We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Night away with the girls”
Review of Inverary Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inverary Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Night away with the girls”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great spot for a get away! Had a 2 bedroom suite, and a lovely deck on either side to sit and view Brasdor lake. The lakeside restaurant was excellent, our waitress Katrina was super, she waited on us for dinner, then much to our delight was our waitress the next morning. Great room, friendly staff, good food. The village of Baddeck was also a pleasant surprise. Lots of fabulous shopping.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you Marilyn S for your comments. Great to hear you had a wonderful time away with the girls! Sounds like you had a blast and it was our pleasure hosting you!

We look forward to your next visit!

Matt
Inverary Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    187
    160
    87
    38
See reviews for
145
267
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Perfectly fine. Air conditioning did not work properly. A little dated property. Wanted a hotel as had booked B&B's later in the trip. Included a pedestrian breakfast and definitely more an old style hotel with old TV and minimal amenities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you Anthony327 for your review. We appreciate your comments and you will be happy to hear that we already have flat screen TVs in many of our rooms, and we have another 60 on order to complete our property! Also, I hope you had an opportunity to enjoy the many resort amenities our propety offers, including a recreation facility with water sports and lawn games, live local entertainment, or our nightly bonfire with delicie Scottish oatcake s'mores!

We look forward to seeing you again.

Matt
Inverary Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Lodging is good enough. Clean, but in need of some updating. Great staff. They have a pub & restaurant, but we didn't eat there. Short walk into Baddeck, a very tiny village, a few restaurants, local church hall where nightly celtic music is played ($10 cover) & the Alexander Graham Bell site. Very tiny town. Perfect location for starting or ending the Cabot Trail.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you Alison C for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed our quaint village and you will be happy to hear we have added new drapes to many of our rooms, new flat screen TVs are being installed and new flooring is being installed in many guest areas!

See you next time!

Matt
Inverary Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
160 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

I stayed here two nights on a tour of Cape Breton Island. The resort setting is on the lake and beautiful. The rooms are large, clean and quiet. The tour menu was somewhat limited but you can order off the main menu as an extra. All the food is very good. There is a nice pub with entertainment in the evening. All the staff are friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PanamaGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you PanamaGeorge for your review. Very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoy another Maritime tour in the near future!

All the best,

Matt
Inverary Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We enjoyed a great evening at the Thistledown pub at the inverary Inn
the food was excellent and the service was second to none. We were very impressed with the friendly staff and offerings from the pub menu... Totally recommend the prime rib burger..
They even had some local talent playing that night which made the whole experience memorable.
will definitely be back

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your review James C! Very glad you enjoyed "The Pub" as we believe it to be a great Baddeck hangout for a cold beverage, tasty food and some great tunes. It is open your round and we look forward to your next visit with us!

Have a great day

Matt
Inverary Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland Township
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

How can a place with such good food and friendly staff be such a disappointment in lodging? By having rooms where the carpet is worn and frayed, bath fixtures from the 70's, not a single piece of wall décor, furniture not even to be picked up curbside and lamps with peeling finish and stained shades...Good God.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your review Dennis A. We thank you for your comments and you will be pleased to hear we have made improvements to many of our rooms already. We have recently added fridges to all Main Lodge Deluxe rooms, upgraded the bedding in over half of our 130 rooms (the rest is on order!) adjusting/adding decor elements as well as anxiously awaiting the arrival of some new carpeting!
I am happy to hear you enjoyed our food and service, as it is these features that attract most visitors to our area. Capers are a friendly bunch!
We look forward to seeing you again!

Best wishes,

Matt
Inverary Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2014

My family and I stayed in the B&B at the resort and found the host/hostess Harry and Audrey wonderful. They treated us like family and adored /pampered my children. Chef Tim of the resort provided wonderful meals and he has a great staff. Grounds of the resort are well kept! We made great use of the kayaking rentals and enjoyed an evening of roasting smores at the camp-fire on the docks on resort. If you are looking for a relaxing/no fuss stay....The Inverary is the place!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank V L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your review VI.! It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Ceilidh Country Lodge. Harry and Audrey are a welcome addition to the Ceilidh and are truely making memories with guests such as yourself. Wonderful to heart you made such use of our property. As you mentioned, there are so many things to do in our own back yard!
We look forward to the next time you visit with us!

Sincerely,

Matt
Inverary Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
0.2 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
45.0 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.3 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
42.8 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverary Resort

Property: Inverary Resort
Address: 368 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inverary Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverary Resort is a family owned and operated, full service property located on the shores of the beautiful Bras d'Or Lakes in Baddeck. With a variety of accommodation types, conference facilities and waterfront recreation center, Inverary is a picturesque getaway location for couples, families and groups. Centrally located, Baddeck is the perfect place to experience the finest attractions our, world famous, Cape Breton Island has to offer. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inverary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverary Hotel Baddeck
Inverary Resort Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing