We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding w/e fun”
Review of Inverary Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inverary Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wedding w/e fun”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We spent the 4th thru 7th of July at this lovely resort.My husband and I (Mother of the Bride) opted to have a king cottage.It was lovely and clean,(although a bit pricey ,we were more than happy with the room) .We had breakfast on site two mornings and one dinner in the pub...the food and service was excellent !My daughter had her wedding reception in the MacAulay Room. Her planner Jill and event co-ordinator Audrey made her day absolutely amazing and very relaxing.No request left unattended. Water /sandwiches,champagne glasses and fruit was delivered to the bridal suite as requested. The MacAulay room was decorated beautifully .We made up gift bags for our guests and they were all delivered by staff in a timely manner .All last minute changes were handled with ease.The food and beverage service for the reception was excellent . Thanks so much to all the staff at The Inverary Inn for making what could have been a very stressful time so relaxing and pleasant! Happy memories were made here!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Congratulations to you, your daughter and new son-in-law! It is always exciting to see couples exchange their vows with us! We are truly honoured to serve as hosts for this special day and are so glad you enjoyed your experience! We will see you again on your next trip to Cape Breton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    187
    160
    87
    38
See reviews for
145
267
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great place for family and to relax. Kids love the pool and there are lots of activities. Service was wonderful. We were given a great room with two beds and a pull out sofa. The staff were always friendly and helpful, from housekeeping, to servers we received consistent friendly and helpful service. We especially appreciated Harry, who managed the bonfire on the three nights we were there. Our three year old followed him around as he showed her the crabs, brought her games and showed great patience and graciousness. He made her trip to Cape Breton memorable.

The resort could invest in some updates to the decor and newer TVs, but overall found it great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammitravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, sammitravelsalot! We are very glad you and your family enjoyed your getaway at Inverary! Harry will be very pleased to hear you enjoyed his company so much and we will be sure to save a s'more or two for your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay,Ca.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The best way to make reservations is @ the tourist bureau as soon as you cross over the causeway into Cape Breton.The reason why because it's there you can get the best deal & price for your room.This hotel has all different kinds of rooms & I have been to many different ones & all rooms had very comfortable beds which is my number one reason for staying here.The hotel is on both sides off the road.If you stay in a room on the Bras d'or Lake side you may get a water view which I've had & sometimes not.On the other side of the road up on a hill are more rooms which are cheaper & are more like motel rooms,They are not as nice but cheaper & each room has an area outside with chairs to sit & look across the way of a view of the water.The best deal I got from the tourist bureau was a room on the Bras d'or Lake side which included a full breakfast no charge.The hotel has a great restaurant but there are also lots of good restaurant right in the town of Baddeck.If you love lobster make sure you go to the lobster supper restaurant which is in town. Ask @ the hotel & they will tell you where this lobster supper restaurant is located.The hotel also has a pool & whirlpool.It also has a pub & sometimes in the evening there is live entertainment.All staff @ this hotel are super friendly & helpful.You will love the town of Baddeck & make sure you visit the shops & restaurants here plus in the evening in the summer you will find live entertainment .When you are @ the tourist bureau they can tell you all there is to see & do in Baddeck.

Room Tip: If you want a better room choose a room on the Bras d'or Lake side near the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiannMorroBay_Ca_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your review DiannMorroBay_Ca_! We are very pleased to see you have returned for another stay and took advantage of our lovely village and all we have to offer here in Baddeck. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Spent two nights here in the motel unit above the main property. Motel 6 has better accommodations. However, we looked at some of the other rooms upon departure and they were very nice. My advice to anyone considering this place would be to get very specific detail of exactly what is being offered. I think there is a very wide range in quality. I rated it poor because of the room I got, but can see how others may have had much better experiences.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex3l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your most recent stay alex3l. As you mentioned, we have a wide range of accommodation types and our friendly front desk staff will be pleased to assist you in finding an appropriate room for you.
I hope you enjoyed some of the services we offer here at Inverary, such as our spa, recreation center or our nightly bonfire with s'mores!
Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit to Baddeck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Baddeck hotels

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great place to stay, bon fires, lakeside,great for weddings, indoor pool very nice and make sure you book your stay ahead of time to get the nicer buildings, they have many buildings and each is furnished different, I recommend glagow building where the swimming pool is. Get the golf package, is awesome with Bell Bay Golf course. They also have some amazing 5 star condos, 2 and 3 bedrooms,thinking of buying a few weeks at Kildare Landing and their new building is Aster. They own the Resorts,the Golf course and the condo project.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveler2013855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your review happytraveler2013855! Looks like you really explored our property and all we have to offer! Also glad to hear your are interested in our Kildare Landing Condominium Project! These vacation homes are of exquisit quality and include lots of great amenities! We look forward to see you here at Inverary again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

for the hotel room itself, i give it 4.5/5. i was in a one bedroom suite in the argyle building and i absolutely loved it. the beds including the pullout sofa were very comfortable and it appeared to be newly renovated within the five to fifteen years. it had an electric fireplace, mini fridge and a faux granite counter bar-ish area. the suite was perfectly clean and very well decorated. it had air conditioning that wasnt too loud and nice vaulted ceilings. it also had a guide on what to do in the area. for the suite itself, i would stay in it again with no second thought. the only issue is that it uses actual keys which is very odd considering that every other hotel on the planet uses magnetic strip. but it was no issue. and it had ice and vending in the hallway which was nice.

the grounds themselves and the main building were beautiful and well manicured. also, the lake was very scenic (as seen from our suite). also, i could also sense a whiff of spiritual energy (ghosts) in the main building. definitely a plus if you like history and aren't bothered by that stuff. it was a pretty beautiful old building that was built in the 1800's and was beautifully re-done.

now for the complaints: firstly, hotel pools are usually pretty empty and you could almost always find a couple free minutes to yourself in the pool area. i couldn't in this case. apparently they rent out the pool area to people in the town. that was kinda annoying because i dint want a bunch of splashy kids around or people doing it in the hot tub... yuck!!! but that last bit is beyond the hotels control. other than that, the gym was pretty decently equipped and was often empty so you can get some time for yourselves. it also had a nice patio area outside.

my other problem was that we had a reservation at the lakeside restaurant at 9:00. i was on my way to the restaurant but i forgot something in the room and i arrived around 9:05. when i arrived there, a lady who worked in the restaurant came out and told me that the kitchen is closed because we were late. im not kidding at all, i was 3-6 minutes late and they closed the kitchen. i was pretty shocked at first and it took a few minutes to sink in until my aunt came (she booked the reservation). after a heated exchange of words with my aunt and the lady, we stormed off and looked for a pizza place off property. we got recommended a really good one but i forget the name. the pizza was great. so unless the hotel fixes this policy, i wouldn't recommend people going to this restaurant in a million years. i work in customer service myself and i would never do that to someone in that situation. kinda makes me angry.

all in all, this is a great hotel. the main lodge's rooms and the suites in the argyle building are by far my favorite and probably the nicest rooms you can get in cape breton. apparently the motel rooms are kinda dodgy but the ones with interior hallways are great and renovated. i probably would come back if im ever in the area again. its well kept and the rooms are spotless and the beds are comfy. and for the most part, the service is pretty good and personal. most of them really did work hard for you to enjoy your stay. sorry for the long review :p

Room Tip: get a suite in the 3rd floor of the argyle, theyre awesome and very homey. the rooms in the main lod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ogalief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review ogalief! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your room so much, and thank you for the compliment on being the best in Cape Breton! Wow!
I am sorry to hear about your experience at our restaurant, however. This is certainly not characteristic of how our restaurants operate and we are more than happy to accommodate circumstances such as yours. Thank you again for the thorough review, and we look forward to your next stay in Baddeck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Expansive Motel, not really a resort. It needs investment to bring it up to modern day standards. New linen in rooms, flat screen TV, Wi-Fi that works, renewal of landscaping. A lot of paint and pressure spraying would go a long way.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougiefla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review, dougiefla. We certainly appreciate any and all feedback from our guests. We are continually updating our rooms and amenities and currently have many of the items you are looking for in your review. Our friendly front desk staff are more than willing to find you a room that works best for you. Thank you again, and we look forward to your next trip to Baddeck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
0.2 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
45.0 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.3 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
42.8 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverary Resort

Property: Inverary Resort
Address: 368 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inverary Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverary Resort is a family owned and operated, full service property located on the shores of the beautiful Bras d'Or Lakes in Baddeck. With a variety of accommodation types, conference facilities and waterfront recreation center, Inverary is a picturesque getaway location for couples, families and groups. Centrally located, Baddeck is the perfect place to experience the finest attractions our, world famous, Cape Breton Island has to offer. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inverary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverary Hotel Baddeck
Inverary Resort Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing