We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Living with the Master of the House!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Moffett

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Moffett
Ranked #14 of 18 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Living with the Master of the House!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Let's start with the positives at Castle Moffet. The setting is beautiful on a hillside with a babbling brook. Nature is always amazing. The grounds and interior of the building are neat and clean. But like the hillside that this "castle" is perched on, everything from there was downhill.
The phony Castle is a white washed plywood 1990's structure with vinyl windows and glue on brick. The interior does have some wonderful space, but is filled with an eclectic collection of less than valuable old furniture and Kmart paintings. Using the term "castle" to describe the building is truly an exaggeration.
Then there is the Master of the House outrageous fees. Clearly the nightly rate is a poor value. But there are the extra fees. You are encouraged to have dinner prepared by Chef Michael. The meal consisted of packaged food from Costco including their lobster bisque soup (retail price: $12 for 4 generous servings), au gratin potatoes (retail price: $8 for 4 generous serving) and 4 asparagus. The fish, seafood and meats may also come from Costco. The $45 to $60 bottles of wine also sell for less than $15 at Costco. You will never see Chef Michael. I wondered if he was being prepared in a Magic Chef oven. Add on the 20% tip for the Master to bring the meal to the table and to hurry you to finish it, and dinner from Costco is now up to $100 per person. I could have purchased a lot of groceries at Costco. Outrageous.
After dinner you are invited to have a cocktail at the "honor system" bar in the lower level. A wide collection of bottles of fine spirits looks terrific. Each bottle has about 2 shots in it. This is a certain way to be sure that your guests don't over-served, and at $10 per shot, another way to that Master can get into your pockets.
The bedrooms are well scaled with private baths. Most have windows that do not open unless you want to pay an extra $100 upgrade for the "deluxe" rooms. Another opportunity to rack in the money from guests who must pre-pay everything.
Chief Michael will prepare breakfast. This is not a B&B and breakfast is going to cost you at minimum another $30 per person.
The hotel is outfitted with "Internet Service" but the Master seems to turn off the routers. Just as the Master has turned off the hot water heater, so your cold shower will definitely wake you up to hike the Cabot Trail.
I truly felt ripped off and at times insulted by the Master of House southern charm. But the Cabot Trail is wonderful. Hike the Skyline Trail and you will forget Castle Moffet.

Room Tip: If you want a fantastic experience stay at the Keltic Lodge in the Park. It will cost you about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank PMTRAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    8
    5
    5
    23
See reviews for
6
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

There is a line between creating an illusion and taking advantage and this proprietor crosses it.
We reserved the three night romance package and made dinner reservations for the first night in advance at the owner's suggestion at the bottom of the reservation email confirmation. Non-refundable pre-payment was required, and we now see why. This would have been atrocious at half the price and was the most expensive night of our stay at over $425/nt.

The chilled champagne we were to get as part of the package was not there in the room on our arrival even though the owner made a big deal about getting our arrival time from us well in advance. While the oner suggested it was a $40 value I would not have paid $10 for it.

We had to request towels after we arrived since there were none in the room, even to wash our hands. There was no hot water the next morning, and we discovered there was also no soap or shampoo the first night and it was barely luke warm the rest of our stay. With no hot water my fiance could not even take advantage of the whirlpool tub. We got some excuse about "lots of pipes in the castle" but we really think they were saving money by turning off the hot water and even when they kept it on the temp was low. The bed covers smelled of a previous occupants perfume and had obviously not been washed.

The owner served us dinner in the dining room, it was just the three of us though she kept referring to "the Chef". It was clear that the chef was a Magic Chef microwave as we heard it before she delivered each and every course. Everything was clearly thawed and cooked in the microwave though it was billed as a gourmet meal at $55/p.p. If I was not so hungry I could not have eaten the Beef Wellington and my Fiance's reheated spaghetti was covered with both pesto and marinara sauce together when she had ordered pesto only. The apple struedel of this gourmet meal tasted store bought and pre-frozen, not what would be expected for a gourmet meal. Breakfast the next morning was no better, the "magic chef" yielded a waffle and bacon that were both hard as rocks and completely inedible for my fiance.

We felt "handled" by the owner with every cruise scheduling we had booked as part of the package, she told us there was no room at 11:00 AM on the whale watching cruise and when we went at 5:00pm we were told that there were only 4 people booked for 11:00 am. They saw plenty of whales, we didn't. Nor did we for some un-explicable reason get the time we requested twice (honestly she must have pretended to call the captain since we stood there and watched her supposedly being told there was no room at 11:00 AM).

This faux castle is really a small mansion, cheaply built, with some slate added at one end to make it look look like a castle.

The owner waited on us at every meal and, even though breakfast was included in our package she insisted on preparing a detailed bill for us to sign (cold toast, and she was stingy with a small lpat of frozen butter, wheat toast was passed off as rye) was $6.00 or $8.00 depending on the day, the main breakfast course was $15.00 and everything was a la carte). Apparently, while it is not usually customary to tip the owner, the owner in preparing the bill showed she was expecting a gratuity and 20% was suggested on the bill itself.

The only redeeming quality to the whole trip was the view of Lake Bra d'Or. The accommodations and service, as well as the bed and bathroom and meals were much better and more genuine everywhere else we went, including a couple of economy places we booked for our trip because of the expense of staying here.

We agree with ZachClaudel that the other reviews could not had been objectively written by any paying guest. We also agree with the other reviews concerning the damp musty basemnet and the non-fitness room, spotty wi-fi and being handled in so many different ways, such as the 8:00 am breakfast seating.

Lastly, while the owner seemed to know the area, as others have commented, it was a huge mistake to recommend Fortess Lousiburg, 4 hours total away from the whale cruise in Cheticamp on the other side of the Cape where we were scheduled to be at 5:00pm, whwther we liked it or not. When we finally parked in the huge parking area at Fort Louisburg at 11:30 AM and saw the line at the visitor's center to buy tickets to take the bus over to the fort we realized there was no way we had time to sightsee and have lunch, take the bus back and drive across the Cape to Cheticamp in time so we punted and headed back over since the whale cruise was prepaid in the package. Don't take the owner's advice when it comes to planning your day!!! Better yet, don't stay there.

Room Tip: Stay ANYWHERE else but here!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank World_Traveler_336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Baddeck hotels

Baddeck, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Castle for one night while visiting Nova Scotia. We loved the place! The grounds were beautiful, the lake view breathtaking! Linda made us feel right at home, she was so gracious . Dinner was delicious. The room with twin beds and fireplace was comfortable , made for a princess! We felt pampered here, just what we needed. I would recommend staying here, it is unique!

Vicki

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Castle Moffett was our final stop on our honeymoon trip throughout Cape Breton. We definitely saved the best for last!
The house had a unique and fascinating design and decor. The property was breathtaking! We could have admired the house and land for hours! Upon arrival we had a chilled bottle of champagne...a luxury not found often.
Included in our package was a sail boat ride which turned out to be an experience of a lifetime.
The bed was divine offering our best sleep of our honeymoon.
Linda Moffett was a gracious host offering information about the town and making our stay extra special.
Anyone travelling through Cape Breton must stay at this jem; it will truly be a stay of a lifetime.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Castle Moffett is awful in so many different ways. The design concept is hopelessly outdated (it looks to be styled in the 80s, though not in a chic retro way at all) with nary an update along the way. The architecture of the house -- totally heinous, cheaply built. The towels and linens in the rooms have been washed about 5000 times and are thin and slimy (sheets) and crusty and threadbare (towels) at this point. The bathroom is totally impractical -- with no place to put anything down or get organized. The mattress was an old Serta Sleeper that was ultra-soft and lumpy -- we got terrible backaches. The Wi-Fi was spotty and didn't work throughout the inn. And the innkeeper, Linda Moffett! She has the classic love-her-or-hate-her "big" personality -- she works on her own terms, when convenient for her. She also charges 20% on the "value" of your free breakfast -- even though she serves you and cooks for you! Although this wasn't a lot of money, it really felt wrong and classless.

Positives: The property site is gorgeous, with beautiful views throughout. It was not a big deal that we were a 15 minute drive from Baddeck. Also - Linda Moffett knows a lot about the area and has good recommendations for some of the local offerings.

This place is priced in the stratosphere. $435 for a $100 room. I was looking for the most luxurious B&B in the area and settled on Moffett. It was a huge mistake. The place is really just gross. There is not an obvious luxury alternative -- Glenora Distillery is very charming, though the rooms are not luxe (though much better than Moffett); a few of the inns in Baddeck are much more modest though some of them have real charm. If visiting this area, it is a reality that there is not a true luxury property.

One other note. It is simply impossible to imagine that anyone staying here -- objectively speaking -- could possible rate this place with 5 stars. The high reviews read to me as though they were written directly by Linda Moffett. They are written in her style and cadence.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ZachClaudeLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Pricing is not commensurate with the quality of the facility. Tatty towels that seem to have been used for years. Velour blankets on a SOFT mattress (read:back pain for two days afterwards). A 90's-chic design aesthetic. Wi-fi that is spotty at best throughout the facility and not present at all in the dining room "by design." Both the pricing plan and design aesthetic need a serious overhaul.

There also seems to be a rather loose policy when it comes to room pricing as the charge for our room went up $35 per night between our booking and arrival.

Most astonishing was the automatic 20% gratuity added to our meal on the one occasion that we ate breakfast there and were served by the innkeeper herself.

Grounds are lovely. Location is proximal to several local attractions. Hostess/owner was helpful in scheduling outings. Sadly, the pricing sets an expectation that the facility does not deliver.

Room Tip: Just don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Buddy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a lovely place to stay for a week. We so enjoyed our stay here. Rented the Safari Room, which had a beautiful view of Bra's d'Or Lake. Our own little deck with table and chairs to sit and enjoy. Our breakfast each morning was extremely delicious! One morning pancakes with apples in them...quite yummy. Another morning waffles and another morning pancakes with blueberries. The night of our arrival we had Linda and Chef Michael prepare supper for us which consisted of Salmon in a maple sauce with au gratin potatoes and broccoli. My husband had beef tenderloin/sauce, mashed potatoes. The Pear Salad was awesome and for the dessert we had cheesecake and brownie/ice cream.
Linda Moffett (owner) has many packages to choose from for attractions. She had all of this planned for us.
We recommend Castle Moffett, was such a peaceful get a away for us.

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms are good, we reserved the Safari Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smkymtngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
10.5 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
53.4 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
10.7 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
51.2 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
10.7 mi away
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Moffett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Moffett

Property: Castle Moffett
Address: 11980 Highway #105, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Castle Moffett Hotel Baddeck
Castle Moffett Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing