We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victorian Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bell View Luxury Suites
Ranked #10 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Honeoye Falls, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Victorian Gem”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Bell View is well situated just a short walk /drive out of Baddeck, with easy access to Cabot Trail, golfing,museums or for just goofing around. We were there during "Celtic Colours" and although we didn't partake, this b&b would be central to the various venues within Cape Breton.
Being in a heritage Victorian home, it is decorated for that time period. The rooms are clean, beds are very comfortable, breakfasts are delicious and the proprietor Denise & her staff are very courteous and helpful.
We had a wonderful 3 nights and would stay there again.
K & L
Rochester, NY

Room Tip: rooms on the front have beautiful views of Bras D'Or Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laima B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    8
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I was excited to have a one night getaway with just my 5 month old and myself. A quiet room with a book.

At check in I was informed that I would have to pay for the mattress if the baby wet the bed. Did I have a crib? The room I was shown to did not have the space to set up a playpen and so I had lots of blankets to put under the baby in the event of a leak.

When bringing up my bags to my room I was stopped by the owner and basically told that if no crib no baby. Then (presumably) his wife starting talking very condescendingly to the lady at the front desk who had been more than kind. She kept saying:don't we all know this rule? I picked up my bags and left. On my way out I did inform the owner that she did tell me that you prefer cribs and that I had assurred her that I had adequate bankets to go under the baby.

I hope this helps any young families to choose another venue.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mommyxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
326 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Bell View is what a B&B should be. Located a minute' drive outside of Baddeck, it's set well back from the road, and Bras D'or Lake is on the other side of the road. Very quiet.

The B&B is in a heritage home, decorated for that period (with perhaps a bit too much faux greenery!). All five rooms are located on the second floor (no elevator), and are furnished with a quiet elegance. They're rooms in a heritage home, so they're definitely on the small side, and calling them "suites" really is a bit of a stretch. Our room (#5) had an ensuite with a large jet tub plus shower. There are adirondack chairs set out for enjoying the view, and there's a small dock on the lake as well.

Breakfast was served in a beautifully furnished formal dining room. There were three entree choices, which were served quickly and cheerfully.

We loved our stay here, slept like babies, and would highly recommend it. The only minor criticism is that their website doesn't provide enough information or photos - so I've included lots with this review.

Note that Google Maps doesn't understand this location - just look for the B&B on the shores of Bras D'or, near the golf course.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lomimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and I and another couple were extremely pleased with our accommodations at the Bell View in Baddeck in mid June. The rooms with king sized beds were already booked when I called for reservations, but the queen sized rooms were more than adequate, and everything was spotlessly clean. The B&B is well decorated and appointed, the breakfast delicious and Denise (the owner) was very pleasant and helpful. You will not be disappointed with this B&B (and I can't understand the negativity in the previous post). We always stay at B&Bs throughout our travels in the US and abroad, and this B&B deserves very high marks. Go and enjoy yourself!

Room Tip: Quiet area - location of rooms not important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janbsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is a difficult review to write but we owe it to Tripadvisor readers.
We had reserved two rooms for three nights. We did not stay at this B&B because of an unfortunate misunderstanding. In our opinion the confirmed rate was at the limit of fair value for the time of year and location. We were surprised when, on arrival, we were advised that the total cost would be 15% more because of taxes. This had not been mentioned in the written confirmation. Our past experience had universally been that the quoted price was the total amount due or the confirmation stated that taxes were additional and the total price was then indicated.
We had the opportunity to see the rooms. One room was small and cramped because of the oversized furniture including a wardrobe. There was no desk, nor was there room for one. There was no space for luggage either. The bathroom had no towel racks and no place beside the sink for toiletries. The other room, king-sized, had ample space, but the double whirlpool tub was right in the bedroom. A strange sight and location.
The proprietor consented to allow us to find other accommodations without charge. We immediately found fully suitable accommodations in Baddeck for about 30% less than this establishment.
Because we did not stay at the Bell View, we cannot comment on the breakfasts or other aspects of this B&B.
Others may find this B&B suitable; we did not.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank loonisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

On a sunny Septembre afternoon we arrived at the Bell View B & B just a few minutes walk outside of Baddeck in Nova Scotia. A brilliant location at St. Patricks Channel, a quiet place. A lovely Victorian building (I guess ...) with a very nice, exqusite interior decoration. Our room was just a little bit to small for all the nice furniture, but it had a nice atmosphere.
The friendly welcome, the nice chats with Teresa and Denise and the atmosphere of this lovely B & B made our short stay (1 night) memorable.
We would definately stay again at DeniseMulley`s B & B.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelina40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We enjoyed oufr two night stay!!! Good breakfast......Denise was a gracious hostess!



  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
13.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
11.6 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
13.1 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
15.1 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
12.8 mi away
Auld Farm Inn B & B
Auld Farm Inn B & B
#2 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell View Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell View Luxury Suites

Property: Bell View Luxury Suites
Address: 713 Bay Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bell View Luxury Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bell View Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell View Luxury Suites Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing