We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop For a visit”

Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Baddeck
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum chronicles the life and career of Alexander Graham Bell with its rich collection of artifacts and documents accumulated by Dr. Bell and his family during their time in Nova Scotia.
Toronto
Level Contributor
187 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Stop For a visit”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

As a Canadian, I was surprised at the scale of this museum and embarrassed that I learned so much here ( I should have known much of this already). Definitely merits a stop.

Helpful?
1 Thank HomerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    815
    386
    90
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Great for families or adults. Lots to see and learn. Don't miss it if you are doing the Cabot Trail.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ohdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very informative museum”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I had no idea that Mr. Bell invented anything other than the telephone. I also never knew his wife was deaf. This is an excellent museum with excellent exhibits, even the first hydrofoil. Great visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
421 reviews
183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“I learned more than I could have imagined”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The Alexander Graham Bell Museum had a lot to see and learn about. Alexander Graham Bell had invented more than I ever imagined. The museum is extensive. It sits on a hill overlooking a magnificent view of Cape Breton in the resort town of Baddeck. The town is lovely to walk around in. People are very willing to help you find things.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank yellowbirdVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“don't miss this”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Even if you do ot love museums, this one is a must see! Lot's of very interesting information. Very well done!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jssclu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site also viewed

 
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing