We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant”

Amoeba Sailing Tours day tours
Ranked #2 of 7 Tours in Baddeck
Certificate of Excellence
Brisvegas
Level Contributor
176 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We did the midday cruise on a beautiful wind free day. This caused us to have to motor a bit instead of sailing which wasn't a problem. The skipper & crewman were very friendly & informative. We saw Bald Eagles close up & kormirands & the Bell's family estate. A very pleasant way to sea Baddeck from the water.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeachshackBrisvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    22
    2
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Eagles”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We saw two pairs of mating eagles from this schooner ... including a fledgling eaglet. I was able to get plenty of photos, including action shots of an adult eagle scooping up a fish out of the water. (The captain and his crew throw out fish to attract the eagles.)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank messengrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You must take this tour!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our time sailing with Ameba Sailing Tours :). Seeing a bald eagle grab a fish from the water was the highlight of our day!
The value of the sights and the experience greatly exceeds the cost of the tour, which is very reasonable.
The captain is hilarious and we laughed pretty much the entire time! He's awesome.
Thank you for the wonderful experience :)!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karli01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Central FL
Level Contributor
334 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Check Out Eagles.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was a great ride/cruise. The captain and mate were a wealth of information. The captain coaxed an eagle to dive for a fish thrown overboard; what a fantastic photo opportunity. The knew all about the island that Alexander G. Bell owned that is now in the hands of his heirs. They had stories of the Bells and the heirs as well as lots of local information. The cruise was fun as the captain heeled the boat up at a good angle and sailed in the lake.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baddeck, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So much fun !!!!!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is one of the most fun things you can do while visiting Baddeck !!!!!! Your Captain John Bryson will make this a sail to remember . Him and his crew are very experienced on the water. They take you to see the Bell Estate from the water and any other places of interest . If you want to see eagles up close he has two friendly eagles that come very close to the boat . He does a lot of interaction with guest on board . It is an awesome way to see Babbeck from the water and it is an awesome time on board . YOU MUST DO THIS !!!!! We loved it !!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amoeba Sailing Tours day tours also viewed

Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
Pleasant Bay, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Amoeba Sailing Tours day tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing