We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bell View Luxury Suites
Ranked #10 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“wonderful B&B”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Bell View is what a B&B should be. Located a minute' drive outside of Baddeck, it's set well back from the road, and Bras D'or Lake is on the other side of the road. Very quiet.

The B&B is in a heritage home, decorated for that period (with perhaps a bit too much faux greenery!). All five rooms are located on the second floor (no elevator), and are furnished with a quiet elegance. They're rooms in a heritage home, so they're definitely on the small side, and calling them "suites" really is a bit of a stretch. Our room (#5) had an ensuite with a large jet tub plus shower. There are adirondack chairs set out for enjoying the view, and there's a small dock on the lake as well.

Breakfast was served in a beautifully furnished formal dining room. There were three entree choices, which were served quickly and cheerfully.

We loved our stay here, slept like babies, and would highly recommend it. The only minor criticism is that their website doesn't provide enough information or photos - so I've included lots with this review.

Note that Google Maps doesn't understand this location - just look for the B&B on the shores of Bras D'or, near the golf course.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lomimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
41
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and I and another couple were extremely pleased with our accommodations at the Bell View in Baddeck in mid June. The rooms with king sized beds were already booked when I called for reservations, but the queen sized rooms were more than adequate, and everything was spotlessly clean. The B&B is well decorated and appointed, the breakfast delicious and Denise (the owner) was very pleasant and helpful. You will not be disappointed with this B&B (and I can't understand the negativity in the previous post). We always stay at B&Bs throughout our travels in the US and abroad, and this B&B deserves very high marks. Go and enjoy yourself!

Room Tip: Quiet area - location of rooms not important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janbsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is a difficult review to write but we owe it to Tripadvisor readers.
We had reserved two rooms for three nights. We did not stay at this B&B because of an unfortunate misunderstanding. In our opinion the confirmed rate was at the limit of fair value for the time of year and location. We were surprised when, on arrival, we were advised that the total cost would be 15% more because of taxes. This had not been mentioned in the written confirmation. Our past experience had universally been that the quoted price was the total amount due or the confirmation stated that taxes were additional and the total price was then indicated.
We had the opportunity to see the rooms. One room was small and cramped because of the oversized furniture including a wardrobe. There was no desk, nor was there room for one. There was no space for luggage either. The bathroom had no towel racks and no place beside the sink for toiletries. The other room, king-sized, had ample space, but the double whirlpool tub was right in the bedroom. A strange sight and location.
The proprietor consented to allow us to find other accommodations without charge. We immediately found fully suitable accommodations in Baddeck for about 30% less than this establishment.
Because we did not stay at the Bell View, we cannot comment on the breakfasts or other aspects of this B&B.
Others may find this B&B suitable; we did not.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank loonisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

On a sunny Septembre afternoon we arrived at the Bell View B & B just a few minutes walk outside of Baddeck in Nova Scotia. A brilliant location at St. Patricks Channel, a quiet place. A lovely Victorian building (I guess ...) with a very nice, exqusite interior decoration. Our room was just a little bit to small for all the nice furniture, but it had a nice atmosphere.
The friendly welcome, the nice chats with Teresa and Denise and the atmosphere of this lovely B & B made our short stay (1 night) memorable.
We would definately stay again at DeniseMulley`s B & B.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelina40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We enjoyed oufr two night stay!!! Good breakfast......Denise was a gracious hostess!



  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewberry, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

After coming from Alberta to Nova Scotia for a family reunion we had a couple of days to visit Cape Breton. On our last night we found ourselves in Baddeck without a reservation. My wife contacted a couple of places by phone and asked if they had a room large enough for two adults and our 15 year old son. Denise went beyond what was expected and gave us the last two rooms in the B&B. Our son had his own room (basically for the price of the breakfast) and we had our own room. The rooms were very nice with private ensuited and were everything we needed and more. Our son was having a hard time deciding what choice to make for breakfast and Denise made up a plate for him of a little bit of everything (totally spoiling him!!). Thanks for a great stay - we would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BNStiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed 2 nights at the Bell View at the beginning of August 2011. The room was super clean and the bathroom spotless (I'm a self- avowed neat freak) and surprisingly large.

This truly is a luxurious B&B from the room to the dining room overlooking the lake where we ate at a private table. The man of the house (who does not look at Trip Advisor reviews) was a most charming host. Breakfast was hearty (choice of 3 offerings), delicious and the coffee to die for.

I wholeheartedly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OntarioTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
13.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
608 reviews
31.9 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
13.1 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
632 reviews
13.0 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#8 of 17 in Baddeck
98 reviews
8.7 mi away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell View Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell View Luxury Suites

Property: Bell View Luxury Suites
Address: 713 Bay Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bell View Luxury Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Bell View Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell View Luxury Suites Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing