We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”
Review of Lynwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lynwood Inn
Ranked #9 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 28, 2008

A well-located hotel in the picturesque town of Baddeck. We were in the main part of the Inn, unfortunately at the back with no view, but in a good room with free Internet access. The breakfasts were good, plentiful and hot. Try the crunchy French Toast. If you're in room three, watch your head if you're over 5’10” tall – the chandeliers are low!!

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jethrosdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Lynwood Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 196 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2008

My husband and in-laws stayed at the Lynwood Inn during our beautiful stay at Cape Breton. We found this place to have a lot of character, it was very special and spacious. The rooms were very clean and the hotel had been recently upgraded which was very nice. The owner helped us with check-in and with getting acquainted with Baddeck and Cape Breton overall. He was very welcoming, knowledgeable and proud of his hotel. We are very happy we stayed here and hope to be back some day. Cape Breton is a very special place.
Elain & Barry

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank calmone90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

I will say that the only reason I rated our stay as terrible is due to the lack of cleanliness. The specific issue was that I found hairs (not belonging to myself or my husband!) on every single pillow in the room. Even the spare pillow in the closet had hairs on it. One of the pilIowcases even seemed used. I called down to the desk to request some additional pillowcases, and it actually seemed as if the person was about to argue with me - then they said they would bring them up. I received no apology, only a meek explanation that this happens when "dryer sheets are not used" by accident. This is in addition to the fact that all the linens were threadbare - I could almost see through them.

One other small issue was that whenever we (or the people in the room next door) used the water, there was a loud banging noise coming from the wall. Could be disruptive if it occurred at night, but we just kept the bathroom door closed.

I would not recommend staying at this inn, unless you have absolutely no other option.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOtraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2007

Cute Inn located right next to downtown. Beautiful landscaping. Great restaurant filled with antiques. Stayed in cottage. It is next to the property but on the main road so somewhat on the backside of the Inn. The cottage does not have a view of the water, but is enclosed with trees on all sides. Didn't see any pictures before booking, so wanted to share pictures taken when there. Note the jacuzzi is the bathtub jacuzzi.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bus-trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

We stayed 2 nights at the Lynwood Inn and were extremely satisfied. It exceeded our expectations.
The reception was friendly and very efficient and helpful. We booked a room in the new building and were delighted. It was a large airy spotlessly clean room. Most comfortable including the beds. Bathroom facilities were well above average too.
We were very pleased to find a well equipped guest laundry too, very welcome halfway through our holiday.
The hotel is well positioned in the town and is easy walking distance to the lake and centre. There are plenty of restaurants of excellent quality but we had our meals at the Bell Buoy Restaurant where I had the shrimp and my husband had the scallops both excellent taste and value. A really nice view too.
We had our breakfast in the hotel restaurant and that too was plentiful, hot and good value. My husband lost a tooth filling and the staff were so helpful trying to find a dentist for him.
I would highly recommend this hotel for a base or for a couple of days as you tour Cape Breton.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fuerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

We stayed three nights at the Lynwood, in room #2 of the inn. The room was large, comfortable, and beautifully decorated with a four poster queen sized bed and antique furnishings. It was so convenient to simply walk downstairs to the restaurant, and we thought the food was quite good. We had breakfast there every morning, and dinner twice. The location was great; we could easily walk to all major attractions. Our only complaint was that the telephone in our room had a terrible buzzing sound, which made it difficult to hear when we tried to place a call. When we mentioned it to the front desk, they said that it was an ongoing problem. It was an inconvenience to have to go outside our room to make calls. In spite of that, we would definitely stay at the Lynwood again if we return to Baddeck.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dvdcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

I stayed one night at the Lynwood Inn on my way through to Glace Bay. The rooms were very clean, and beautiful! The restaurant is a bit pricy for the small portions that are served, but there are other nice places to eat just a few minutes away. Recommend it!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank froxiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
0.5 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
0.1 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#8 of 17 in Baddeck
106 reviews
1.6 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynwood Inn

Address: 441 Shore Road | PO Box 585, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range: $143 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lynwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynwood Inn — in the heart of Baddeck. Walking distance to Bell Museum, Shops, Waterfront, nightly Ceilidh and more. Great choice for Cape Breton vacations—centrally located on the Island—“beginning & end” of Cabot Trail! Four Star accommodation features: 32 Suites & 2 Cottages * Queen Beds * En Suites with Whirlpool Tubs * A/C * Cable Television * WiFi* Laundry Facility * Bras d’Or Lakes View * Licensed Seasonal Restaurant (indoor & outdoor dining) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lynwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynwood Hotel Baddeck
Lynwood Inn Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing