We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bell View Luxury Suites
Ranked #10 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed 2 nights and had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Room was comfortable and the host, Denise, was very gracious. The location is great, just minutes away from the Alexander Graham Bell Museum, and a perfect base from which to explore the Cabot Trail. Several other couples were staying there each day and conversation with the guests and with Denise was a great start for each day. Always had 3 choices for breakfast and those we had were very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    8
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mount Uniacke, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I just spent a great weekend here...excellent service and a beautiful and clean room. The weather wasn't the greatest, I found the bed a bit too soft (my wife found it exactly to her liking), and the TV was small...but the host did everything she could to make us comfortable. My point being, I didn't go there to watch TV, I wasn't expecting our host to predict how firm I like my bed, and it's not the owner's fault the weather didn't cooperate. Our expectations were reasonable, and they were far exceeded! Judging from some previous commenters, it appears that some clients expected nothing short of perfection - this is an older B&B in a rural part of Nova Scotia that is notorious for changing weather conditions. If you expect perfection and and an ability for the proprietor to predict all your personal tastes, you will probably be disappointed. However, if you are looking for a well kept accommodation with great service, a beautiful view, and owners that will treat you like old friends, you have come to the right place! For those of you in the latter category, I would highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Get the suite in the front, facing the bay; it has a big whirlpool tub and offers a beautiful view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotiabrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

An official tourist info office recommended this as a luxury B&B so we booked for 2 nights and drove directly there. Our room was adequate at best: no closet - just a coat rack, no space in bathroom for toiletries, dirty windows that did not open. Certainly not luxurious, as advertised. After we informed the manager that we wished to stay only one night, her cancellation policy of 72 hours notice was brought to our attention, and we were held to that. Heck, we had only booked a few hours ago --- on the same day! We were so unhappy that we decided to spend only one night, even though we were forced to pay for the two. This was our only unhappy experience in our 2 week Maritime holiday. Two good points: the breakfast was tasty, and we were well situated to visit the Alexander Graham Bell Museum.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elsie003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeoye Falls, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Bell View is well situated just a short walk /drive out of Baddeck, with easy access to Cabot Trail, golfing,museums or for just goofing around. We were there during "Celtic Colours" and although we didn't partake, this b&b would be central to the various venues within Cape Breton.
Being in a heritage Victorian home, it is decorated for that time period. The rooms are clean, beds are very comfortable, breakfasts are delicious and the proprietor Denise & her staff are very courteous and helpful.
We had a wonderful 3 nights and would stay there again.
K & L
Rochester, NY

Room Tip: rooms on the front have beautiful views of Bras D'Or Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laima B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I was excited to have a one night getaway with just my 5 month old and myself. A quiet room with a book.

At check in I was informed that I would have to pay for the mattress if the baby wet the bed. Did I have a crib? The room I was shown to did not have the space to set up a playpen and so I had lots of blankets to put under the baby in the event of a leak.

When bringing up my bags to my room I was stopped by the owner and basically told that if no crib no baby. Then (presumably) his wife starting talking very condescendingly to the lady at the front desk who had been more than kind. She kept saying:don't we all know this rule? I picked up my bags and left. On my way out I did inform the owner that she did tell me that you prefer cribs and that I had assurred her that I had adequate bankets to go under the baby.

I hope this helps any young families to choose another venue.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mommyxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
333 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Bell View is what a B&B should be. Located a minute' drive outside of Baddeck, it's set well back from the road, and Bras D'or Lake is on the other side of the road. Very quiet.

The B&B is in a heritage home, decorated for that period (with perhaps a bit too much faux greenery!). All five rooms are located on the second floor (no elevator), and are furnished with a quiet elegance. They're rooms in a heritage home, so they're definitely on the small side, and calling them "suites" really is a bit of a stretch. Our room (#5) had an ensuite with a large jet tub plus shower. There are adirondack chairs set out for enjoying the view, and there's a small dock on the lake as well.

Breakfast was served in a beautifully furnished formal dining room. There were three entree choices, which were served quickly and cheerfully.

We loved our stay here, slept like babies, and would highly recommend it. The only minor criticism is that their website doesn't provide enough information or photos - so I've included lots with this review.

Note that Google Maps doesn't understand this location - just look for the B&B on the shores of Bras D'or, near the golf course.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lomimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and I and another couple were extremely pleased with our accommodations at the Bell View in Baddeck in mid June. The rooms with king sized beds were already booked when I called for reservations, but the queen sized rooms were more than adequate, and everything was spotlessly clean. The B&B is well decorated and appointed, the breakfast delicious and Denise (the owner) was very pleasant and helpful. You will not be disappointed with this B&B (and I can't understand the negativity in the previous post). We always stay at B&Bs throughout our travels in the US and abroad, and this B&B deserves very high marks. Go and enjoy yourself!

Room Tip: Quiet area - location of rooms not important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janbsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
13.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
589 reviews
11.6 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
279 reviews
13.1 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
612 reviews
13.0 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#8 of 17 in Baddeck
93 reviews
12.8 mi away
Auld Farm Inn B & B
Auld Farm Inn B & B
#2 of 17 in Baddeck
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell View Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell View Luxury Suites

Property: Bell View Luxury Suites
Address: 713 Bay Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bell View Luxury Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bell View Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell View Luxury Suites Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing