We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate with great grounds”
Review of Inverary Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inverary Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed for one night. Arrived mid afternoon and checked out early am. Old fashioned check in with pleasant staff, real key. Nice grounds, short easy walk to town. Room at Argyle section was clean and adequate with large bed. Ate breakfast at Flora's slow service, food below average, asked for maple syrup and got packaged high fructose corn syrup pancake spread.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for your review travelrads. We appreciate your feedback on our breakfast offerings as we are always looking for ways to improve our product. Thank you again, and we look forward to your next Cape Breton getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 682 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Great location on the water, walking distance to the main strip and Coop grocery store. However ... For what they charge (we paid $159 a night for room 065 in the Argyle section), its far from good value primarily due to the rooms. Honestly, it's clear they've chosen to ride the coat tails of a great location and skip investing in regular updating of the rooms. They remind me of decor from when I was a kid (70s and 80s). I also didnt appreciate the rowdy guests around us.
On the plus side, most staff were pleasant and helpful especially the couple hosting the evening bonfire. Sorry ... But until the rooms get up to at least 1990s standards, it's hard for me to call this place good value.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfryyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments sfryyz. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, overall, and you will be pleased to hear that room 65, as well as other rooms in the Argyle building, will be receiving improvements over this fall and winter, addressing many of the same issues that yourself and other reviewers comment on. We are excited about these changes and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay! Bonfire with s'mores every evening. Close to town. Rooms are clean, spacious, well appointed. Free wi-fi. Bathrooms are large, clean and more than adequate. Free and convenient shuttle service into and out of town. Good policy on noise after a reasonable hour. Restaurant, Flora's, is quite nice with a lovely breakfast buffet. In the evenings they offer a nice selection of entrees - lots of fresh and local choices available. (Theres a restaurant called The Lobster Shack - or something to that effect - very near the property, save your money and dine at Flora's or The Bell Buoy, it really is much better!) The on site pub is nice as well, with live music and what looks like a wide variety of ales and liquors. The property itself is quite large, plenty of room to walk off that evening dessert or just stroll around to get a better look.

The service here is excellent. When we asked for a shuttle to town or a ride to the restaurant, we never waited more than two to four minutes for them to arrive, even in peak times. All manner of questions were answered quickly and professionally, and we were impressed with how consistently efficient they were.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Elizbet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for your review Elizbet22. We are very pleased you enjoyed our prtoperty, its amenities, as well as our lovely village. There is always lots to do and see, and as you put it, many wonderful people to meet. Thank you again, and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I realise it is busy season but make sure you don't get a room at the back of the property across the road from the main building. They are damp and musty, the sheets don't fit the bed and the noisy air conditioner units are left running in unoccupied rooms to try to filter the dreadful air. Our stay was awful and we couldn't wait to move on. On a plus, the views were delightful.

A pity as Baddock itself is lovely.

Room Tip: Don't take a room in McDaonald building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for your review Smree. We appreciate your comments and improvements will be made this fall and winter to our accommodations to address issues such as these. Thank you again, and we look forward to your next visit in Cape Breton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I spent our 30th Anniversary at this resort on August 6th and it couldn't have been any better.

First of all our room was in the main building room 113 and we booked a king size bed in which couldn't have been any more comfortable. The room also had a leather sofa and was exceptionally clean. The washroom was very clean with a large tub and looked fairly new. The water pressure was amazing along with lots of hot water. The aircondition in our room worked perfectly and we had to get up and turn it down as it was a little to cool at night.

We found the staff to be extremely friendly especially Harry who ran the adventure center and our favorite spot the bon fire. The breakfast was amazing with so much food that it was hard for one person to eat it all and believe me my husband can eat. The table beside us had also commented on the portion size. Meagan (I believe that was her name) our waitress was wonderful and couldn't do enough for us.

This was just the perfect walking distance to Baddeck which is such a cute little town with a really nice water front and boardwalk.

If I had to compain, there were a couple of things that they could look at changing. I think that the carpet needs to be changed, there were stains that were obviously cleaned but not able to get out but makes this place look so much more outdated. The TV's are also outdated but didn't make a hugh difference to us as we don't go on vacation to watch tv anyway.

This was the first place that we went away together 32 years ago and we were looking so forward to returning.

The best part about this vacations was that we booked through travelzoo and were absolutely happy with what we ended up paying for two nights. I hope that they offer this resort through travelzoo again as we will be the first ones to grab this deal.

Room Tip: Book in the main building I think that these rooms have been renovated, I think, in the last few yea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments michelle h, and happy anniversary! We are very pleased you chose to stay with us to celebrate and took advantage of our travelzoo promotion. You feedback is valued highly and we appreciate your recommendations. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Quite nice Resort at top location - but the years show everywhere.
No fridge in the room might be ok, but the "air conditioning" makes a hell of a noise and smells like never washed socks!
Pool out of service on 3rd of August is not too nice also.
The Managment has obviously space to improve

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerPeter_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for your review DerPeter_007. You will be happy to hear that we will be making improvements to many of our rooms and grounds this fall and winter, guided by the comments of guests like you. We are glad you enjoyed your experience, overall, and we hope you visit Cape Breton again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at the Argyle block and I guess the management took advantage of the holiday season to charge what they do but it certainly was far from good value. Our initial room wasn't available so we were allocated another one where the toilet wasn't attached to the floor! We informed the front desk and were given a second room which smelt of mould and the air conditioning unit sounded like a diesel tractor with the filter pads choked with dirt.
Very noisy with other guests partying till midnight close by.
All in all it's a very tired dated establishment, which is a shame as the grounds are lovely although avoid walking on the extensive lawns as we did and walked into a slushy bit that smelt of sewage!
In summary

Room Tip: The other accommodation options may be better, but avoid Argyle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dive_revive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments dive_revive. I am sorry to hear about your difficulties finding a suitable room. I am sure you will be happy to hear that we will be doing updates to many rooms in the Argyle building, using your comments to make our rooms better. We thank your for your review and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
0.3 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
676 reviews
27 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
0.3 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Trailsman Motel
Trailsman Motel
#6 of 7 in Baddeck
213 reviews
42.8 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverary Resort

Address: 368 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range: $121 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inverary Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverary Resort is a family owned and operated, full service property located on the shores of the beautiful Bras d'Or Lakes in Baddeck. With a variety of accommodation types, conference facilities and waterfront recreation center, Inverary is a picturesque getaway location for couples, families and groups. Centrally located, Baddeck is the perfect place to experience the finest attractions our world-famous Cape Breton Island has to offer. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inverary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverary Hotel Baddeck
Inverary Resort Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing