We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed the telecom engineer”

Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Baddeck
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum chronicles the life and career of Alexander Graham Bell with its rich collection of artifacts and documents accumulated by Dr. Bell and his family during their time in Nova Scotia.
Souris, MB
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Impressed the telecom engineer”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband is a telecom engineer and he really enjoyed the museum. It is not just for engineers though, I also thoroughly enjoyed it and was surprised to learn about Alexander Graham Bell's wife and the role she played in his experiments. Very enlightening.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    864
    408
    99
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lees Summit, Missouri, United States
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Some interesting things we didn't know about him. Sits looking over Bras Dor Lake. Which means Inlet Sea.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family attraction”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to the museum. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. Our kids very much enjoyed the science experiments and the kite building opportunity. They took their kites outside after and had a great time and the scenery was beautiful in the background.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank I_ski_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Terrific museum”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Learned so much about Alexander Graham Bell and family. Historical value is well worth it. Don't miss this museum.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Milehighhorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
184 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Learned a lot”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were not planning on going to this museum this year. When we bought our Parks Canada annual pass, we noticed that admission to this museum was included. Since we passed by here on our way to North Sydney, we decided to stop by. We enjoyed it as much as we did when we visited the museum a few years ago.

It has a beautiful location on a hill overlooking Lake Bras d'Or. We enjoyed reading the story of Alexander and his wife Mabel, seeing the objects that his daughters gave to the museum, hearing the interviews with his daughters, granddaughter, employees, and townspeople and seeing the video of Alexander's and his friends' first attempts at flying. Beware that there is a lot of reading to do in this museum.

This pass that we bought on online from Parks Canada ($57.00 each for a senior) seems to be a very good deal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bcnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site also viewed

 
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing