We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service dissappointing”
Review of Inverary Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inverary Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were in Baddeck for the Celtic Festival and decided we would stop in this pub for a pint or two and some light dinner. It was Saturday night (Oct 12, 2013) and the place was busy. We waited for at least 10 minutes for a server to come by so we could order drinks. She was overwhelmed as there was only her and the bartender serving. Apparently, someone didn't show up for their shift. We are patient people and told her we were in no hurry. As we watched her and the bartender scurry around trying to take orders, deliver them, clean up tables and serve drinks I was appalled to hear a couple come in and say they did not appreciate the wait and if they didn't turn on the TV to the channel they want "there would be hell to pay". Some people!!.. it's all about them. Nevertheless, we were served as promptly as the server could, ordered some food and listened to the musician that was booked for that evening. We had a very enjoyable night.
Now.. since that was a fairly pleasant experience.. we returned a couple of nights later to find two servers and a bartender on staff. We waited for over 20 minutes to get served.. only after I went up to the bar and asked if anyone was serving our area. I had previously made eye contact with the male waiter and he took a sip of his coffee, punched in an order on the cash register and proceeded to ignore me. He had already walked by our table at least 10 times without acknowledging us at all! So.. Thistledown Pub... train your staff on two things... 1. to acknowledge customers - even letting them know you've seen them and will have someone serve them shortly; 2. never, never walk around empty handed.. when you walk back to the bar, cash register - grab an empty glass from a table, a dirty plate or bowl from a table on your way...that way you won't be making needless trips afterward and the customer knows you are attentive. I guess having been a restaurant manager myself... and a bartender... it's hard to overlook poor service/bad training and arrogant wait staff. Word of mouth is the best advertising one could get... and the word for the second night at your location won't be printed here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wincikabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments wincikabi. I am happy to hear you had a pleasant experience at the Thistledown during Celtic Colours, and I am sorry to hear about your second visit with us. Your comments are greatly appreciated and I hope your view of our Pub and the Inverary Resort are not affected by the actions and attitude of one person, on one occasion. We pride ourselves in being very courteous and hospitable and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are visiting from Ontario. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 675 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our plans changed and we arrived in Baddeck one day early and B&B that we had booked for the following night was already booked so we stayed at this resort. This was a real disappointment and was the worst accommodations in our 30 day vacation to the Maritimes. We stayed in "The Barn" building. It was suppose to be a non-smoking room however we could smell stale smoke. We tried to open some windows late at night and found that they had all been screwed shut. Very dangerous if a fire had occurred. There was a conference booked into the resort (we heard 150 rooms). A couple of rooms were cancelled (one of those rooms was the room given to us). The unfortunate part is that 4 or 5 of the rooms was booked by the conference and several of the occupants were enjoying themselves in the lounge ( right outside our room) until midnight when we called the front desk. We should never have been given that room by the reception desk. For breakfast the next morning the server twice got my order wrong. Brought up our complaints to management who reduced our rate for the night however we could never recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ggummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you for your review ggummer. I apologize for your experience with us and I recall the conversation we had regarding your concerns. The issues you brought to our attention were addressed immediately and have since been resolved. We appreciate your feedback in helping us make our resort better for our future guests.
Thank you again and we hope to see you back to the Maritimes for another extended stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here the 1st night as Baddeck is a good place to start your tour of the island. The Alexander Graham Bell Museum is here as well as shopping for the ladies, evening entertainment is plentiful, while there are numerous cafes and restaurants available A good jumping off spot..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foleyhouseinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your review foleyhouseinn! We are pleased you enjoyed our wonderful village and took in many of the sights and sounds! We look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

An abrupt and disinterested staff at the front counter (Jillian in particular) started our stay into a downhill spiral when we reported a toilet problem in one of our rooms., the problem was not ours and the staff seemed quite snotty that they should have to deal with "our" problem.
The food in the dining room was bland and less than expectations.

Room Tip: Room was pricey and did not include breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your review Bill K. I am terribly sorry to hear about your experience with our staff member. This is not representation of how Inverary employees interact with our guests and this issue will be addressed immediately. We are proud of being very personable and friendly with all visitors and we sincerely hope you will visit us again to experience the true Inverary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I wish we walked away the minute we opened the door!! But when its late, 2 tired kids and raining, we had no choice. We were on a 10 day road trip to the maritimes and this was the WORST place ever. The room was beyond musty!! Gross! Service, blah and the decor solo outdated. You can tell nothing has been changed since opening. Dining room service was triple thumbs down, if I had a third thumb! Don't waste ur money here. Just because its advertised as a 'resort', not worth it!!! Ended up checking out early morning and went to Baddeck Inn, not too far from there. Way better and free breakfast. Just because its cheaper don't think price represents the quality of the place. Been taking pics for our album for the places we've been and stayed and Invereary resort is NOT a part of it. Do not want to be reminded! Yuck!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Faria S, I am so terribly sorry to hear about your experience at Inverary. I am very interested to learn more about your time here so we can appropriately address the issues you experienced. Thank you very much for your comments and we hope to see you back in Cape Breton in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have stayed at this resort several times and it has become one of my favorite places to go for relaxation as a couple or as a family. It is situated right on the Brasdor Lake with various water toy rentals available. The food that is served at the Thistledown pub and the restaurant is AMAZING!!! My personal favorite that I HAVE to have each and every time I visit are the lobster cakes (OMG) and the lobster ravioli (absolutely delicious). I personally am not a golfer but this is a golfers paradise..with Bell Bay literally a minutes drive away. The food at the golf course is also very good. We really enjoy the indoor pool, sauna and hot tub which is always a nightly routine before bed with the kiddies.The staff here, including the owners and family, go above and beyond in making their resort feel like your home away from home,even offering to personally drive us to the golf courser for supper one night if we decided we wanted to have drinks beforehand. I thought that was pretty spectacular!

Room Tip: If you like the nostalgic feeling, being in the main lodge is recommended. If you enjoy the pool it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you Leisa O. for your wonderful comments! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed many of the services we offer and had fun doing it! We look forward to your next stay at Inverary Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

When we first arrived we were given a "traditional" room, across the road from the main property. The room was clean, but all the furnishings were old "Motel 6" style. The paint was pealing in the bathroom. It was obvious the maintenance has been only attempted, but not really kept up to date. We requested a different room and were relocated to the main property. The room also was old, but a little nicer than the first one. However we discovered the bathroom fan sounded like a freight train when you turned the light on. It did not turn on separately, so we lived with the noise and tried to limit our time in the bath. There were also the standard signs to conserve water by reusing towels which we did. When you used the shower you pulled up a rod to divert the water to the shower head, but half the water kept running into the tub. So much for conserving water. I would not recommend this place to anyone. There are better choices out there.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

I am very sorry you were not satisfied with your room, Bob P. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention and we will make arrangements to address these issues right away. We hope you took the opportunity to explore our property and experience the wonderful amenities we offer, such as our adventure center, nighlty bonfire with s'mores, and our free nightly entertainment in the pub. Thank you again and we hope to see you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
0.3 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
671 reviews
45.0 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.3 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Trailsman Motel
Trailsman Motel
#6 of 7 in Baddeck
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
42.8 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverary Resort

Address: 368 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range: $122 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inverary Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverary Resort is a family owned and operated, full service property located on the shores of the beautiful Bras d'Or Lakes in Baddeck. With a variety of accommodation types, conference facilities and waterfront recreation center, Inverary is a picturesque getaway location for couples, families and groups. Centrally located, Baddeck is the perfect place to experience the finest attractions our world-famous Cape Breton Island has to offer. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Inverary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverary Hotel Baddeck
Inverary Resort Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing