We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stopping Off Spot”
Review of Inverary Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inverary Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Spruce Grove
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Stopping Off Spot”
Reviewed July 26, 2007

The resort is a great collection of buildings that have a lot of character, sitting right on the Bras D'Or lakes. We happened upon it during our tour of Cape Breton and didn't have a reservation. They accommodated us without any difficulty. Our room was interesting, with a king size bed that tilted slightly back towards the headboard (maybe the room was crooked?) and no view to speak of. We did have a gas fireplace, though, which was very romantic. The restaurant is a bit of hike from the main lodge, but sits on the water and is fairly 'classy'. Lots of interesting items on the menu. Enjoyed the pub onsite, which had an autographed photo of Wayne Gretzky, a bit of a conversation starter with the pub keeper. Had fun and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth_inAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    198
    166
    88
    39
See reviews for
147
287
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, On
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2007

We just returned from 2 nights at the Inverary Resort. I thought the place was beautiful and our cottage was clean and well-equipped. The water was warm for swimming (bring water shoes because the beach is stony) and we enjoyed having an indoor pool, horseshoes kayaks, evening bonfires etc. Guests get a wristband for $7 each which allows you to use just about all the equipment from 8 to 8. My kids enjoyed the crab races at the dock. My husband and I went to the bar one night and listened to a local perform - he was terrific!

Baddeck is a great central location. Just over half an hour from both the bird island tour and kayaking. In town there is other entertainment, and the Alexnder Graham Bel museum is well worth the visit, even if it's not raining. The scenery is not as spectacular as up north in the park but we really enjoyed our two days at the Inverary.

  • Liked — clean, centrally located
  • Disliked — One more bed for our third child so they weren't complaining about sharing!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dimples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2007

We called Inverary to stay one night on our way around the Cabot trail but they put us in the unit across the road. It felt like the motels that we stayed in years ago. It was clean but no coffee pot and just not the type of room that I expected for the price that i paid. The main lodge seemed overrun with buses so we went to the Baddeck Lobster Supper to eat and it was very good. We got up and ate breakfast on site. They gave me burned pancakes for breakfast but adjusted my bill when I complained. We did not tarry long in Baddeck but drove on the next day to enjoy the views on the trail. I would not recommend this place for a lengthy stay. It was ok for one night.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dorris10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2007

My daughter and I stayed two nights at the Inverary. Our room, located in the same building as the check in desk, was a good size and very clean and comfortable. The matttesses were not firm (my preference), in fact my daughter called them cushy cumphy. I was worried I would not sleep well, but it turned out they were comfortable; slept like a log! We ate breakfast in the main building restaurant - from the menu, available one day, was better value than the buffet, available the other day. We enjoyed a seafood dinner at the restaurant by the lake. Excellent service and food. In terms of location for a drive around the Cabot Trail, this hotel is perfect. It is also close to the Alexander Graham Bell Museum, which I highly recommend.

  • Liked — Restful location on the lake
  • Disliked — Buffet breakfast was too expensive
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motor_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2006

This hotel had a great location. Rooms were adequate - not luxurious, but clean and nice. We rented a kyack for $5 through the hotel - fun!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EllenandGarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2006

I wish I had checked out this resort on Tripadvisor before I booked it. There's really not a whole lot wrong with the place. I wouldn't rate it too high simply because of the beds. They were awful!!! We stayed for 4 nights and after the first night we went to Walmart and bought foam mattress pads for the beds just to be able to complete our stay. They helped enough to make them bearable and let us sleep some...... the rest of the resort was nice. The restuarants were good, the pool was nice, even if cold, and the rooms were okay. I wouldn't stay there again, unless I got confirmation of new mattresses in the rooms, or had my own pads to take with us.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — beds!
  • Tips/Secrets — if you have back problems, don't stay there!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hannah02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Baddeck hotels

Waterloo, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2006

Most of the reviews of the resort are accurate. However, I would advise people that the rooms we stayed at were VERY small and antiquated. The beds and mattresses dated from the 50s as did the bedding. For over $120 per night, we expected more than a plain-jane, charmless 1950s motel room. Therefore, please ask to see the room before you put your credit card down. There are many other areas of the resort, so you should ask to see a more recently renovated room. Unfortunately, we were there without a reservation during a very busy event weekend so we had to take the last room available.

Otherwise, the place is nice.

  • Liked — The resort is charming.
  • Disliked — The rooms are very plain and outdated considering the high rates.
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask to see the room before you commit.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TomRiedmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
0.2 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
605 reviews
27.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
0.3 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
109 reviews
1.9 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#2 of 17 in Baddeck
289 reviews
42.8 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverary Resort

Property: Inverary Resort
Address: 368 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inverary Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverary Resort is a family owned and operated, full service property located on the shores of the beautiful Bras d'Or Lakes in Baddeck. With a variety of accommodation types, conference facilities and waterfront recreation center, Inverary is a picturesque getaway location for couples, families and groups. Centrally located, Baddeck is the perfect place to experience the finest attractions our, world famous, Cape Breton Island has to offer. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inverary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverary Hotel Baddeck
Inverary Resort Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing