We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base from which to drive the Cabot Trail” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baddeck Heritage House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baddeck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baddeck Heritage House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 18 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great base from which to drive the Cabot Trail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Very nice, comfortable accommodation, good breakfasts and very friendl, hospitable hosts, what more could you want? Great base from which to drive the Cabot Trail, which can be done in one, longish day, depending on how many stops you make. Baddeck itself is also worth a little look.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
216
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

We chose Heritage House over the larger B&B establishments because we wanted an intimate, homy lodging experience. Personable hosts, Liz and Dick, delivered beyond expectation! They greet you with warmth and charm and ensure that all of your comforts are met. Liz sits you down and walks you through her wonderful breakfast creations and you simply (actually it wasn't since all offerings so tempted the palate!) place your order. Presentation and taste were a real treat for the senses! The House and its decor are so inviting that one might linger too long and forsake exploring the beautiful community of Baddeck. Tired feet at day's end really appreciated the comfortable bed in the cosy, spotless room. Thank you Liz and Dick for your wonderful hospitality, your road trip treat and for sharing your home with us! We are cherishing the memory!

Room Tip: The Cape Breton room offers its own private entrance and is very charming. Bring your camera to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnSinTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cold north
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Liz & Dick were wonderful hosts. They were very kind and very helpful. We were supposed to stay 2 nights, but the weather report predicted rain on the day we were to drive the Cabot Trail. Liz said that we came all this way to see the C.T. and we should leave after 1 night so that we could go while the weather was still favourable. That was a very generous gesture!

After a delicious breakfast ( I plan to e-mail for the recipe!), we left with goodie bag of yummy homemade muffins & scones.(for the road)

Highly recommended. Too bad it was so short a stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColdNorthTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Four of us stayed here in October for four nights and we had an excellent stay. The hosts, Dick and Liz make you feel 'at home' which is the best compliment I can give. The breakfasts are not to be missed and the scones and muffins left over are put in a bag and make a good lunch.
I heartily recommend Heritage House as a base to explore beautiful Cape Breton.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quaker_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We unfortunately had only allowed ourselves one night in Cape Breton but fortunately we stayed at Baddeck Heritage House. Liz and Dick are such lovely hosts. From the moment you arrive they strive to make you feel at home. We had the Lighthouse room and the bed was so comfortable. We had the most amazing baked French Toast (Liz also supplies the recipes), there was also a baked omelet and wonderful scones and fruit loaf. (She is an great cook) We really enjoyed our stay and also met other very interesting guests.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nangirl5and5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Liz & Dick couldn't have made us feel any more at home than they did. We had a very enjoyable 3 nights sleeping in the "Lighthouse" room. In fact it was hard to leave when the time came. Breakfasts and packed lunches were were most enjoyale & appreciated, and the easy company around the table for 8 made it a memorable occasion.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, England
Level Contributor
104 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

First rate B&B with charming hosts, Liz is an excellent cook and Dick most helpful and with a lovely dry sense of humour. The bedrooms very comfortable with high beds where you need a little step to get in. Situated in a quiet location within easy walking distance of the centre of town. Dick was able to recommend an excellent walk to a lovely waterfall. Baddeck itself is a pretty little town on the lake with picturesque views - great for photographers.
Breakfast was a choice of two dishes, one quite savoury and the other more sweet but both very filling. Leftovers of the fruit breads, scones etc were given out in take away plastic food bags - very thoughtful. Beware of the cat however, she is a pet with 'catitude'!!! (but very pretty)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKMaggiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
0.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
44.7 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.1 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 18 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auld Farm Inn B & B
Auld Farm Inn B & B
#2 of 18 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dunlop Inn
The Dunlop Inn
#4 of 18 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baddeck Heritage House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baddeck Heritage House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Baddeck Heritage House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 121 Twining Street, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Baddeck Heritage House Bed And Breakfast Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing