We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can"t review the accomodations, because our reservation wasn't honored”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bell View Luxury Suites
Ranked #10 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We had made reservations at the "Bell View Luxury Suites" after several days of searching the internet. We made the reservation on Aug 9, 2010 for Sept 4, 2010. As the date approached, so did the possibility of a hurricane. The cancellation policy stated on their website is 72 hrs notice. My wife called to inquire what would happen if the storm hit. We were advised by the owner that unless 72 hrs notice was given we would be charged full rate for the room. My wife further asked if this would still be in effect if the Confederation Bridge was closed and was told in that case they may reconsider. The date arrived to make the trip and the bridge was not closed. We debated whether to go or not and decided to venture out in the storm. We arrived in Baddeck to find out that the power was out due to the storm passing through (we found this out when we looked for a gas station to refuel). We further ventured on through Baddeck to check in at the "Bell View". Upon arrival we were met in the parking lot by the owner (Denise Mulley) to be advised that they were not taking any guests, due to the power outage. At the time there was no explanation other than "we have no power". We asked if there was a possibility of seeing the room we were missing out on (we were impressed by the online photos) in case we were to return and again were told "we have no power". I thought they would have had a flashlight or candle to show us the room with and didn't think it was too much to ask after diving 6 hrs through a storm.
It wasn't until we got back in the car and started to drive that we looked at each other and said, what do we do now ? If this is everyone's policy, do we sleep in the car ? I then turned to the GPS and called another place to inquire for a room and was told they were full, but we could try McIntyres Cottages. I called and was told they had a cottage vacant. I was then was very nicely advised that if we wanted the cabin, there was no power and one flush. :) I asked the price and agreed. I later found out after checking online, that not only did they provide us with accommodations, but they also did it at a reduced rate. Thank you once again "McIntyre's Cottages".

I would also like to mention that we were advised by the owner that: She called in the morning and left a message regarding the storm and also had sent us an email. Unfortunately I can not confirm either. We had no message on our answering machine or record of a phone call with our caller ID and in regards to the email, i can't find it either. However i do still have the confirmation email that was sent in August.

After thinking over the situation for the last few days I decided to call and inform the owner I was not happy with what went on. I didn't quite get the response I expected. To say the least it was not a pleasant conversation and the only goodbye I heard was the click of a telephone.

In closing one thing I would like to mention is that according to Denise Mulley, her insurance would not cover any accident that may happen if the power was out. This was the main reason should would not let us stay.
So I was quite surprised when we drive back through Baddeck that we did not see all the other people that were thrown out into the streets to sleep in their cars, due to the power outage!!!

PS - Here's something else interesting, our confirmation says $159.00 and their homepage says $120 - $149 guaranteed

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
6  Thank EmptyNestersPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 59 of 59 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed at the Bell View for 6 nights and were delighted with the establishment and the owners Bill & Denise. It was spotlessly clean and the breakfasts cooked by Denise were excellent. The blueberry pancakes are to die for. the bath and hand towels were changed daily and the room had a great Jauzzi bath. It was well situated and within easy walking distance of all local amenities. Bill was a wealth of knowledge on Cape Breton and the Cabot trail, local dining spots. It is a great place to stay for your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinMorson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

I stayed at the Bell View for one evening in July after driving the Cabot Trail. Despite the over-the-top decor (it felt like perma-Christmas with all the wreaths and candles), it was lovely. Most comfortable bed I've possible ever slept in and the whirlpool was an added bonus. Breakfast was simple but delicious and Denise, the was welcome and friendly. The DVD selection downstairs was an added bonus. This felt more like a small inn than a bed and breakfast, which was perfect.

The only other downfall was the 10 a.m. check-out time and that breakfast ended at 9:00 a.m. I wanted more time to enjoy the bed! The price was also a bit steep ($170 with taxes in), considering we stayed in a similar inn the night before for only $100. (A $125-150 price point would have been perfect, considering hot breakfast was included.) Overall, though, I would recommend this inn.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We absolutely loved this place. The owner, Denice, was very charming. Breakfasts were unbelievably good - choices of several hot dishes made to order, and the best coffee we had all week. Very peaceful place with nice decor.

The bed was also very comfortable - and the view of the lake was perfect. We would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelCallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Wow! We had a terrific stay at the Bell View suites in Baddeck. The Inn Keeper, has an eye for the details. A beautiful place to stay awhile. The decor is romantic and the details are layered. Step into this B&B and you are welcomed with a big smile and a quick tour of your room and how everything works, the satellite TV, the whirlpool tub, and air conditioner. Our breakfast was delicious and served in the tastefully decorated dining room. We were there to ride the Cabot Trail. After the day riding you appreciate the very comfortable bed. Hospitality is the name of the game and this one is a winner. Looking forward to getting back there.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Burstbucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
2.2 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
674 reviews
2.0 mi away
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
1.9 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
681 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lynwood Inn
Lynwood Inn
#9 of 17 in Baddeck
204 reviews
2.0 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#7 of 17 in Baddeck
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell View Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell View Luxury Suites

Address: 713 Bay Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range: $131 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bell View Luxury Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bell View Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell View Luxury Suites Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing