We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant has Poor Poor Service.. Food Average”
Review of Lynwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lynwood Inn
Ranked #9 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Restaurant has Poor Poor Service.. Food Average”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This place at first glance looked very cozy and welcoming, so we decided to try out the restaurant. There was live music and places to sit outside. We stood waiting around for 10 minutes until someone decided to seat us. Once seated we waited 20 minutes for someone to ask us what we wanted to drink. It then took another 20 minutes to get them. The food came after and was average. Fries were cooked to a crisp. We asked for vinegar, which she brought when we were close to finishing our meal. We waited a long while once we were done to get the bill... we mentioned to her about the fries and she did absolutely nothing to help. Handed us our bill and left. Other tables had empty plates as well and were waiting... bussers were standing around doing nothing. I could not believe it!! Went to pay at the front of the restaurant inside.. asked if I could have my reciept and he said he needs the copy and would take a few minutes to make a photocopy. At this point we walked away and will never look back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shortexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    74
    34
    20
    10
See reviews for
34
94
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
454 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Dining and music on the porch is quite nice. Many rooms available; some decor updating might be in order. No elevator. Self-laundry. Coffee not available in the room. Scant towels. Shower is invigorating. Great light blocking curtains but additional sheers could provide more privacy from the road. Clean and comfortable. WiFi not available to all rooms. A/C somewhat noisy and close to the bed; however, there are large windows with screens for fresh air. Friendly front desk assistance and table service hit or miss. Walking distance to water/docks and main drag in town. Parking is free, just outside lodging. Location is key for getting onto the Cabot Trail.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, table and chairs; these are limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twogreynomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Room 208.
Clean and well kept. New bathroom fixtures. Had A/C. Best scallops and steak.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Team-BREA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

I was not impressed with this establishment at all! From the outside it looks very nice and well kept. Unfortunately the same doesn't show on the inside! Take a good look around and you will notice the accumulated dust on everything, filthy carpets and nothing but pure clutter. The staff is spread much too thin and you have to wait at length for even the simpliest requests. They make no attempt to resolve any issues brought to their attention and simply put the blame back to the customer. The rooms are average at best and not kept up as should be. STAY ELSEWHERE!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinstonOb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Baddeck hotels

Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2010

First, let me say the room was quiet and comfortable and clean, and had an awesome view of the fall foliage and lake. But that's not why I'm bothering to write. My husband left a bag behind, a large thermal bag, with several spoiled-food-containing rubbermaid containers in it. They called us at home even before we knew we were missing it, and amazingly, had their housekeeping clean out the by-then really disgusting containers and with our approval, arranged to ship all of it to our home, charging the shipping cost and the most tiny token of a handling "fee" to our room credit card. I just can't believe they went to so much trouble for us! I've had other good experiences with friendly Nova Scotian hotel-related staff, but the Lynwood Inn folks really went way beyond what was reasonable to ask. I hope to visit Cape Breton many more times, and Lynwood Inn is now top of my list for places to stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbelvadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We booked Suite 3 in the main building as it was the only thing they had left. The "suite" is basically 1/3 of the upstairs of a 1 1/2 storey building...not very big! It was furnished in old antique furniture with nick naks everywhere. It was so cluttered it was unreal. The bathroom was nicely renovated but the light on the ceiling had the cover of it missing and only contained one lightbulb with the second socket left with nothing. The television is very old and small and doesn't receive very good cable reception ( very snowy). The wireless internet doesn't work in the room nor in the sitting area upstairs that I was assured it would. It may pick up a signal for 30 seconds but after that your disconnected every time. The staff doesn't appear to have anything in the way of proper customer service skills. They have one person at the desk (actually I lie, sometimes they have no one at the counter and you have to wait for someone to appear). They have this one person at the counter not only booking people into both buildings of their inn, but taking all phone calls as well as take payments from customers from the restuarant. Needless to say this means lots of waiting for everyone. One time I was speaking to the lady at the desk telling her about problems with the room and the restaurant server came in and totally interrupted me mid sentence to tell the girl not to sit anyone else because they wanted the kitchen closed by 8....guess they must have plans.
The air conditioner in our room was broken, the radiator in the room would not turn off and had alot of heat coming off it. You couldn't open the window as all the smoke/fumes from the kitchen of the restaurant below would blow in the room. When we booked the inn we did not realize there was such a busy restaurant located downstairs from our room...or that we would actually have to walk in thru the main entrance of this restaurant to walk upstairs to our room. There was also a performer at the restaurant playing music with a mic. Thats all great but not when you've rented a room for the night above it. When I told the lady at the desk all the complaints her response was..."oh it will be quiet in like an hour". This is ridiculous...we payed $100 for a night in this place we shouldn't neet to put up with that if we weren't made aware! We ended up leaving and driving to Antigonish and finding an awesome place ...called Evergreen Inn.....it was less $ than what we were paying at Lynwood, it had a full kitchen with oven, microwave and dishes. It was very clean, spacious and well worth the money. As far as Lynwood Inn...don't waste your money! Not only do the accomodations not add up...but their lack of customer service leaves a bad taste in my mouth. They really give the impression that they don't care whether you stay or go!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolCanuckChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

People wrote many things about the Lynwood Inn and I was hesitant but did not want to spend the money on the Inverary Resort. I actually thought the Inn was very nice. The room we had next to the main building was clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and modern with a great jacuzzi tub. I got a room with a balcony but don't spend the extra money. Most of the balconies face the parking lot. We did not eat at the Inn because so many people said it was terrible but there are few good choices. We were actually at the end of our trip and were very disappointed in the food throughout the trip so we decided to get pizza right across the way. (Tom's) OK we're from the NY area and so I wasn't expecting great pizza but nothing could have prepared us for just how bad pizza can be this far away from NY. They spread the dough out with their hands (no tossing for this crew). Then the cheese is rubbery and the pepperoni was just strange. They put it on before the cheese and then the cheese on top which causes the whole thing to slide off when you pick up the slice! Unless you've never had pizza before, don't go there. Just don't go there. There is a place everyone raves about called the Highwheeler Cafe for lunch or breakfast. It was pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crackerjack1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
0.5 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
280 reviews
1.6 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#8 of 17 in Baddeck
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auld Farm Inn B & B
Auld Farm Inn B & B
#2 of 17 in Baddeck
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynwood Inn

Property: Lynwood Inn
Address: 441 Shore Road | PO Box 585, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lynwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynwood Inn — in the heart of Baddeck. Walking distance to Bell Museum, Shops, Waterfront, nightly Ceilidh and more. Great choice for Cape Breton vacations—centrally located on the Island—“beginning & end” of Cabot Trail! Four Star accommodation features: 32 Suites & 2 Cottages * Queen Beds * En Suites with Whirlpool Tubs * A/C * Cable Television * WiFi* Laundry Facility * Bras d’Or Lakes View * Licensed Seasonal Restaurant (indoor & outdoor dining) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Lynwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynwood Hotel Baddeck
Lynwood Inn Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing