We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely setting”
Review of Inverary Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inverary Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Reviewed August 21, 2007

We stayed 2 nights at the Ceilidh Country Lodges on an Archers tour. It was among the best of a mediocre bunch. The lodge was small but clean and had a verandah which was ideal for sitting out on a hot evening and watching the sun set. The decor was tired and the air conditioning very noisy and didn't always work. The breakfast room was far too small and claustrophobic and the service willing but slow. The restaurant over the road was rather expensive but the food was well cooked and imaginative. There was an interesting wine list. Its only 5 minutes walk into town and if you have time its probably worth while going off the site to eat. There are lots of sports and water activities for children and gardens to wander round. The road between the 2 sites could be a hazard to children. I would go again as there were many things to do in a most attrsctive setting. The staff were professional and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Archaeologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
There are newer reviews for Inverary Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 669 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2007

We stayed five nights at the Inverary. The location is superb in many ways: it is located directly at the lakeshore, the village is within walking distance and it is right in the heart of Cape Breton Island, i.e. you can go comfortably to every attractions on the island. We had a room in the main lodge with a view, not spacious, but large enough for two adults and two children. Fine amenities are to have canoes, kayaks, pedaloes for some dollars/day, a bonfire every evening at the lakeshore, a pub with live entertainment every night, an indoor pool, a playground, a tennis court and some more. The facility is well-kept. The breakfast was OK. You can chose the Continental Breakfast buffet or select from the menu, children are free or half price. The dinners were great. Except one evening we chose to eat at the 'Lakeside Cafe' with fresh and 'non-standard' seafood.
When we come back to Cape Breton Island we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Maritimes-Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights in the "Main House" I felt like royalty, Very Large Bedroom, and Bathroom with a Lovely Soker Tub...The room was very Bright wth Lots of windows, It was great to have the indoor pool, and then be able to sit out on the Deck and relax, We enjoyed every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bridgetCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

The resort is a great collection of buildings that have a lot of character, sitting right on the Bras D'Or lakes. We happened upon it during our tour of Cape Breton and didn't have a reservation. They accommodated us without any difficulty. Our room was interesting, with a king size bed that tilted slightly back towards the headboard (maybe the room was crooked?) and no view to speak of. We did have a gas fireplace, though, which was very romantic. The restaurant is a bit of hike from the main lodge, but sits on the water and is fairly 'classy'. Lots of interesting items on the menu. Enjoyed the pub onsite, which had an autographed photo of Wayne Gretzky, a bit of a conversation starter with the pub keeper. Had fun and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth_inAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2007

We just returned from 2 nights at the Inverary Resort. I thought the place was beautiful and our cottage was clean and well-equipped. The water was warm for swimming (bring water shoes because the beach is stony) and we enjoyed having an indoor pool, horseshoes kayaks, evening bonfires etc. Guests get a wristband for $7 each which allows you to use just about all the equipment from 8 to 8. My kids enjoyed the crab races at the dock. My husband and I went to the bar one night and listened to a local perform - he was terrific!

Baddeck is a great central location. Just over half an hour from both the bird island tour and kayaking. In town there is other entertainment, and the Alexnder Graham Bel museum is well worth the visit, even if it's not raining. The scenery is not as spectacular as up north in the park but we really enjoyed our two days at the Inverary.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dimples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2007

We called Inverary to stay one night on our way around the Cabot trail but they put us in the unit across the road. It felt like the motels that we stayed in years ago. It was clean but no coffee pot and just not the type of room that I expected for the price that i paid. The main lodge seemed overrun with buses so we went to the Baddeck Lobster Supper to eat and it was very good. We got up and ate breakfast on site. They gave me burned pancakes for breakfast but adjusted my bill when I complained. We did not tarry long in Baddeck but drove on the next day to enjoy the views on the trail. I would not recommend this place for a lengthy stay. It was ok for one night.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dorris10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2007

My daughter and I stayed two nights at the Inverary. Our room, located in the same building as the check in desk, was a good size and very clean and comfortable. The matttesses were not firm (my preference), in fact my daughter called them cushy cumphy. I was worried I would not sleep well, but it turned out they were comfortable; slept like a log! We ate breakfast in the main building restaurant - from the menu, available one day, was better value than the buffet, available the other day. We enjoyed a seafood dinner at the restaurant by the lake. Excellent service and food. In terms of location for a drive around the Cabot Trail, this hotel is perfect. It is also close to the Alexander Graham Bell Museum, which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Motor_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
0.3 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
334 reviews
6.0 mi away
Trailsman Motel
Trailsman Motel
#6 of 7 in Baddeck
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
42.8 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverary Resort

Address: 368 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range: $141 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inverary Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverary Resort is a family owned and operated, full service property located on the shores of the beautiful Bras d'Or Lakes in Baddeck. With a variety of accommodation types, conference facilities and waterfront recreation center, Inverary is a picturesque getaway location for couples, families and groups. Centrally located, Baddeck is the perfect place to experience the finest attractions our, world famous, Cape Breton Island has to offer. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Inverary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverary Hotel Baddeck
Inverary Resort Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing