place for you, but if you want to stay in a quiet, impeccably clean and comfortable room that is convenient to all Baddeck offers, this is the place for you. Be sure to check out the pictures on their website.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2006

I stayed in a room with two beds. The room was in excellent condition and very clean. The front desk staff were friendly. The inn also had wireless internet access. Very charming inn that I would gladly stay at again!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank jiopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2006

I stayed at the Lynwood Inn in Baddeck, Nova Scotia in July, 2005. I researched and booked this hotel in the early spring when there was plenty of selection. I decided on this accommodation because it appeared that the room offered for the price would be a great foil to a more budget-minded selection for the next night. It proved to be a great choice and we were not at all disappointed nor misled. For the “suite”, the price was $135 CDN per night. We ended up in a corner room on the upper floor with a balcony overlooking the Bras d’Or lakes.

The Inn is well situated in the town of Baddeck and it was easy to get around. A walk to the lake and the wharf and back to the Inn was a beautiful loop covered in an extremely leisurely and tranquil 2 hours.

Dinner in the restaurant was a fine dining experience, but the meal, while tasty, wasn’t exciting and felt overpriced for what was offered.

The Inn is located down the street from the Alexander Graham Bell Museum and at one end of the main drag of dining, museums and gift shops.

The room was well decorated and comfortable with a great jet bathtub!

I highly recommend the Lynwood Inn. More pictures posted at http://community.webshots.com/user/kaki333

Helpful?
23 Thank Kaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2005

The Lynwood Inn is a nice hotel in a great location in town. We travelled with two children in July 2005 and found the rooms clean, staff friendly and location perfect. Only ate breakfast in the hotel dining room and I'd suggest you skip it, but there are many good places to eat within a five minue walk. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RyanFromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
0.5 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#7 of 17 in Baddeck
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dunlop Inn
The Dunlop Inn
#4 of 17 in Baddeck
116 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynwood Inn

Property: Lynwood Inn
Address: 441 Shore Road | PO Box 585, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lynwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynwood Inn — in the heart of Baddeck. Walking distance to Bell Museum, Shops, Waterfront, nightly Ceilidh and more. Great choice for Cape Breton vacations—centrally located on the Island—“beginning & end” of Cabot Trail! Four Star accommodation features: 32 Suites & 2 Cottages * Queen Beds * En Suites with Whirlpool Tubs * A/C * Cable Television * WiFi* Laundry Facility * Bras d’Or Lakes View * Licensed Seasonal Restaurant (indoor & outdoor dining) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Lynwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynwood Hotel Baddeck
Lynwood Inn Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing